F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > Regional Forums > CANADA > 2018 340 - first mods
ARMA SPEED

06-27-2021, 11:13 PM   #1
Red-i
Second Lieutenant
Canada
Rep
Drives: 2018 340i

2018 340 - first mods

Picking up my first BMW this week. I was thinking of getting the BMS billet intake along with the jb4.

I'm just looking for some extra power but not at the expense of reliability. I ran into alot of threads regarding Canadian gas quality.

From what I gather, without adding anything to the fuel, if I stick to Petro 94, am I ok to run map 2 on the jb4? Or is map 1 the limit? And in terms of a difference in power to the wheels, what can I expect with a simple intake , and map1 or map 2.

Newbie here with alot of questions

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      06-28-2021, 10:46 AM   #2
Kailec
Lieutenant Colonel
Canada
Rep
Drives: 2013 328i xDrive

Garage List
Intakes do nothing with this platform, get it only if you're into the sound it makes or like the way it looks in your engine bay. As for JB4 I can't recall as I've been off that platform for a while, but a downpipe probably wouldn't hurt.
Appreciate 0
      06-28-2021, 10:56 AM   #3
frchdragon
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2016 BMW M4

Congratulation on your BMW. Before you do any mods, get used to your car. I 1st found the car to be very fast, until I got used to it. The worse thing you can do is bolt all kind of upgrade to the car and increasing the level of your car where yours is still far away from it.

I too was thinking JB4 until I started reading the forum, basically everybody is leaning towards BM3 or MHD as a tuning platform.
For stage two, you will want a bigger intercooler and a downpipe (catted or not).
Again, all this information is wildly available in the forum.