F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > F32 Heads UP Display (Install?)
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-06-2019, 10:56 AM   #1
Waltabeast
Private First Class
United_States
55
Rep
124
Posts

Drives: 2016 435i M sport
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Fontana, California

iTrader: (0)

F32 Heads UP Display (Install?)

Is it possible to install a HUD in my 2016 F32 435i? Would it be a simple plug and play or will coding most likely be necessary?

Would something like this work?

https://www.ebay.com/itm/15-18-BMW-F...cNl6E#viTabs_0

Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2019, 11:48 AM   #2
EBS0712
BMW CCA #257
United_States
49
Rep
161
Posts

Drives: 2014 F31 Wagon - Sport Line
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Utah

iTrader: (0)

I don't think this is a simple plug and play ......
I don't know what your dashboard looks like but the HUD unit fits in a hole above the steering wheel and projects on the windshield. If you don't have the hole then you would need to replace the dashboard. Also I think the windshield is different when the HUD is installed in the car (not absolutely sure).
__________________
2014 F31 328 xDrive Touring
2020 G20 330 xDrive Sedan
BMW CCA # 257
Appreciate 1
      04-06-2019, 11:48 AM   #3
Gran_Turismo
Private First Class
79
Rep
198
Posts

Drives: 328i GT M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

I doubt it's plug and play. For non hud you would need a whole new dash. You'd need new software updated into your idrive also and I'm sure there will be tons of coding required. Seems like a daunting task. I could be wrong though.
Appreciate 1
tex26701424.50

      04-06-2019, 11:53 AM   #4
Gran_Turismo
Private First Class
79
Rep
198
Posts

Drives: 328i GT M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

I've learned from almost 2 years of searching for my f34 that it's in your best interest to look for the vehicle with the must have options already installed. Especially things like lighting package, tech package or m sport. Upgrading to these things afterwards just takes up too much time and money. But good luck op.
Appreciate 1
tex26701424.50

      04-06-2019, 11:54 AM   #5
Waltabeast
Private First Class
United_States
55
Rep
124
Posts

Drives: 2016 435i M sport
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Fontana, California

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gran_Turismo View Post
I doubt it's plug and play. For non hud you would need a whole new dash. You'd need new software updated into your idrive also and I'm sure there will be tons of coding required. Seems like a daunting task. I could be wrong though.
If that's the case, abort mission lol. That sucks. Really liked the idea of having one.
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2019, 03:07 PM   #6
Wires
Colonel
Canada
559
Rep
2,468
Posts

Drives: 2016 340i xDrive
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Calgary

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by EBS0712 View Post
I don't think this is a simple plug and play ......
I don't know what your dashboard looks like but the HUD unit fits in a hole above the steering wheel and projects on the windshield. If you don't have the hole then you would need to replace the dashboard. Also I think the windshield is different when the HUD is installed in the car (not absolutely sure).
Yes, it's a different windshield. If you don't have polarized glass, you get double vision from the HUD (took my car in for a new aftermarket windshield last week, have double vision, so they are replacing it again on Monday).
Appreciate 2
montr132.50

      04-06-2019, 09:57 PM   #7
IK6SPEED
Banned
United_States
4250
Rep
10,528
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 / AH3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cali

iTrader: (23)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Waltabeast View Post
Is it possible to install a HUD in my 2016 F32 435i? Would it be a simple plug and play or will coding most likely be necessary?

Would something like this work?

https://www.ebay.com/itm/15-18-BMW-F...4/273648207099

Thanks.
You need a different dashboard with HUD cutout, HUD Electronics, a different Speedo that has HUD Output, different windshield and assorted cables plus coding.

All in all, about $10k worth of parts....and easily 15-20 hours of labor on top of that.

Buying used can drop that price, but really not economically feasible.
Appreciate 1
      04-06-2019, 11:36 PM   #8
Elvisfan
Captain
282
Rep
977
Posts

Drives: 2018 430ix convertible MGM
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Illinois

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Waltabeast View Post
Is it possible to install a HUD in my 2016 F32 435i? Would it be a simple plug and play or will coding most likely be necessary?

Would something like this work?

https://www.ebay.com/itm/15-18-BMW-F...cNl6E#viTabs_0

Thanks.
Go to amazon and search on HUD DISPLAY CAR. There may be alternatives. They appear to plug into the port on the car.
Appreciate 0
      04-07-2019, 10:31 AM   #9
Waltabeast
Private First Class
United_States
55
Rep
124
Posts

Drives: 2016 435i M sport
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Fontana, California

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IK6SPEED View Post
You need a different dashboard with HUD cutout, HUD Electronics, a different Speedo that has HUD Output, different windshield and assorted cables plus coding.

All in all, about $10k worth of parts....and easily 15-20 hours of labor on top of that.

Buying used can drop that price, but really not economically feasible.
Thanks for that. I was unaware.
Appreciate 0
      04-07-2019, 10:34 AM   #10
Zanity
Captain
Zanity's Avatar
Canada
558
Rep
945
Posts

Drives: F32
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: YVR

iTrader: (0)

It's never plug and play dude, the least you have to do it enable it in coding after install.
Appreciate 0
      04-07-2019, 11:15 AM   #11
ndx6spd
Private First Class
78
Rep
155
Posts

Drives: 2015 335i x
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Detroit

iTrader: (0)

^I think he means universal OBDII plug and play units.
Appreciate 0
      04-08-2019, 07:21 AM   #12
tex2670
Colonel
tex2670's Avatar
United_States
1425
Rep
2,869
Posts

Drives: '14 328xi Sport Line
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Philly

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gran_Turismo View Post
I doubt it's plug and play. For non hud you would need a whole new dash. You'd need new software updated into your idrive also and I'm sure there will be tons of coding required. Seems like a daunting task. I could be wrong though.
A new dash and a different windshield.
__________________

2014 328i xDrive | Black Sapphire / Black Red Dakota | Sport Line | Premium Pkg | Lighting Pkg | Cold Weather Pkg | Driver Assistance | Nav | Sport Automatic Transmission
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
435i, f32, hud

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST