F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > 10.25" Android 10 HU discussion
ARMA SPEED
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-28-2021, 06:43 PM   #4115
RedErik
Major
RedErik's Avatar
Scotland
556
Rep
1,056
Posts

Drives: BMW 645Ci
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Inverness

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2004 E63 645Ci  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by shqipmafija View Post
Hi guys,
Thanks for this incredible resource.
I actually have an X5, with a PAMP branded Android 10 head unit (KSW-Q-Userdebug v.2.8.3).
The Bluetooth audio quality playing music is absolutely horrible (too much bass, poor definition etc).

I see the option in the system settings for Android Bluetooth and OEM Bluetooth.

Is there a way to use OEM Bluetooth and also continue to use Zlink?
You can either use OEM Bluetooth or Android's but it's only for phone calls. Bluetooth music streaming on Android is only accessible via the phone/Bluetooth app. Zlink uses WiFi for CarPlay. But I'm not sure what you are trying to achieve here. If you manage to have CarPlay on Android screen and audio via OEM Bluetooth (I don't think this is even remotely possible) you then don't have any control over what's going on. You would have to set iDrive to Bluetooth sound source, switch to Android, say goodbye to any sound on Android, and have CarPlay on the screen? Doesn't make much sense to me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shqipmafija View Post
Also, Iím trying to put an M Performance boot logo on the unit but couldnít find any .img files. Can anyone provide a link to one?

Thanks so much.
Theming thread is linked in the first post.
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2021, 03:39 AM   #4116
shqipmafija
New Member
2
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: 2015 X5 F15 XDrive50i
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Albania

iTrader: (0)

Thanks so much for the quick response.
The reason I was trying to use OEM Bluetooth in the first place was because the quality coming out of the android unit on zlink was awful (booming bass, random 1 second cut outs, bad audio quality).

I thought if I switched the Bluetooth it would fix it but apparently that isnít possible.

Do you have any general suggestions for the best adjustments to volume settings on the HU and iDrive to improve this? I have the Harmann system and it is selected in the settings.
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2021, 03:57 AM   #4117
RedErik
Major
RedErik's Avatar
Scotland
556
Rep
1,056
Posts

Drives: BMW 645Ci
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Inverness

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2004 E63 645Ci  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by shqipmafija View Post
Thanks so much for the quick response.
The reason I was trying to use OEM Bluetooth in the first place was because the quality coming out of the android unit on zlink was awful (booming bass, random 1 second cut outs, bad audio quality).

I thought if I switched the Bluetooth it would fix it but apparently that isn’t possible.

Do you have any general suggestions for the best adjustments to volume settings on the HU and iDrive to improve this? I have the Harmann system and it is selected in the settings.
There is no setting that will improve audio quality. It's the Android's hardware that is at fault here. To bypass that you would need an external DAC like FiiO E10K which will vastly improve sound quality. Not sure if Zlink is causing issues on it's own as I don't use it, but judging by other users feedback I would says it's pretty shit as well. Better option would be to buy Carlinkit and use it instead of Zlink.
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2021, 09:26 AM   #4118
megatm
New Member
11
Rep
24
Posts

Drives: BMW X4 F26 x28i
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Brazil

iTrader: (0)

I think you have some options:
1. Use OEM Bluetooth to play audio, and select AUX mode manual. This way you can use Android maps without sound, browser, obd2 monitoring apps.
2. Use music from local headunit, not Bluetooth, tidal hifi, flac, and select aftermarket amplifier option in settings even if you have harman original amplifier.
3. Use a DAC, I suggest FiiO Btr5, because you can you USB mode or Bluetooth with best quality in aux mode.
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2021, 09:34 AM   #4119
nobuno
Enlisted Member
24
Rep
46
Posts

Drives: 535I 335I
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: japan

iTrader: (0)

Android 11 of ALS will be released! I will test it at a later date. Snapdragon 662
Appreciate 2
      07-29-2021, 09:50 AM   #4120
RedErik
Major
RedErik's Avatar
Scotland
556
Rep
1,056
Posts

Drives: BMW 645Ci
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Inverness

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2004 E63 645Ci  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by nobuno View Post
Android 11 of ALS will be released! I will test it at a later date. Snapdragon 662
Once you have your unit and want to share your experience, please do it here https://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/sh....php?t=1832178
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2021, 02:06 PM   #4121
GtiGyver
Lieutenant
GtiGyver's Avatar
Canada
51
Rep
428
Posts

Drives: 2008 Jerez Black E90 M3 MT
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (3)

Does anyone that uses the stock video app have issues with the screen ratio where all videos are stretched (distorted) to the full screen, regardless of the original video content aspect ratio?
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2021, 03:04 PM   #4122
shqipmafija
New Member
2
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: 2015 X5 F15 XDrive50i
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Albania

iTrader: (0)

Thanks again for the reply.
I have ordered the E10k.
What is the procedure for installation, just connect it to power, then connect the line that was plugged into my AUX from the head unit into the E10 and the other end back out of the E10 into the AUX port?
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2021, 04:17 PM   #4123
RedErik
Major
RedErik's Avatar
Scotland
556
Rep
1,056
Posts

Drives: BMW 645Ci
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Inverness

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2004 E63 645Ci  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by shqipmafija View Post
Thanks again for the reply.
I have ordered the E10k.
What is the procedure for installation, just connect it to power, then connect the line that was plugged into my AUX from the head unit into the E10 and the other end back out of the E10 into the AUX port?
It goes like that:
Android HU > USB port (one of the two) > USB cable > FiiO E10K USB input port > MAGIC and UNICORNS > FiiO 3.5mm output port > quality audio cable > car's AUX port
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2021, 10:30 PM   #4124
onlinemanx
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: BMW F30
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: TH

iTrader: (0)

Small screen in my HD

Hi friends,

Could you please guide me how to fix Small screen as attached.


Thanks
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2021, 04:03 PM   #4125
shqipmafija
New Member
2
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: 2015 X5 F15 XDrive50i
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Albania

iTrader: (0)

So the Fiio needs to be plugged into the USB of the android for the magic and unicorns to function?
It wonít work with an aux plugged into the input and an aux plugged into the output?
Does it need some special software on android?

Thanks so much again. Still learning ☺️

Also, if I was to update my maps, the VIN used to generate an FSC code doesnít change because Iíve added an android HU, right? I thought that was only the case if the HU came off of another car.
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2021, 07:04 PM   #4126
RedErik
Major
RedErik's Avatar
Scotland
556
Rep
1,056
Posts

Drives: BMW 645Ci
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Inverness

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2004 E63 645Ci  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by shqipmafija View Post
So the Fiio needs to be plugged into the USB of the android for the magic and unicorns to function?
It wonít work with an aux plugged into the input and an aux plugged into the output?
No, think about it for a second. DAC - digital to analogue converter, as the name implies, converts digital audio (0s and 1s) to analogue audio (wave). If you use AUX output of Android then you already feeding analogue signal and there is nothing left to process. The whole issues with Android is the fact that built in DAC is shit and you want to bypass it by using an external one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shqipmafija View Post
Does it need some special software on android?
Thanks so much again. Still learning ☺️
No, but it has a fancy knob and couple of switches.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shqipmafija View Post
Also, if I was to update my maps, the VIN used to generate an FSC code doesnít change because Iíve added an android HU, right? I thought that was only the case if the HU came off of another car.
Heavens forbit, no. If Android would be doing anything with the VIN I'm pretty sure there would be riots and places would be burning. It's a glorified tablet with ability to understand few buttons and couple of other minor thigs.
Appreciate 0
      07-31-2021, 05:50 PM   #4127
MonyoF36
New Member
Philippines
0
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: BMW 420D
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Philippines

iTrader: (0)

Hi, my CarPlay is getting disconnected a few times per ride. It's got a little lag too, like 2 sec delay on songs.

I have 625 1920x720 Android 10 Unit 4GB Ram, 64GB Storage.

What I tried:
  • Removed Sync Contacts
  • Tried device types
  • Turned on aftermarket amplifier in Factory Settings

Any fix to this?
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2021, 08:24 AM   #4128
engelj13
New Member
0
Rep
26
Posts

Drives: 2013 X5 E70 x35i
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Louisville, CO

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedErik View Post
No, think about it for a second. DAC - digital to analogue converter, as the name implies, converts digital audio (0s and 1s) to analogue audio (wave). If you use AUX output of Android then you already feeding analogue signal and there is nothing left to process. The whole issues with Android is the fact that built in DAC is shit and you want to bypass it by using an external one.



No, but it has a fancy knob and couple of switches.



Heavens forbit, no. If Android would be doing anything with the VIN I'm pretty sure there would be riots and places would be burning. It's a glorified tablet with ability to understand few buttons and couple of other minor thigs.
How do you too the Android Head Unit to push the audio out via USB vs the aux cable?
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2021, 08:26 AM   #4129
RedErik
Major
RedErik's Avatar
Scotland
556
Rep
1,056
Posts

Drives: BMW 645Ci
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Inverness

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2004 E63 645Ci  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by engelj13 View Post
How do you too the Android Head Unit to push the audio out via USB vs the aux cable?
You don't, USB has priority.
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2021, 10:06 AM   #4130
Jukka63
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: Bmw F22
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Finland

iTrader: (0)

Many,many thanks to Red Erik .My problem is now solved.The problem was audiocable (audio aux) right chanel pin was damaged or had poor contact.

Jukka63
Appreciate 0
      08-02-2021, 09:32 AM   #4131
MonyoF36
New Member
Philippines
0
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: BMW 420D
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Philippines

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MonyoF36 View Post
Hi, my CarPlay is getting disconnected a few times per ride. It's got a little lag too, like 2 sec delay on songs.

I have 625 1920x720 Android 10 Unit 4GB Ram, 64GB Storage.

What I tried:
  • Removed Sync Contacts
  • Tried device types
  • Turned on aftermarket amplifier in Factory Settings

Any fix to this?
So I've been reading here and unfortunately it's too long and probably I have the same problem as some of the guys here.

After some reading I think it would be better for me to buy Carlinkit but how will it really work with my setup and how do I set it up? Do I just put the carlinkit on the USB port inside the armrest console or do I install it with the USB port that came with the Android HU?

Also, if I have the Carlinkit, do I still need to have the FiiO E10K to make the sound better? If so, I would also buy it but I'm kinda confused where I put things for it to work like how do I combine it with everything?

Thank in advance.


Last edited by MonyoF36; 08-02-2021 at 10:32 AM..
Appreciate 0
      08-02-2021, 11:46 AM   #4132
RedErik
Major
RedErik's Avatar
Scotland
556
Rep
1,056
Posts

Drives: BMW 645Ci
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Inverness

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2004 E63 645Ci  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonyoF36 View Post
So I've been reading here and unfortunately it's too long and probably I have the same problem as some of the guys here.

After some reading I think it would be better for me to buy Carlinkit but how will it really work with my setup and how do I set it up? Do I just put the carlinkit on the USB port inside the armrest console or do I install it with the USB port that came with the Android HU?

Also, if I have the Carlinkit, do I still need to have the FiiO E10K to make the sound better? If so, I would also buy it but I'm kinda confused where I put things for it to work like how do I combine it with everything?

Thank in advance.

[img]
View post on imgur.com
[/img]
It's not that complicated mate. If you read Carlinkit description it explains that it's compatible with Android 4.4 and above. It was never designed to work with anything else than Android, so that concludes where you should plug it in.

As for E10K, yeah everything that is coming out of the Android sound wise is average at best. If you want to improve it then you need an external DAC.
Appreciate 0
      08-02-2021, 03:14 PM   #4133
BunsenHoneydew
New Member
0
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: 125i M Sport
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Basingstoke

iTrader: (0)

Installed, but no split screen in Android

Hi All

I installed a 10" Android Screen in my 2016 F20 and everything works fine, apart from split screen not working when I'm using the Android display.

I coded the BMW side with esys so it recognises the bigger screen and I enabled split screen and that works.

I checked the factory_config.xml file and it's set correctly

<CarVideoDisplayStyle>1</CarVideoDisplayStyle>

When I'm using the Android side, I press the button at the top to view the running apps and then swipe one to the left, there is no highlighted section on the left which would enable split screen.

Anything else anyone can think of that I need to check?

Cheers
Steve
Appreciate 0
      08-02-2021, 08:27 PM   #4134
LittleSamurai
New Member
3
Rep
21
Posts

Drives: F30
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Not all apps support split screen. You can force it to allow split-screen mode, by enabling developer mode. Then open Android's Settings > System > Developer options > Enable "Force activities to be re-sizable" option (near the end of the list). Reboot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BunsenHoneydew View Post
Hi All

I installed a 10" Android Screen in my 2016 F20 and everything works fine, apart from split screen not working when I'm using the Android display.

I coded the BMW side with esys so it recognises the bigger screen and I enabled split screen and that works.

I checked the factory_config.xml file and it's set correctly

<CarVideoDisplayStyle>1</CarVideoDisplayStyle>

When I'm using the Android side, I press the button at the top to view the running apps and then swipe one to the left, there is no highlighted section on the left which would enable split screen.

Anything else anyone can think of that I need to check?

Cheers
Steve
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2021, 01:46 AM   #4135
hansu
New Member
Estonia
11
Rep
19
Posts

Drives: BMW 535d `13
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Estonia

iTrader: (0)

Ksw-Q-Userdebug_OS_v3.0.8
From the seller of the Mekede
Appreciate 2
      08-03-2021, 05:09 AM   #4136
browny23
Enlisted Member
12
Rep
32
Posts

Drives: bmw 330D
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Hey hope someone can help me I've got a e90 and bought and installed a 12.3 inch Android screen I contacted the seller and they sent me a firmware update so I did this the unit rebooted and now stays on no signal all the time unless in reverse shows parking sensors also at the top of the no signal screen it says "link all 3"
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST