F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > How to program the new REM module?
proTUNING Freaks
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-06-2017, 12:29 AM   #1
PuPuBaBa
New Member
PuPuBaBa's Avatar
China
1
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: F35 328
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: China

iTrader: (0)

How to program the new REM module?

Hi there. Just plan to replace the REM for some malfunctions with the old one. Does anyone know where I can find the guide or Tutorial about the programming procedure ?
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2017, 08:01 AM   #2
atzebmw
Major
Germany
301
Rep
1,362
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Try this...

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post

Connect => Read FA (VO) => Activate FA (VO) => Read SVT (VCM) => Left-Click on desired ECU => Click on "Detect CAF for SWE" => Select the CAFD from above => Select OK => Right-Click on ECU (the ECU itself not the underlying CAFD) => Select CODE.
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2017, 03:56 PM   #3
Almaretto
Major General
Almaretto's Avatar
United_States
1922
Rep
7,785
Posts

Drives: Test Vehicles
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Mountain View, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PuPuBaBa View Post
Hi there. Just plan to replace the REM for some malfunctions with the old one. Does anyone know where I can find the guide or Tutorial about the programming procedure ?
E-sys Programming Guide
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2017, 04:19 PM   #4
atzebmw
Major
Germany
301
Rep
1,362
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

I think it is not necessary to flash the new REM.
The software is already on the ecu, it just needs to be coded on the vehicle.
So it was on my retrofit of PDC.
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2017, 05:17 PM   #5
Almaretto
Major General
Almaretto's Avatar
United_States
1922
Rep
7,785
Posts

Drives: Test Vehicles
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Mountain View, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by atzebmw View Post
I think it is not necessary to flash the new REM.
The software is already on the ecu, it just needs to be coded on the vehicle.
So it was on my retrofit of PDC.
It is always best to save yourself the time by trying to inject CAFD first. If that does not work or dependent ECU's are on separate I-Step, then you must program.
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2017, 10:06 PM   #6
PuPuBaBa
New Member
PuPuBaBa's Avatar
China
1
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: F35 328
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: China

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by atzebmw View Post
Try this...

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post

Connect => Read FA (VO) => Activate FA (VO) => Read SVT (VCM) => Left-Click on desired ECU => Click on "Detect CAF for SWE" => Select the CAFD from above => Select OK => Right-Click on ECU (the ECU itself not the underlying CAFD) => Select CODE.
Quote:
Originally Posted by atzebmw View Post
Try this...

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post

Connect => Read FA (VO) => Activate FA (VO) => Read SVT (VCM) => Left-Click on desired ECU => Click on "Detect CAF for SWE" => Select the CAFD from above => Select OK => Right-Click on ECU (the ECU itself not the underlying CAFD) => Select CODE.
Got it. Appreciate
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2017, 10:07 PM   #7
PuPuBaBa
New Member
PuPuBaBa's Avatar
China
1
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: F35 328
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: China

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by PuPuBaBa View Post
Hi there. Just plan to replace the REM for some malfunctions with the old one. Does anyone know where I can find the guide or Tutorial about the programming procedure ?
E-sys Programming Guide
Quote:
Originally Posted by atzebmw View Post
Try this...

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post

Connect => Read FA (VO) => Activate FA (VO) => Read SVT (VCM) => Left-Click on desired ECU => Click on "Detect CAF for SWE" => Select the CAFD from above => Select OK => Right-Click on ECU (the ECU itself not the underlying CAFD) => Select CODE.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by PuPuBaBa View Post
Hi there. Just plan to replace the REM for some malfunctions with the old one. Does anyone know where I can find the guide or Tutorial about the programming procedure ?
E-sys Programming Guide
Thanks for your reply!
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2017, 12:27 PM   #8
Almaretto
Major General
Almaretto's Avatar
United_States
1922
Rep
7,785
Posts

Drives: Test Vehicles
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Mountain View, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PuPuBaBa View Post
Thanks for your reply!
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2017, 02:17 PM   #9
Billfitz
Major General
Billfitz's Avatar
United_States
3662
Rep
8,628
Posts

Drives: '15 328iX GT
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: New Hampshire

iTrader: (0)

In a related topic, I did a change today in the REM, and noticed there are dozens of parameters that can be coded, but only the four V_Schwelle options are listed on the cheat sheet. One can only wonder what else is possible.
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2017, 02:22 PM   #10
Almaretto
Major General
Almaretto's Avatar
United_States
1922
Rep
7,785
Posts

Drives: Test Vehicles
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Mountain View, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billfitz View Post
In a related topic, I did a change today in the REM, and noticed there are dozens of parameters that can be coded, but only the four V_Schwelle options are listed on the cheat sheet. One can only wonder what else is possible.
Rear lamps and rear windows to name a few.
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2017, 02:32 PM   #11
Billfitz
Major General
Billfitz's Avatar
United_States
3662
Rep
8,628
Posts

Drives: '15 328iX GT
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: New Hampshire

iTrader: (0)

Those I'm aware of, but there are a number of camera and PDC parameters as well, unexplained anywhere that I've been able to find.
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2017, 02:37 PM   #12
Almaretto
Major General
Almaretto's Avatar
United_States
1922
Rep
7,785
Posts

Drives: Test Vehicles
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Mountain View, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billfitz View Post
Those I'm aware of, but there are a number of camera and PDC parameters as well, unexplained anywhere that I've been able to find.
Did you read the descriptions or Xpath?
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2017, 03:30 PM   #13
Billfitz
Major General
Billfitz's Avatar
United_States
3662
Rep
8,628
Posts

Drives: '15 328iX GT
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: New Hampshire

iTrader: (0)

I looked at the descriptions, but they weren't exactly explicit. You could tell they had to do with different camera and PDC adjustments, but I wasn't going to fiddle with them to see what happened.
Appreciate 0
      11-03-2019, 12:06 PM   #14
Barr
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: BMW 430i
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Miami

iTrader: (0)

REM

hello, how did you know your REM was bad? My rear passenger door lock doesn't work, the ambient doesn't work, window doesn't wind down, and door handle led light don't work. everything is on that one door, passenger rear.
__________________
Barr
Appreciate 0
      11-03-2019, 12:58 PM   #15
Billfitz
Major General
Billfitz's Avatar
United_States
3662
Rep
8,628
Posts

Drives: '15 328iX GT
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: New Hampshire

iTrader: (0)

That would lead me to believe there's a bad connection of the wiring harness going into that door.
Appreciate 0
      11-03-2019, 01:06 PM   #16
atzebmw
Major
Germany
301
Rep
1,362
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

I agree.
If you have so many different problems at one door, I do not think that the problem comes from the REM, but I suspect a problem with the door plug.
Appreciate 0
      11-04-2019, 11:32 AM   #17
Barr
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: BMW 430i
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Miami

iTrader: (0)

I will check that wire harness today. I'll let you know the result. Thanks
__________________
Barr
Appreciate 0
      11-04-2019, 02:15 PM   #18
Barr
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: BMW 430i
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Miami

iTrader: (0)

you're absolutely correct, it was the door wire harness. Thanks again
__________________
Barr
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST