F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > Car won't start after failed Bootmod3 flash
proTUNING Freaks
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-23-2021, 10:02 PM   #23
kslice86
Private
kslice86's Avatar
United_States
3
Rep
65
Posts

Drives: BMW 430i GC
Join Date: May 2020
Location: El Paso, Tx

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2016 BMW X3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by im_an_alien View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by kslice86 View Post
I was running BM3 stage 1 for 3months all of a sudden now it started this. My dealer updated my software the beginning of March.
What's your i-step version
I will have to check and see.
Appreciate 0
      03-28-2021, 07:56 PM   #24
hristo.p
New Member
5
Rep
28
Posts

Drives: 2015 335i Xdrive MSport
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by thejeremyman9 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by hristo.p View Post
My car is 2015, out of warranty and I haven't been to the dealership in ages... some of the newer models can get updates wirelessly (dealer updating you software without you knowing) but I doubt that's the case here. I saw some other reports with the same issues, it their cars were updated at the dealer.
I have a remote session scheduled with PTF tomorrow who will look into the issue remotely.

Will keep you all posted!
I agree its unlikely its due to a software update, but let us know how it goes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rt19504 View Post
just registered to note that i am having the same problem as everyone here.

have a new m4 (2019) tried to flash on bootmod3 after unlocking the ecu and it fails at 1% and now i cannot start the car as the ecu is corrupted.
will be looking through it with bm3 support tomorrow, but not holding my breath as we all seem to have the same problem.

likely going to have to end up taking it back to bmw
Quote:
Originally Posted by kslice86 View Post
My car is finally ready after a week of being in the shop. The dealership reached out BMW and was told the tune was bad. When I was trying to flash stage 1, it would get to 3% then crash. PTF told me the only way to get passed it was to bench unlock, I would have to send them my DME(ecu).
Although you might be having the same failed flash issue, OP's problem is likely different. You are talking about a newer model, different car, different DME, etc. Plus, OP had already flashed and been running BM3 previously.
It was a flash gone wrong kind of issue. We had the remote session and we had ESYS downloaded and ready to go, but the PTF guys just reflashed it and it worked. So I guess a couple of mistakes on my part even though I had several successful flashes prior to that.
1. Use of iPhone and not windows PC
2. Not having the car plugged every single time, particularly during that bad flash
3. Download and flash seems to be the prefer way rather than just flash now
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2021, 10:07 PM   #25
dougt.ah3
Private First Class
dougt.ah3's Avatar
United_States
86
Rep
135
Posts

Drives: AH3 Msport; Z4 35is; F150 XLT
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Utah

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hristo.p View Post
It was a flash gone wrong kind of issue. We had the remote session and we had ESYS downloaded and ready to go, but the PTF guys just reflashed it and it worked. So I guess a couple of mistakes on my part even though I had several successful flashes prior to that.
1. Use of iPhone and not windows PC
2. Not having the car plugged every single time, particularly during that bad flash
3. Download and flash seems to be the prefer way rather than just flash now
Don't be hard on yourself. I had the same issue and I use a Windows Laptop and have always used a battery charger. Downloading the flash first and then flashing solved my issue too.
__________________

______________________________________________
2013 Active Hybrid 3 | M Sport | Alpine White | Coral Red | BM3 Stage 1 | ER FMIC | FabSpeed Catted DP | ER CP |
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2021, 11:49 AM   #26
snipagang
Private First Class
26
Rep
100
Posts

Drives: 2017 320i xdrive
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: NJ

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by hristo.p View Post
It was a flash gone wrong kind of issue. We had the remote session and we had ESYS downloaded and ready to go, but the PTF guys just reflashed it and it worked. So I guess a couple of mistakes on my part even though I had several successful flashes prior to that.
1. Use of iPhone and not windows PC
2. Not having the car plugged every single time, particularly during that bad flash
3. Download and flash seems to be the prefer way rather than just flash now
I had my car serviced recently and I think the dealership might have coded some errors out and updated the dme. I am about to do stage 1 tune for the first time, am I at risk for screwing up my car? I had my car at the dealer like a week ago...
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2021, 12:31 PM   #27
hristo.p
New Member
5
Rep
28
Posts

Drives: 2015 335i Xdrive MSport
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by snipagang View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by hristo.p View Post
It was a flash gone wrong kind of issue. We had the remote session and we had ESYS downloaded and ready to go, but the PTF guys just reflashed it and it worked. So I guess a couple of mistakes on my part even though I had several successful flashes prior to that.
1. Use of iPhone and not windows PC
2. Not having the car plugged every single time, particularly during that bad flash
3. Download and flash seems to be the prefer way rather than just flash now
I had my car serviced recently and I think the dealership might have coded some errors out and updated the dme. I am about to do stage 1 tune for the first time, am I at risk for screwing up my car? I had my car at the dealer like a week ago...
I think so! Check with OP, my issue was different
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2021, 02:16 PM   #28
thejeremyman9
Brigadier General
thejeremyman9's Avatar
2090
Rep
4,081
Posts

Drives: 2015 BMW 335i
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Cali

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by snipagang View Post
I had my car serviced recently and I think the dealership might have coded some errors out and updated the dme. I am about to do stage 1 tune for the first time, am I at risk for screwing up my car? I had my car at the dealer like a week ago...
If you are concerned, contact PTF support prior to flashing to confirm compatibility with your hardware and software versions.
Appreciate 0
      03-31-2021, 01:10 PM   #29
snipagang
Private First Class
26
Rep
100
Posts

Drives: 2017 320i xdrive
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: NJ

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by thejeremyman9 View Post
If you are concerned, contact PTF support prior to flashing to confirm compatibility with your hardware and software versions.
That is what I am doing now. I will be so annoyed if that is the case since I just bought and committed to flashing the car. How long does it usually take them to update the tunes so they work with newer software.
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2021, 12:28 AM   #30
Dazznz
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: 2013 428i f32
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Hi guys

New to the BMW and bm3 world.
This was my 1st flash attempt.

I got my ots map and went to flash, got the error
"flash successful but coding failed to apply"
I tied to revert to the original tune but having the same results

I now have a dash full of errors and malfunctions, and the car won't start.
I have launched a ticked with PTF and super confident they can sort me out but unfortunately I'm in Australia and they are not available until 11pm my time Monday at the earliest.

I'm wondering if anyone has had the same issue and how it was resolved?

Car is a 2013 f32 428i with the n20
Lights and fan were off,
Seatbelt plugged in,
25amp charger connected to a brand new battery (to be safe and as per instructions)

I apologize in advance if I've posted this in the incorrect place, very new at forums as well lol

Thanks in advance for any advice
Appreciate 0
      04-30-2021, 05:13 PM   #31
dookayy
New Member
0
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: '13 BMW F30 N55 xDrive
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Washington, DC

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Ran into this issue today. Was going from a Stage 1 91 BM3 tune to Stage 2 93.

Issue seemed to have been the physical adapter I was using. Would NOT recommend using the USB/Ethernet adapter that comes with the BM3 kit. I've ran into issues using this adapter w/ detecting the OBD agent, both with my iPhone and with my Macbook. At a certain point, I was able to get to ~70% complete but the flash failed. Wasn't able to turn on the ignition after that. Ended up borrowing my gf's car and ran out to best buy to get a different adapter.

The OBD II Ethernet (yellow) cable is fine, however, would recommend going to Best Buy or Amazon and getting the Insignia USB-C to Ethernet adapter and flashing via laptop using the pre-downloaded map.

Happy flashing.
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2021, 10:06 PM   #32
chhappy7
Captain
chhappy7's Avatar
129
Rep
608
Posts

Drives: 2015 328i RWD
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Hanover, NH

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2015 328i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dazznz View Post
Hi guys

New to the BMW and bm3 world.
This was my 1st flash attempt.

I got my ots map and went to flash, got the error
"flash successful but coding failed to apply"
I tied to revert to the original tune but having the same results

I now have a dash full of errors and malfunctions, and the car won't start.
I have launched a ticked with PTF and super confident they can sort me out but unfortunately I'm in Australia and they are not available until 11pm my time Monday at the earliest.

I'm wondering if anyone has had the same issue and how it was resolved?

Car is a 2013 f32 428i with the n20
Lights and fan were off,
Seatbelt plugged in,
25amp charger connected to a brand new battery (to be safe and as per instructions)

I apologize in advance if I've posted this in the incorrect place, very new at forums as well lol

Thanks in advance for any advice

So it ended up needing a basically full flash. I had to pay a coder to do it.
I think it was the Andream unit that was making things wonky as this was before Bootmod added that ticker box for people that have the MMI in between.
__________________
2015 328i - M Sport front&rear bumper/diffuser, M3 style fender/side skirt, M Performance brakes, BBS SR, ceramic iDrive, LCI radio trim, 6WB, NBT EVO, X5M razor key
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST