F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > N55 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > ***DIY: bootmod3 OBD Agent build with RPi 3 B
Carbahn Autoworks
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-15-2018, 05:38 PM   #111
IK6SPEED
Major General
IK6SPEED's Avatar
United_States
2211
Rep
6,494
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 / AH3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sacramento, CA

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BunkerJ View Post
So, as someone who has been using the agent for about six months, here is my setup with no issues:

I have mine tucked away underneath the steering wheel (So part #7 of IK6SPEED's photo). ENET cable is tucked away in there as well and while I haven't done it yet, you could unclip the OBDII connector so it can also be tucked away and out of sight. I've just gotten used to the plug at this point. Then I'm taking advantage of the 12v socket underneath the glovebox (it's near the left side, underneath.) with a dual-USB adapter. Then I have the cable wired through the trim, under the A/C controls, and then to the Pi. I then have the second USB port ran a similar route but it comes out just after the A/C controls in order to plug into my cup-holder-mounted tablet, which I use for BM3.

No issues with this setup yet! (Except for the time I left my tablet out and the sun melted the glue on the magnet lol)
Part 7 and 8 are screws and clips, fwiw.

Part 5 is below steering wheel over Drivers Footwell.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Stable: F80 / AH3
Past: F80 ZCP / F22 M235i / E89 35is
Appreciate 0
      06-15-2018, 06:29 PM   #112
BunkerJ
Colonel
BunkerJ's Avatar
974
Rep
2,382
Posts

Drives: 2013 328i
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IK6SPEED View Post
Part 7 and 8 are screws and clips, fwiw.

Part 5 is below steering wheel over Drivers Footwell.
I stand corrected. Part 5 haha
Appreciate 1
IK6SPEED2210.50

      06-15-2018, 06:43 PM   #113
IK6SPEED
Major General
IK6SPEED's Avatar
United_States
2211
Rep
6,494
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 / AH3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sacramento, CA

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BunkerJ View Post
I stand corrected. Part 5 haha
Thank you for confirming my memory that there was room under there.
__________________
Stable: F80 / AH3
Past: F80 ZCP / F22 M235i / E89 35is

Last edited by IK6SPEED; 06-23-2018 at 11:57 AM.
Appreciate 0
      06-23-2018, 11:55 AM   #114
IK6SPEED
Major General
IK6SPEED's Avatar
United_States
2211
Rep
6,494
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 / AH3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sacramento, CA

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cookiesowns View Post
Another idea I had was to get an Intel based RPI3 formfactor device and build something to have ISTA and ESYS onboard and VNC to my phone/iPad in order to do coding and diagnostics
I am almost tempted to try the above using this 4.5” x 4.5” x2” setup instead of a raspberry pi 3.

Problem is with woot item will be gone in 12 hours.

https://computers.woot.com/offers/in...gb-ssd-tiny-pc

One can find a WiFi Card for less than $5 and a 12VDC to 19VDC Adapter for about $10.
__________________
Stable: F80 / AH3
Past: F80 ZCP / F22 M235i / E89 35is

Last edited by IK6SPEED; 06-23-2018 at 12:24 PM.
Appreciate 0
      06-23-2018, 04:45 PM   #115
cookiesowns
;)
cookiesowns's Avatar
Taiwan
335
Rep
657
Posts

Drives: M2 PE 6MT, 535i N54, X3 N55
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Irvine, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IK6SPEED View Post
I am almost tempted to try the above using this 4.5 x 4.5 x2 setup instead of a raspberry pi 3.

Problem is with woot item will be gone in 12 hours.

https://computers.woot.com/offers/in...gb-ssd-tiny-pc

One can find a WiFi Card for less than $5 and a 12VDC to 19VDC Adapter for about $10.
The problem with the nuc's is that it's going to boot much slower than a rpi3. Same with the intel based "RPI3" formfactor devices.

best option would be to find something that has an internal battery and when power is shutoff it will hibernate, and power back on from hibernation when power is detected.
__________________
Registered BM3 & MHD Tuner | 2017 M2 6MT PE | MPE | M Performance Coils | GTS Euro MDM | ASD Delete Harness | Bavsound Stage 1 + Ghost Sub | Suntek Ultra | Ceramic Pro | LLumar F1 Stratos | CSF FMIC | ER CP | BM3 Custom Map by JWTuned
Appreciate 0
      06-23-2018, 07:12 PM   #116
IK6SPEED
Major General
IK6SPEED's Avatar
United_States
2211
Rep
6,494
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 / AH3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sacramento, CA

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cookiesowns View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by IK6SPEED View Post
I am almost tempted to try the above using this 4.5” x 4.5” x2” setup instead of a raspberry pi 3.

Problem is with woot item will be gone in 12 hours.

https://computers.woot.com/offers/in...gb-ssd-tiny-pc

One can find a WiFi Card for less than $5 and a 12VDC to 19VDC Adapter for about $10.
The problem with the nuc's is that it's going to boot much slower than a rpi3. Same with the intel based "RPI3" formfactor devices.

best option would be to find something that has an internal battery and when power is shutoff it will hibernate, and power back on from hibernation when power is detected.
Windows 10 on NUC will be slow boot?
__________________
Stable: F80 / AH3
Past: F80 ZCP / F22 M235i / E89 35is
Appreciate 0
      06-24-2018, 01:51 AM   #117
cookiesowns
;)
cookiesowns's Avatar
Taiwan
335
Rep
657
Posts

Drives: M2 PE 6MT, 535i N54, X3 N55
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Irvine, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IK6SPEED View Post
Windows 10 on NUC will be slow boot?
At least 30 seconds to 1 minute... and then you need to vnc in, or write scripts to launch obd agent, etc.
__________________
Registered BM3 & MHD Tuner | 2017 M2 6MT PE | MPE | M Performance Coils | GTS Euro MDM | ASD Delete Harness | Bavsound Stage 1 + Ghost Sub | Suntek Ultra | Ceramic Pro | LLumar F1 Stratos | CSF FMIC | ER CP | BM3 Custom Map by JWTuned
Appreciate 0
      06-24-2018, 01:59 AM   #118
IK6SPEED
Major General
IK6SPEED's Avatar
United_States
2211
Rep
6,494
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 / AH3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sacramento, CA

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cookiesowns View Post
At least 30 seconds to 1 minute... and then you need to vnc in, or write scripts to launch obd agent, etc.
As it would seldom be used and would boot with power, not sure that boot delay is an issue.

Regardless, woot has very decent return policy....even paying for returns, so I can see how long it takes and return if need be.
__________________
Stable: F80 / AH3
Past: F80 ZCP / F22 M235i / E89 35is
Appreciate 1
      06-25-2018, 08:46 AM   #119
BunkerJ
Colonel
BunkerJ's Avatar
974
Rep
2,382
Posts

Drives: 2013 328i
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IK6SPEED View Post
As it would seldom be used and would boot with power, not sure that boot delay is an issue.

Regardless, woot has very decent return policy....even paying for returns, so I can see how long it takes and return if need be.
What was the price of this? I mean, the RP3 setup can be done for less than $55, unless you still need an ENet.
__________________

2013 F30 328i: MHI Big Turbo, GFB DV+, Mishimoto CAI, ER TIC/CP/Catless DP, AWE Touring Quad Exhaust w/ Resonated Midpipe, NGK LI Plugs, BM3 with PTF Stage 2 91 AGG Tune, Fuel-it Stage 2 LPFP, Solowerks S1 Coilovers, and DEPO/M-Sport Retrofit
Appreciate 0
      06-25-2018, 10:11 AM   #120
IK6SPEED
Major General
IK6SPEED's Avatar
United_States
2211
Rep
6,494
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 / AH3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sacramento, CA

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BunkerJ View Post
What was the price of this? I mean, the RP3 setup can be done for less than $55, unless you still need an ENet.
$169

While 3x more than Raspberry Pi, because its Windows 10 based, you can also run full BM3 program, eSys, ISTA, Rheingold or any other Windows Program on it via any smartphone, tablet or laptop on any OS.
__________________
Stable: F80 / AH3
Past: F80 ZCP / F22 M235i / E89 35is
Appreciate 0
      06-25-2018, 10:28 AM   #121
BunkerJ
Colonel
BunkerJ's Avatar
974
Rep
2,382
Posts

Drives: 2013 328i
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IK6SPEED View Post
$169

While 3x more than Raspberry Pi, because its Windows 10 based, you can also run full BM3 program, eSys, ISTA, Rheingold or any other Windows Program on it via any smartphone, tablet or laptop on any OS.
Thought about setting that up on the RP3 at some point. Would have to get a hefty SD card for ~$100. Setup the programs with Exagear/Wine. Would love to have something portable like that as well for when I go to help others with coding/troubleshooting. Hell, you could even get a small 7" screen or something for the Pi with a BT mouse/keyboard. Although, I'm trying to imagine ISTA or ESys on a 7" right now...
__________________

2013 F30 328i: MHI Big Turbo, GFB DV+, Mishimoto CAI, ER TIC/CP/Catless DP, AWE Touring Quad Exhaust w/ Resonated Midpipe, NGK LI Plugs, BM3 with PTF Stage 2 91 AGG Tune, Fuel-it Stage 2 LPFP, Solowerks S1 Coilovers, and DEPO/M-Sport Retrofit
Appreciate 0
      06-28-2018, 05:02 AM   #122
IK6SPEED
Major General
IK6SPEED's Avatar
United_States
2211
Rep
6,494
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 / AH3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sacramento, CA

iTrader: (18)

For anyone interested in a complete kit with heat sinks (though not usb to micro-usb cord if you already have one) for $49.99.

https://sellout.woot.com/offers/cana...lete-starter-5

Free shipping if you have Prime account.

Again, Woot is a one day deal site.

Also includes a few extra things not needed.
__________________
Stable: F80 / AH3
Past: F80 ZCP / F22 M235i / E89 35is
Appreciate 0
      06-28-2018, 09:14 AM   #123
BunkerJ
Colonel
BunkerJ's Avatar
974
Rep
2,382
Posts

Drives: 2013 328i
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IK6SPEED View Post
For anyone interested in a complete kit with heat sinks (though not usb to micro-usb cord if you already have one) for $49.99.

https://sellout.woot.com/offers/cana...lete-starter-5

Free shipping if you have Prime account.

Again, Woot is a one day deal site.

Also includes a few extra things not needed.
Solid deal! Just need a MicroUSB (Everyone has one lol) and the ENet.
__________________

2013 F30 328i: MHI Big Turbo, GFB DV+, Mishimoto CAI, ER TIC/CP/Catless DP, AWE Touring Quad Exhaust w/ Resonated Midpipe, NGK LI Plugs, BM3 with PTF Stage 2 91 AGG Tune, Fuel-it Stage 2 LPFP, Solowerks S1 Coilovers, and DEPO/M-Sport Retrofit
Appreciate 0
      06-28-2018, 09:51 AM   #124
Anthony235
Lieutenant Colonel
Anthony235's Avatar
United_States
665
Rep
1,535
Posts

Drives: m235i
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: OC, Ca

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2015 BMW  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by IK6SPEED View Post
For anyone interested in a complete kit with heat sinks (though not usb to micro-usb cord if you already have one) for $49.99.

https://sellout.woot.com/offers/cana...lete-starter-5

Free shipping if you have Prime account.

Again, Woot is a one day deal site.

Also includes a few extra things not needed.
Cheaper here where I got mine and it's 32GB.

http://www.microcenter.com/product/4..._32_GB_Edition
Appreciate 0
      06-28-2018, 10:17 AM   #125
IK6SPEED
Major General
IK6SPEED's Avatar
United_States
2211
Rep
6,494
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 / AH3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sacramento, CA

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony235 View Post
Cheaper here where I got mine and it's 32GB.

http://www.microcenter.com/product/4..._32_GB_Edition
Solid deal if there is a Microcenter Physical Location one can go pick it up at as they will not ship.
__________________
Stable: F80 / AH3
Past: F80 ZCP / F22 M235i / E89 35is
Appreciate 1
BunkerJ973.50

      06-30-2018, 01:40 PM   #126
IK6SPEED
Major General
IK6SPEED's Avatar
United_States
2211
Rep
6,494
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 / AH3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sacramento, CA

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cookiesowns View Post
At least 30 seconds to 1 minute... and then you need to vnc in, or write scripts to launch obd agent, etc.
Honestly the boot isn’t that much worse than a Pi 3 B I also built.

NUC is only 9GB of storage left after Windows 10 Home. Looked at Adminstrative tools and it only shows a 32GB SSD, not the 128GB advertised.

Will see what Woot CSR do.
__________________
Stable: F80 / AH3
Past: F80 ZCP / F22 M235i / E89 35is

Last edited by IK6SPEED; 06-30-2018 at 01:47 PM.
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2018, 02:39 PM   #127
fondoo1287
Private
18
Rep
51
Posts

Drives: F36
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Hotlanta

iTrader: (0)

Can I get some help?

I just picked up the BM3 OBD agent device wifi and for the love of god can't get this damn thing to work with the iphone X ios 11.4

i followed all these troubleshooting guides
https://bootmod3.atlassian.net/wiki/...roubleshooting

even ran the firmware updates
https://bootmod3.atlassian.net/wiki/...irmware+Update
when comparing files/dates to the firmware on their website. i had the same files

i renamed my iphone to bootmod3 and also changed the hotspot password to
bootmod3 and when i launch the BM3 app. i still get obd agent not detected.


any help would appreciated it.
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2018, 08:49 PM   #128
GoodtoGo
Second Lieutenant
GoodtoGo's Avatar
52
Rep
217
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fondoo1287 View Post
Can I get some help?

I just picked up the BM3 OBD agent device wifi and for the love of god can't get this damn thing to work with the iphone X ios 11.4

i followed all these troubleshooting guides
https://bootmod3.atlassian.net/wiki/...roubleshooting

even ran the firmware updates
https://bootmod3.atlassian.net/wiki/...irmware+Update
when comparing files/dates to the firmware on their website. i had the same files

i renamed my iphone to bootmod3 and also changed the hotspot password to
bootmod3 and when i launch the BM3 app. i still get obd agent not detected.


any help would appreciated it.
Disable WiFi networking service in:
privacy > location services > system services

Follow startup sequence:

WiFi network active (home or phone hotspot)
Power up agent
Allow agent to connect to network (shows confirmation on iPhone for hotspot)
Open app
App login
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2018, 10:17 PM   #129
charmcitybryan
New Member
2
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: 2014 335i xDrive
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Baltimore, MD

iTrader: (1)

First of all, really appreciate the effort that Jared put into developing this agent using RP. Awesome work.

I am having a similar problem to this post, but coming from an Android phone and curious if anyone might have any suggestions.

I purchased all of the originally suggested SD card and RP unit (3B). I downloaded the most up to date image and flashed it using disk imager. I plugged in the OBDII, plugged the ethernet into the RP, and plugged the RP into the USB. On my Pixel XL Android phone, I set up the wi-fi hotspot as "bootmod3" with password "bootmod3". I fired up the RP with everything connected and can confirm that the RP unit logs into the hotspot on the phone. I can also confirm that there is network activity from the OBDII to the RP as the network lights register activity when I plug it into the RP.

The problem is that when I open the Bootmod3 app on the Android phone, it does not connect to the OBD Agent. It seems like all of the other pieces of the puzzl are connected to each other so I am stuck on what it might be. Any advice would be appreciated.

Bryan


Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodtoGo View Post
Disable WiFi networking service in:
privacy > location services > system services

Follow startup sequence:

WiFi network active (home or phone hotspot)
Power up agent
Allow agent to connect to network (shows confirmation on iPhone for hotspot)
Open app
App login
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2018, 10:25 PM   #130
Insane435
Captain
Insane435's Avatar
United_States
163
Rep
730
Posts

Drives: 435ix M Sport EWG
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Michigan

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fondoo1287 View Post
Can I get some help?

I just picked up the BM3 OBD agent device wifi and for the love of god can't get this damn thing to work with the iphone X ios 11.4

i followed all these troubleshooting guides
https://bootmod3.atlassian.net/wiki/...roubleshooting

even ran the firmware updates
https://bootmod3.atlassian.net/wiki/...irmware+Update
when comparing files/dates to the firmware on their website. i had the same files

i renamed my iphone to bootmod3 and also changed the hotspot password to
bootmod3 and when i launch the BM3 app. i still get obd agent not detected.


any help would appreciated it.
I had issues the first time trying to get mine to connect with the iPhoneX. One thing to make sure is that you are disconnected from your Home wifi,etc, but leave the wifi on. Also make sure "bootmod3" is lower case for both the PW and username. Those were some of the mistakes I made, and then I finally got it to work.
__________________
2014 EBII 435ix - Armytrix Catback, Evolution Racewerks Downpipe - Chargepipe - Intercooler, Bootmod3, NGK 97506's, AFE Dry Filter, KW V1, Stance SF03 19s, Potenza S-04's, M Performance Brakes, PowerStop Track Day Pads
2011 BSM 328ix
IG: @f32_rmacher
Appreciate 0
      07-02-2018, 03:20 AM   #131
TEST DRYVER
Private First Class
TEST DRYVER's Avatar
United_States
54
Rep
149
Posts

Drives: 2015 BMW 335i M-sport
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Scottsdale, AZ

iTrader: (0)

First of all, thanks to everyone supporting this post with information and great questions. I just ordered a bootleg version of the BM3 OBD Agent. Hopefully, its exactly what you guys are discussing here. There's someone selling these on Ebay.
My question is this: I keep reading that several of you are jumping through hoops trying to turn the unit on everytime you get in the car. Is this necessary to have the tune functioning or are you guys doing it for data logging and making on the fly changes? I'm curious because I simply want a constantly functioning ECU tune with no hassle. And from time to time, I'd like to change parameters, tunes, etc... So would I need to turn on the device everytime I'm in the car, or could I get by just turning on the device when I need to change parameters?
Thanks in advance guys...
Btw, these are selling for about $200 shipped on Ebay.
Appreciate 0
      07-02-2018, 08:42 AM   #132
BunkerJ
Colonel
BunkerJ's Avatar
974
Rep
2,382
Posts

Drives: 2013 328i
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (0)

Just a little bit of a ripoff lol... ^

As for the issues, if you've done everything and one small thing is stopping you, try reimaging the card. Sometimes they don't take the first the time and requires a rewrite.
__________________

2013 F30 328i: MHI Big Turbo, GFB DV+, Mishimoto CAI, ER TIC/CP/Catless DP, AWE Touring Quad Exhaust w/ Resonated Midpipe, NGK LI Plugs, BM3 with PTF Stage 2 91 AGG Tune, Fuel-it Stage 2 LPFP, Solowerks S1 Coilovers, and DEPO/M-Sport Retrofit
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST