F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > BimmerTech - Amp Upgrade - HiFi Only (F3x / F8x)
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-04-2018, 03:29 PM   #705
silentkiller.by
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: F33 435D gPower
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Munich

iTrader: (0)

Hi guys, initially I ordered 10" match subwoofer but then I decided to measure the trunk of my F33 and it seems it's not possible to open the roof with this sub in the trunk so I canceled the order and bought 8" instead. Unfortunately, it has only one speaker with 4 coils and it's really tiny. I received the sub today and connected it. Initially, I just connected it instead of underseat woofers/central speaker and was not impressed at all. In general I still think that this subwoofer is crap but it is the only one plag'n'play option for lazy people...
In order to connect the sub as addition to front speakers I had to reconnect the cables in harness, it's not that difficult if you know how to use youtube. Pin diagrams provided above helped me a lot but still I had to guess some things (e.g. left/right woofer in small connector).
At the moment I have front speakers and match 8" subwoofer connected to match 86 amp, after some configuration I was able to get relatively nice sound, there is no deep bass of course but there is some real punch (bass for me means that my eyeballs are shaking, punch is more a kidney kick from the back). In general, considering the size of the sub, I'm almost happy. Tomorrow I plan to buy proper power cable/fuse so this little amp can show its full potential. To be honest, this plag'n'play power connection sucks. This is quite obvious and I would recommend a separate power cable even without sub, I'm sure it will make a difference.

I will provide my final review a bit later when power cables are in place, maybe some config update will be needed afterwards.

Thank you guys, your input was really helpful!

Cheers from Munich,
Alex
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2018, 07:59 PM   #706
cxbaba
E46
cxbaba's Avatar
United_States
2
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: AY F80
Join Date: May 2018
Location: SF Bay Area

iTrader: (0)

Does anyone know if the model made for the f3x is the same as the f8x?

Sorry if this has been answered before, but I've been searching and cant find a solid answer.

Looking to put one in my m3 taken from a 4 series. Both are hifi systems.
Appreciate 0
      08-14-2018, 05:53 PM   #707
tmac01
Private First Class
2
Rep
156
Posts

Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

So I have the bav stage 1 and bav subs and I added an external sub. I’m using a JL Audio JX 500/1 running a 10” Alpine type R. I don’t have an F30 but an F25 but there aren’t many f25 tunes out there. The guy who installed my equipment got the sub to work through the DSP but he tuned it horribly. I asked him how he got the sub to work and he said he just added the front r and front L to the input section under IO is that right? I can’t get the sub back on now that I went back to the original tune.Also he has the bass boost on the external amp all the way up and the frequency on 200. Any help is appreciated
Appreciate 0
      08-14-2018, 06:47 PM   #708
6spdcoupe
Captain
6spdcoupe's Avatar
United_States
127
Rep
635
Posts

Drives: '14 F15,'06 E55,'13 CX-9
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Central Jersey

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmac01 View Post
So I have the bav stage 1 and bav subs and I added an external sub. Iím using a JL Audio JX 500/1 running a 10Ē Alpine type R. I donít have an F30 but an F25 but there arenít many f25 tunes out there. The guy who installed my equipment got the sub to work through the DSP but he tuned it horribly. I asked him how he got the sub to work and he said he just added the front r and front L to the input section under IO is that right? I canít get the sub back on now that I went back to the original tune.Also he has the bass boost on the external amp all the way up and the frequency on 200. Any help is appreciated
What DSP are you referring to ? Perhaps you can post a screen shot of your i/o screen ?
__________________

AC Schnitzer/Eibach/M Performance/RaceChip/Compustar/Drone/BimmerTech/FireTV/Helix/Dynaudio/Micro-Precision/Jehnert/Audiomobile
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2018, 05:10 PM   #709
tmac01
Private First Class
2
Rep
156
Posts

Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

I am using the Helix dsp the one on the audiotec Fischer site version 4.20
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2018, 05:25 PM   #710
6spdcoupe
Captain
6spdcoupe's Avatar
United_States
127
Rep
635
Posts

Drives: '14 F15,'06 E55,'13 CX-9
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Central Jersey

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmac01 View Post
I am using the Helix dsp the one on the audiotec Fischer site version 4.20
Ok.. Perhaps you can post a screen shot of your i/o screen ? Or share the file ?
You should also update to version 4.30b or at very least 4.25b.
__________________

AC Schnitzer/Eibach/M Performance/RaceChip/Compustar/Drone/BimmerTech/FireTV/Helix/Dynaudio/Micro-Precision/Jehnert/Audiomobile
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2018, 07:26 PM   #711
tmac01
Private First Class
2
Rep
156
Posts

Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6spdcoupe View Post
Ok.. Perhaps you can post a screen shot of your i/o screen ? Or share the file ?
You should also update to version 4.30b or at very least 4.25b.
6spd 4.30b would not work on my F25 I havenít tried 4.25b but I will now. Itís weird when I mute my external sub which is the line input the front left speakers mute as well ! WTH? Here is a screenshot of the IO
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2018, 07:43 PM   #712
tmac01
Private First Class
2
Rep
156
Posts

Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6spdcoupe View Post
Ok.. Perhaps you can post a screen shot of your i/o screen ? Or share the file ?
You should also update to version 4.30b or at very least 4.25b.
Im using the tune sent to me by Bimmertech for my F25 and one called Bavsound tune by Nasty J. I actually like the one Bimmertech sent me but the external sub does not work. I just cant figure out a few things:
1. How do you get the external sub to turn on in the IO?
2. Should I have my bass boost all the way off on my external JL Audio Sub Amp?
3. Should the external JL audio amp be set at 200 hz?

Here are the two tunes Im using : Thank you so much
Attached Images
File Type: pdf PP86_F25 Bavsound Tune.afpx.pdf (2.3 KB, 7 views)
File Type: pdf Bavsound Tune.afpx.pdf (1.8 KB, 6 views)

Last edited by tmac01; 08-15-2018 at 07:48 PM. Reason: Left out file
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2018, 10:29 PM   #713
tmac01
Private First Class
2
Rep
156
Posts

Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

One other thing this 6spd if I switch to 4.25b will I lose the tune I have loaded now?
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2018, 10:56 PM   #714
6spdcoupe
Captain
6spdcoupe's Avatar
United_States
127
Rep
635
Posts

Drives: '14 F15,'06 E55,'13 CX-9
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Central Jersey

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmac01 View Post
6spd 4.30b would not work on my F25 I havenít tried 4.25b but I will now. Itís weird when I mute my external sub which is the line input the front left speakers mute as well ! WTH? Here is a screenshot of the IO
This part appears ok. Where is it that you're trying to mute ? On the main page selecting a single channel ?
__________________

AC Schnitzer/Eibach/M Performance/RaceChip/Compustar/Drone/BimmerTech/FireTV/Helix/Dynaudio/Micro-Precision/Jehnert/Audiomobile
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2018, 10:58 PM   #715
6spdcoupe
Captain
6spdcoupe's Avatar
United_States
127
Rep
635
Posts

Drives: '14 F15,'06 E55,'13 CX-9
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Central Jersey

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmac01 View Post
Im using the tune sent to me by Bimmertech for my F25 and one called Bavsound tune by Nasty J. I actually like the one Bimmertech sent me but the external sub does not work. I just cant figure out a few things:
1. How do you get the external sub to turn on in the IO?
2. Should I have my bass boost all the way off on my external JL Audio Sub Amp?
3. Should the external JL audio amp be set at 200 hz?

Here are the two tunes Im using : Thank you so much
Unfortunately somehow .pdf got added to both files so I can't open or view them. Can you host them and link to it or just email me directly ? don@unexpectedcreations.com or mypearltpi@aol.com

Theoretically it should be on.

Preferably, yes.

Crossover should be off since the DSP would control that anyway.
__________________

AC Schnitzer/Eibach/M Performance/RaceChip/Compustar/Drone/BimmerTech/FireTV/Helix/Dynaudio/Micro-Precision/Jehnert/Audiomobile
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2018, 10:59 PM   #716
6spdcoupe
Captain
6spdcoupe's Avatar
United_States
127
Rep
635
Posts

Drives: '14 F15,'06 E55,'13 CX-9
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Central Jersey

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmac01 View Post
One other thing this 6spd if I switch to 4.25b will I lose the tune I have loaded now?
No you will not. Even if you did (due to updating) option is there to save and you already have the file saved on your PC so easy enough to load again.
__________________

AC Schnitzer/Eibach/M Performance/RaceChip/Compustar/Drone/BimmerTech/FireTV/Helix/Dynaudio/Micro-Precision/Jehnert/Audiomobile
Appreciate 0
      08-16-2018, 07:37 AM   #717
tmac01
Private First Class
2
Rep
156
Posts

Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6spdcoupe View Post
Unfortunately somehow .pdf got added to both files so I can't open or view them. Can you host them and link to it or just email me directly ? don@unexpectedcreations.com or mypearltpi@aol.com

Theoretically it should be on.

Preferably, yes.

Crossover should be off since the DSP would control that anyway.
When I get off work Iíll email them to you ! Thank you so much for your help.
Appreciate 0
      08-16-2018, 07:39 AM   #718
tmac01
Private First Class
2
Rep
156
Posts

Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6spdcoupe View Post
Unfortunately somehow .pdf got added to both files so I can't open or view them. Can you host them and link to it or just email me directly ? don@unexpectedcreations.com or mypearltpi@aol.com

Theoretically it should be on.

Preferably, yes.

Crossover should be off since the DSP would control that anyway.
When you mean crossover off do you mean set to 0 or set to its highest point at 200 since there is no on/off button. My installer was adamant it be at 200 and I thought that was weird.
Appreciate 0
      08-16-2018, 08:43 AM   #719
6spdcoupe
Captain
6spdcoupe's Avatar
United_States
127
Rep
635
Posts

Drives: '14 F15,'06 E55,'13 CX-9
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Central Jersey

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmac01 View Post
When I get off work Iíll email them to you ! Thank you so much for your help.
Sure, not a problem.
__________________

AC Schnitzer/Eibach/M Performance/RaceChip/Compustar/Drone/BimmerTech/FireTV/Helix/Dynaudio/Micro-Precision/Jehnert/Audiomobile
Appreciate 0
      08-16-2018, 08:44 AM   #720
6spdcoupe
Captain
6spdcoupe's Avatar
United_States
127
Rep
635
Posts

Drives: '14 F15,'06 E55,'13 CX-9
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Central Jersey

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmac01 View Post
When you mean crossover off do you mean set to 0 or set to its highest point at 200 since there is no on/off button. My installer was adamant it be at 200 and I thought that was weird.
If off or full phase isn't an option then yes the highest available.
__________________

AC Schnitzer/Eibach/M Performance/RaceChip/Compustar/Drone/BimmerTech/FireTV/Helix/Dynaudio/Micro-Precision/Jehnert/Audiomobile
Appreciate 0
      08-16-2018, 11:41 AM   #721
tmac01
Private First Class
2
Rep
156
Posts

Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6spdcoupe View Post
If off or full phase isn't an option then yes the highest available.
Well then I guess he was right
Appreciate 0
      08-16-2018, 11:43 AM   #722
tmac01
Private First Class
2
Rep
156
Posts

Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6spdcoupe View Post
This part appears ok. Where is it that you're trying to mute ? On the main page selecting a single channel ?
I fixed this issue ! It was weird when Iíd mute the input in the IO it would mute the front r speakers but I reset and all fine now !
Appreciate 0
      08-16-2018, 12:50 PM   #723
6spdcoupe
Captain
6spdcoupe's Avatar
United_States
127
Rep
635
Posts

Drives: '14 F15,'06 E55,'13 CX-9
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Central Jersey

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmac01 View Post
I fixed this issue ! It was weird when Iíd mute the input in the IO it would mute the front r speakers but I reset and all fine now !
Great news !
__________________

AC Schnitzer/Eibach/M Performance/RaceChip/Compustar/Drone/BimmerTech/FireTV/Helix/Dynaudio/Micro-Precision/Jehnert/Audiomobile
Appreciate 0
      08-18-2018, 02:55 PM   #724
ea55
New Member
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: 428i
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: US

iTrader: (0)

Anyone had issues with headunit after installing the amp?
Appreciate 0
      10-22-2018, 02:23 PM   #725
JJFox
New Member
3
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i xdrive
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: North Carolina

iTrader: (0)

I placed my order for a bimmertech amp today. The stock system is pretty phenomenal in my opinion, I could just use some more volume out of it. I’ll be posting my unbiased opinion on the change once I get it installed.
Appreciate 0
      10-22-2018, 02:29 PM   #726
wilbur_the_goose
Captain
197
Rep
999
Posts

Drives: 2014 F30 Sport Line Sedan
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Metro Philly

iTrader: (0)

Hi - do you leave a cord/cable hooked up to the amp in a location that is easily accessible for tuning, or do you take off the left-side panel in the trunk every time you want to adjust the DSP settings?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
audiotec fischer, bimmertech premium sound system, bmw amp upgrade, bmw hifi

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST