F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Retrofit comfort access?
European Auto Source (EAS)
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-08-2013, 01:16 AM   #1
e70ist
New Member
5
Rep
20
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30 328i Sport-Line
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Retrofit comfort access?

How hard/expensive would it be to add comfort access to my 2013 328i? Even to add just the doors and skip the kick pop trunk.
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2013, 02:39 AM   #2
1bad335
Captain
12
Rep
606
Posts

Drives: 2007 335I/ 2012 335I sportline
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New York

iTrader: (2)

The cost would probably not be worth it just to have the doors unlock without removing the fob from your pocket. The issue is not the recode but the fact that you would need to replace the drivers side and passenger side ext. door handles as well. There is a ribbed portion on these door handle which is electronic and control the locking and unlocking. I have heard figures as high as 1,500 US. BMW now has their new cars able to start with the fob in your pocket which years back was draw to the comfort access.
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2013, 03:18 AM   #3
e70ist
New Member
5
Rep
20
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30 328i Sport-Line
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Thats wack. Appreciate the reply though.
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2013, 11:20 AM   #4
diesel86
Private First Class
United_States
14
Rep
195
Posts

Drives: 2012 BMW 328i Sportline
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Denver, CO

iTrader: (0)

I think the door handles might be most of the hardware that's actually needed (if it's even possible to install CA without the trunk sensor). I know that all the wiring and harnesses are already in the door because my non-CA equipped car had to be taken in for service for a door rattle shortly after delivery. Apparently, the CA wiring harness had shaken loose and was rattling against the panels.
__________________
2012 328i Sportline - Black Sapphire Metallic - 8AT Sport

I pronounce it "Beemer" and turn my fog lights on even when it's not foggy.
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2013, 04:37 PM   #5
e70ist
New Member
5
Rep
20
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30 328i Sport-Line
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

So, could the trunk sensor be wired too? It seems the coding is DIY'able as well. What's a good site for OEM replacements?
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2013, 10:11 PM   #6
1bad335
Captain
12
Rep
606
Posts

Drives: 2007 335I/ 2012 335I sportline
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New York

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 328fresh View Post
So, could the trunk sensor be wired too? It seems the coding is DIY'able as well. What's a good site for OEM replacements?
Honestly, just to have the doors lock and unlock without the key in hand is not worth the money or effort. As for the trunk pop, mine is hit and miss at best and more miss.
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2013, 10:21 PM   #7
OC40
Lieutenant Colonel
40
Rep
1,831
Posts

Drives: 335i MSport + MPS/MPPK
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Irvine, CA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2013 MINI S  [0.00]
2013 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1bad335 View Post
Honestly, just to have the doors lock and unlock without the key in hand is not worth the money or effort. As for the trunk pop, mine is hit and miss at best and more miss.
Really? My trunk works 95% of the time. The 5% in which it doesn't is when I am in a hurry and try to open it in more of a "run by".

I was skeptical of paying for the CA and I have to say, I am a lazy bastard. I absolutely love it. One of my favorite features.
Appreciate 0
      03-09-2013, 01:45 AM   #8
1bad335
Captain
12
Rep
606
Posts

Drives: 2007 335I/ 2012 335I sportline
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New York

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by OC40 View Post
Really? My trunk works 95% of the time. The 5% in which it doesn't is when I am in a hurry and try to open it in more of a "run by".

I was skeptical of paying for the CA and I have to say, I am a lazy bastard. I absolutely love it. One of my favorite features.
I am only working on my 3rd week of owning this car. So, I really have not even used the trunk feature all that much. So far I have found it to be very touchy. Funny enough my CA was able to pop the trunk every time he tried without fail. I seem to get it 1 in 5 times. Guess I'm still in the learning stage.
Appreciate 0
      03-09-2013, 09:06 AM   #9
OC40
Lieutenant Colonel
40
Rep
1,831
Posts

Drives: 335i MSport + MPS/MPPK
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Irvine, CA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2013 MINI S  [0.00]
2013 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1bad335
Quote:
Originally Posted by OC40 View Post
Really? My trunk works 95% of the time. The 5% in which it doesn't is when I am in a hurry and try to open it in more of a "run by".

I was skeptical of paying for the CA and I have to say, I am a lazy bastard. I absolutely love it. One of my favorite features.
I am only working on my 3rd week of owning this car. So, I really have not even used the trunk feature all that much. So far I have found it to be very touchy. Funny enough my CA was able to pop the trunk every time he tried without fail. I seem to get it 1 in 5 times. Guess I'm still in the learning stage.
You will get it. Tilt your foot up! Once you do, it's a "fantastically lazy joy". Congrats on the new car! Yesterday marked by 3rd week of ownership too.
Appreciate 0
      03-09-2013, 08:41 PM   #10
e70ist
New Member
5
Rep
20
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30 328i Sport-Line
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Interesting, so essentially I could purchase the two front handles from here.

http://bmwpartsunlimited.com/parts/2...e%2C%20outside

Link up the wires to the new handle and code up CA according to a post in the coding page.

"If you add the hardware, the you should be able to just add S322A Comfort Access to your VO and VO Code CAS module." - ShawnSheridan

And half a half way Comfort Access?

Is there anything I'm missing?

And on a sidebar, can anyone submit a picture of their trunk kick sensor to see if maybe I can makeshift a 3/4 Comfort Access.
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2013, 11:03 AM   #11
ScarecrowBoat
Zooombie attaaack!!
ScarecrowBoat's Avatar
United_States
134
Rep
1,179
Posts

Drives: 328
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Santa Monica

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 328fresh View Post
Interesting, so essentially I could purchase the two front handles from here.

http://bmwpartsunlimited.com/parts/2...e%2C%20outside

Link up the wires to the new handle and code up CA according to a post in the coding page.

"If you add the hardware, the you should be able to just add S322A Comfort Access to your VO and VO Code CAS module." - ShawnSheridan

And half a half way Comfort Access?

Is there anything I'm missing?

And on a sidebar, can anyone submit a picture of their trunk kick sensor to see if maybe I can makeshift a 3/4 Comfort Access.
I'm interested in trying to add CA to mine as well...are those door handles really the only thing you need to buy?
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2013, 12:46 PM   #12
Alpine F31
Colonel
Alpine F31's Avatar
United_States
895
Rep
2,714
Posts

Drives: MB E350 4MATIC Estate
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by OC40 View Post
Really? My trunk works 95% of the time. The 5% in which it doesn't is when I am in a hurry and try to open it in more of a "run by".

I was skeptical of paying for the CA and I have to say, I am a lazy bastard. I absolutely love it. One of my favorite features.
This.
My trunk works 99% of the time since I figured out how to do it. My kids can do it now!
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2013, 02:42 AM   #13
Chez
Brit Abroad
Chez's Avatar
United_States
378
Rep
708
Posts

Drives: 2016 Frozen Black M4
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2016 BMW M4  [4.75]
My kick works 99% of the time. The only time it doesn't, is when i try to run by, like OC40 said.
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2013, 09:51 PM   #14
digitallust
First Lieutenant
digitallust's Avatar
Australia
49
Rep
359
Posts

Drives: 2019 G20 BMW 330i M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Perth

iTrader: (0)

Hey have you or anyone else managed to retrofit CA yet? Interested to know how it all went.

Cheers , Matt

Quote:
Originally Posted by 328fresh View Post
Interesting, so essentially I could purchase the two front handles from here.

http://bmwpartsunlimited.com/parts/2...e%2C%20outside

Link up the wires to the new handle and code up CA according to a post in the coding page.

"If you add the hardware, the you should be able to just add S322A Comfort Access to your VO and VO Code CAS module." - ShawnSheridan

And half a half way Comfort Access?

Is there anything I'm missing?

And on a sidebar, can anyone submit a picture of their trunk kick sensor to see if maybe I can makeshift a 3/4 Comfort Access.
__________________
__________________________________________________
Current - 2019 BMW G20 330i M Sport Alpine White
Retired - 2018 - Range Rover Velar SE D240
Retired - 2015 - Mercedes Benz C250d AMG Line W205
Retired - 2012 - BMW F30 320d Sport line
Appreciate 0
      07-08-2013, 10:47 AM   #15
narlus
Private
4
Rep
80
Posts

Drives: 2013 335xi
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by OC40 View Post
You will get it. Tilt your foot up! Once you do, it's a "fantastically lazy joy". Congrats on the new car! Yesterday marked by 3rd week of ownership too.
ah, i might have to work on tilting my foot...it seems to have stopped working for me the last few weeks.
Appreciate 0
      07-08-2013, 01:20 PM   #16
funky_chilli
*burp*
funky_chilli's Avatar
Australia
6
Rep
537
Posts

Drives: '13 328i Sport Line
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Aussie in Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

This sounds interesting. I bought my car off the floor and ca was one of the options I wanted but couldn't add. Interested to know what parts are needed
Appreciate 0
      07-08-2013, 01:45 PM   #17
ScarecrowBoat
Zooombie attaaack!!
ScarecrowBoat's Avatar
United_States
134
Rep
1,179
Posts

Drives: 328
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Santa Monica

iTrader: (2)

ANYBODY?!
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2013, 03:54 PM   #18
mikessc
New Member
3
Rep
19
Posts

Drives: 2012 F10
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Malaysia

iTrader: (0)

Note: I have not done this yet.

I did some research on my F10.

For F10 , I need
- a new CAS4 (Car Access System) module that supports CA.
ie. F10 has 2 types of CAS module. One CA , another Non-CA
- 2 new CA front door handles
Note: For F10 you can code CAS to indicate that the CA handle
are not installed in the passenger and rear doors.
- 3 exterior antennas and 3 interior antennas
- Maybe need new pair of keys. ????
- Wiring harness and connectors.


For F30 , the CAS function is integrated into FEM module.
FEM - Front End Module.
I've checked realoem and it seems that F30 only has one type of FEM
module. This mean that F30 FEM might already support CA function.
(Maybe need some coding to enable it).

If that is the case , then F30 owner only need CA capable door handle
,antennas, keys and wiring harness.

You can check if F30 is prewired with CA or not by removing your door handle.

Check following link on how to remove door handle.

http://f10.m5post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=778634

Note that CA door handle has additional 4pins connector.
The other 2 pins connector is for Welcome Light.

For those that dare, buy one door handle and try out.
Can get coding help from bimmerfest.

Hope that the above information will help F30 owner
that wants to retrofit CA.

Cheers.

Last edited by mikessc; 07-20-2013 at 04:39 PM.. Reason: Missed out antenna and keys
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2014, 03:43 PM   #19
Fer10
New Member
0
Rep
10
Posts

Drives: 328i
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Houstom

iTrader: (0)

Has anyone attempted this?
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2015, 03:42 PM   #20
X3Gator
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: 2013 X3 Silver
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Orlando

iTrader: (0)

I'd like to do this too. I wonder if there is someone with experience that can post a video of how to do it.
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2015, 03:52 PM   #21
ska///235i
***** noob
ska///235i's Avatar
United_States
981
Rep
10,506
Posts

Drives: 325xi>M235i>428GCx Mspor
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Boston

iTrader: (34)

Garage List
2006 325xi  [0.00]
Everyone should complain to BMW not having CA as a stand alone option
__________________
2006 325xi (Sold)
2014 M235I (Current)
2015 428xi Gran Coupe (STB)
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2015, 08:52 AM   #22
Mp96b
Registered
2
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: 2010 528i xdrive
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

I just saw this on Kickstarter, maybe a possible solution. It uses your smartphone instead of key fob.

Loxet -

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/kissdigitalthings/loxet-protects-opens-and-locks-your-car
Appreciate 1
mmm3200.00

Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST