F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > Car won't start after failed Bootmod3 flash
proTUNING Freaks
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-31-2020, 07:32 PM   #1
chhappy7
Captain
chhappy7's Avatar
129
Rep
608
Posts

Drives: 2015 328i RWD
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Hanover, NH

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2015 328i  [0.00]
Car won't start after failed Bootmod3 flash

Hey guys.

So I've been using stage 1 91 octane then I found some 93 gas so I decided to flash 93 map. But it sort of went through but bootmod3 was unable to clear the codes. As a result I can't turn my car on. The car goes to ignition on mode but I can't turn the actual engine on.

I read through some posts but nothing has worked so far.

1. Disconnect negative terminal for 10 minutes then try to reflash
2. Reflash using the force reflash and unlock option (suggested by BM3 support)
3. DME reset under diagnostic then reflash
4. Use laptop and iOS to see if it was the devices.

So I'm at my wit's end here. I've been waiting for my insurance company to find me towing for the past half hour with no luck so I'm kind of stuck at a parking lot with no public transit either. In hindsight, I should've done this at home but since my first flash went so well I didn't think it would go all SNAFU on me.

I'll probably end up calling a friend to ask if he can give me a ride home and then maybe back to the parking lot but I still need to fix it and PTF is closed for the weekend.

Any help would be great.
__________________
2015 328i - M Sport front&rear bumper/diffuser, M3 style fender/side skirt, M Performance brakes, BBS SR, ceramic iDrive, LCI radio trim, 6WB, NBT EVO, X5M razor key
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2020, 04:14 PM   #2
Gen13 F36
Brigadier General
Gen13 F36's Avatar
United_States
1466
Rep
3,541
Posts

Drives: 428i Gran Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (1)

What happened during the flash? Did it finish with 100% complete turn off car wait 5 sec then start the car or it got stuck somewhere and it got interrupt?

Asking because it happened to me 2 night ago.
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2020, 04:17 PM   #3
chhappy7
Captain
chhappy7's Avatar
129
Rep
608
Posts

Drives: 2015 328i RWD
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Hanover, NH

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2015 328i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gen13 F36 View Post
What happened during the flash? Did it finish with 100% complete turn off car wait 5 sec then start the car or it got stuck somewhere and it got interrupt?

Asking because it happened to me 2 night ago.
Initially it would finish but didn't clear codes despite the box saying clearing all codes.
Then it proceeded to go all the way to successfully finished but in like 3 seconds so I knew something wasn't right even though it said successfully finished.
Now it just fails before start according to the dialog box.

Currently have battery on charger at home. I had to take it out of the car as I live in an apartment and that was a pain due to the lower battery bracket thing...
__________________
2015 328i - M Sport front&rear bumper/diffuser, M3 style fender/side skirt, M Performance brakes, BBS SR, ceramic iDrive, LCI radio trim, 6WB, NBT EVO, X5M razor key
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2020, 04:37 PM   #4
Gen13 F36
Brigadier General
Gen13 F36's Avatar
United_States
1466
Rep
3,541
Posts

Drives: 428i Gran Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (1)

This is what I did to mine per PTF said to update the agent but I have the newest again installed so I went to doing the following

Turn of your antivirus/internet security software.
Uninstall the current agent
Install a freshly downloaded new agent.
Then try again to reflash the car.

Maybe this will work for you too.

Be sure the internet security is off and also disable the windows defender while your at it.
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2020, 11:51 PM   #5
Gen13 F36
Brigadier General
Gen13 F36's Avatar
United_States
1466
Rep
3,541
Posts

Drives: 428i Gran Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by chhappy7 View Post
Initially it would finish but didn't clear codes despite the box saying clearing all codes.
Then it proceeded to go all the way to successfully finished but in like 3 seconds so I knew something wasn't right even though it said successfully finished.
Now it just fails before start according to the dialog box.

Currently have battery on charger at home. I had to take it out of the car as I live in an apartment and that was a pain due to the lower battery bracket thing...
How did it go?
Appreciate 0
      08-02-2020, 08:03 PM   #6
chhappy7
Captain
chhappy7's Avatar
129
Rep
608
Posts

Drives: 2015 328i RWD
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Hanover, NH

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2015 328i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gen13 F36 View Post
How did it go?
Well, it wasn't the battery.
Bootmod support suggested it was a faulty ENET cable so I ordered one but ZGW Search tool was able to the car just fine.
So upon doing some searching it seems on bootmod3 enthusiast facebook group, Zed coding seems to have helped many people recover from something similar to what I experienced, and so I reached out.
And now within 4 hours of contacting him, my Yanny is back to life!
Albeit with a stock tune, but I think I'm going to keep Yanny in the current form for now.

Here is link to the fb. It took Zed an hour plus but it finally worked!
https://www.facebook.com/zedcoding/
__________________
2015 328i - M Sport front&rear bumper/diffuser, M3 style fender/side skirt, M Performance brakes, BBS SR, ceramic iDrive, LCI radio trim, 6WB, NBT EVO, X5M razor key
Appreciate 0
      08-02-2020, 08:35 PM   #7
DreamerJoe
Captain
United_States
222
Rep
727
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30 335i
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

what ended up being the actual problem?
__________________
MG F30 M-Sport 6mt FBO w/ MHD stage 2 plus (PWG), ST XA Coilovers, 19" VMR V804.
Appreciate 0
      08-02-2020, 08:38 PM   #8
chhappy7
Captain
chhappy7's Avatar
129
Rep
608
Posts

Drives: 2015 328i RWD
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Hanover, NH

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2015 328i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by DreamerJoe View Post
what ended up being the actual problem?
I think something went wrong during flashing where it put it in like a weird mode. The coder didn't tell me exactly how the stock tune was flashed, but it was an hour+ session and told me the software was rejected when he went through regular ways.

Which makes sense because when I went into E-Sys before going to the coder to see if it really is the ENET cable, it could connect to the car just fine but when it came to ECU part, it just gave an error saying value null or something like that.
__________________
2015 328i - M Sport front&rear bumper/diffuser, M3 style fender/side skirt, M Performance brakes, BBS SR, ceramic iDrive, LCI radio trim, 6WB, NBT EVO, X5M razor key
Appreciate 0
      08-02-2020, 10:18 PM   #9
DreamerJoe
Captain
United_States
222
Rep
727
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30 335i
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by chhappy7 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by DreamerJoe View Post
what ended up being the actual problem?
I think something went wrong during flashing where it put it in like a weird mode. The coder didn't tell me exactly how the stock tune was flashed, but it was an hour+ session and told me the software was rejected when he went through regular ways.

Which makes sense because when I went into E-Sys before going to the coder to see if it really is the ENET cable, it could connect to the car just fine but when it came to ECU part, it just gave an error saying value null or something like that.
was the failure vehicle related or bm3/software related? in your position, if it wasn't your or your car's fault, I would reach out to PTF about compensating the cost of the coding session.. especially if it was their software's fault, obviously if it wasn't I would pony up for the bill, but try to find out what went wrong and post it so nobody else runs into the same issue too.. glad you got it all sorted out though, I would be sweatin' it if I thought I had bricked my car during a failed flash, I had an error one time but was able to just reflash after and all was okay luckily (MHD though).
__________________
MG F30 M-Sport 6mt FBO w/ MHD stage 2 plus (PWG), ST XA Coilovers, 19" VMR V804.
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2021, 08:46 PM   #10
hristo.p
New Member
5
Rep
28
Posts

Drives: 2015 335i Xdrive MSport
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by chhappy7 View Post
Hey guys.

So I've been using stage 1 91 octane then I found some 93 gas so I decided to flash 93 map. But it sort of went through but bootmod3 was unable to clear the codes. As a result I can't turn my car on. The car goes to ignition on mode but I can't turn the actual engine on.

I read through some posts but nothing has worked so far.

1. Disconnect negative terminal for 10 minutes then try to reflash
2. Reflash using the force reflash and unlock option (suggested by BM3 support)
3. DME reset under diagnostic then reflash
4. Use laptop and iOS to see if it was the devices.

So I'm at my wit's end here. I've been waiting for my insurance company to find me towing for the past half hour with no luck so I'm kind of stuck at a parking lot with no public transit either. In hindsight, I should've done this at home but since my first flash went so well I didn't think it would go all SNAFU on me.

I'll probably end up calling a friend to ask if he can give me a ride home and then maybe back to the parking lot but I still need to fix it and PTF is closed for the weekend.

Any help would be great.
Quote:
Originally Posted by chhappy7 View Post
Hey guys.

So I've been using stage 1 91 octane then I found some 93 gas so I decided to flash 93 map. But it sort of went through but bootmod3 was unable to clear the codes. As a result I can't turn my car on. The car goes to ignition on mode but I can't turn the actual engine on.

I read through some posts but nothing has worked so far.

1. Disconnect negative terminal for 10 minutes then try to reflash
2. Reflash using the force reflash and unlock option (suggested by BM3 support)
3. DME reset under diagnostic then reflash
4. Use laptop and iOS to see if it was the devices.

So I'm at my wit's end here. I've been waiting for my insurance company to find me towing for the past half hour with no luck so I'm kind of stuck at a parking lot with no public transit either. In hindsight, I should've done this at home but since my first flash went so well I didn't think it would go all SNAFU on me.

I'll probably end up calling a friend to ask if he can give me a ride home and then maybe back to the parking lot but I still need to fix it and PTF is closed for the weekend.

Any help would be great.

Same or similar problem, tried to reflash my stage 2 93 OTS map to improve burbles and get GTS roar (in retrospect idk if that is even available for N55, but it was an option) the flash didn't go through, failed 2 times at 1%, reflash to stock failed at 14%. Car won't start. There are various malfunction messages on the dashboard. Charged my battery with a 30amp charger, kept the charger hooked up and tried to reflash again Stage 2 - failed, no % progress displayed. PTF advised to go to stock next - failed at "clearing codes" stage. Luckily PTF have been super responsive and looking for a workaround to get my car to start. If anyone has some suggestions, please let me know! No recent BMW updates, car was running stage 2 flawlessly for several months! I flash through my iPhone.
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2021, 10:36 PM   #11
AMG KLR
Lieutenant
AMG KLR's Avatar
97
Rep
507
Posts

Drives: 2018 440i GC
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hristo.p View Post
I flash through my iPhone.
There is your problem
Appreciate 1
      03-21-2021, 10:43 PM   #12
hristo.p
New Member
5
Rep
28
Posts

Drives: 2015 335i Xdrive MSport
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMG KLR View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by hristo.p View Post
I flash through my iPhone.
There is your problem
I did several flawless flashes though. There is always a first time I guess. I ordered a new cable and will try with my MacBook.

Will keep you all posted.
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2021, 08:48 AM   #13
AMG KLR
Lieutenant
AMG KLR's Avatar
97
Rep
507
Posts

Drives: 2018 440i GC
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hristo.p View Post
I did several flawless flashes though. There is always a first time I guess. I ordered a new cable and will try with my MacBook.

Will keep you all posted.
Likewise i have flashed a handful of times via iPhone but the app is hot garbage IMO. There is a big issue when it comes to the phone detecting the car (AKA the phone acting as the OBD agent). It either works or it doesn't for me and is quite frustrating.

Laptop will sort you out.
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2021, 06:45 PM   #14
trebec
Enlisted Member
United_States
14
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: F30 335xi
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMG KLR View Post
There is your problem
What does that even mean? I do it all the time through my iPhone and the MHD wireless dongle, never had an issue in 10 plus flashes.
__________________
2013 335xi F30 - Mineral White Metallic
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2021, 06:56 PM   #15
jackstrath
Major
Scotland
551
Rep
1,188
Posts

Drives: 16' F31 340i & 03' Focus RS
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Aberdeen

iTrader: (0)

Apple are always updating their security, most likely something has been changed in the phones soft wear and could now be giving you issues. Laptop is always the better way to do it!
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2021, 09:13 PM   #16
kslice86
Private
kslice86's Avatar
United_States
3
Rep
65
Posts

Drives: BMW 430i GC
Join Date: May 2020
Location: El Paso, Tx

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2016 BMW X3  [0.00]
My car went through this same problem. If the dealership has recently updated your system. The DME(ecu) will fail cause the vehicle to not start. The new update flags cars with flash tunes. Only way to get it fixed is at the dealership, they will reset the DME(ecu)
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2021, 10:42 PM   #17
hristo.p
New Member
5
Rep
28
Posts

Drives: 2015 335i Xdrive MSport
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kslice86 View Post
My car went through this same problem. If the dealership has recently updated your system. The DME(ecu) will fail cause the vehicle to not start. The new update flags cars with flash tunes. Only way to get it fixed is at the dealership, they will reset the DME(ecu)
My car is 2015, out of warranty and I haven't been to the dealership in ages... some of the newer models can get updates wirelessly (dealer updating you software without you knowing) but I doubt that's the case here. I saw some other reports with the same issues, it their cars were updated at the dealer.
I have a remote session scheduled with PTF tomorrow who will look into the issue remotely.

Will keep you all posted!
Appreciate 0
      03-23-2021, 04:14 PM   #18
rt19504
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: f82 m4
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kslice86 View Post
My car went through this same problem. If the dealership has recently updated your system. The DME(ecu) will fail cause the vehicle to not start. The new update flags cars with flash tunes. Only way to get it fixed is at the dealership, they will reset the DME(ecu)


just registered to note that i am having the same problem as everyone here.

have a new m4 (2019) tried to flash on bootmod3 after unlocking the ecu and it fails at 1% and now i cannot start the car as the ecu is corrupted.
will be looking through it with bm3 support tomorrow, but not holding my breath as we all seem to have the same problem.

likely going to have to end up taking it back to bmw
Appreciate 0
      03-23-2021, 04:44 PM   #19
kslice86
Private
kslice86's Avatar
United_States
3
Rep
65
Posts

Drives: BMW 430i GC
Join Date: May 2020
Location: El Paso, Tx

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2016 BMW X3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by rt19504 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by kslice86 View Post
My car went through this same problem. If the dealership has recently updated your system. The DME(ecu) will fail cause the vehicle to not start. The new update flags cars with flash tunes. Only way to get it fixed is at the dealership, they will reset the DME(ecu)


just registered to note that i am having the same problem as everyone here.

have a new m4 (2019) tried to flash on bootmod3 after unlocking the ecu and it fails at 1% and now i cannot start the car as the ecu is corrupted.
will be looking through it with bm3 support tomorrow, but not holding my breath as we all seem to have the same problem.

likely going to have to end up taking it back to bmw
My car is finally ready after a week of being in the shop. The dealership reached out BMW and was told the tune was bad. When I was trying to flash stage 1, it would get to 3% then crash. PTF told me the only way to get passed it was to bench unlock, I would have to send them my DME(ecu).
Appreciate 0
      03-23-2021, 05:01 PM   #20
thejeremyman9
Brigadier General
thejeremyman9's Avatar
2092
Rep
4,085
Posts

Drives: 2015 BMW 335i
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Cali

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hristo.p View Post
My car is 2015, out of warranty and I haven't been to the dealership in ages... some of the newer models can get updates wirelessly (dealer updating you software without you knowing) but I doubt that's the case here. I saw some other reports with the same issues, it their cars were updated at the dealer.
I have a remote session scheduled with PTF tomorrow who will look into the issue remotely.

Will keep you all posted!
I agree its unlikely its due to a software update, but let us know how it goes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rt19504 View Post
just registered to note that i am having the same problem as everyone here.

have a new m4 (2019) tried to flash on bootmod3 after unlocking the ecu and it fails at 1% and now i cannot start the car as the ecu is corrupted.
will be looking through it with bm3 support tomorrow, but not holding my breath as we all seem to have the same problem.

likely going to have to end up taking it back to bmw
Quote:
Originally Posted by kslice86 View Post
My car is finally ready after a week of being in the shop. The dealership reached out BMW and was told the tune was bad. When I was trying to flash stage 1, it would get to 3% then crash. PTF told me the only way to get passed it was to bench unlock, I would have to send them my DME(ecu).
Although you might be having the same failed flash issue, OP's problem is likely different. You are talking about a newer model, different car, different DME, etc. Plus, OP had already flashed and been running BM3 previously.
Appreciate 0
      03-23-2021, 05:40 PM   #21
kslice86
Private
kslice86's Avatar
United_States
3
Rep
65
Posts

Drives: BMW 430i GC
Join Date: May 2020
Location: El Paso, Tx

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2016 BMW X3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by thejeremyman9 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by hristo.p View Post
My car is 2015, out of warranty and I haven't been to the dealership in ages... some of the newer models can get updates wirelessly (dealer updating you software without you knowing) but I doubt that's the case here. I saw some other reports with the same issues, it their cars were updated at the dealer.
I have a remote session scheduled with PTF tomorrow who will look into the issue remotely.

Will keep you all posted!
I agree its unlikely its due to a software update, but let us know how it goes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rt19504 View Post
just registered to note that i am having the same problem as everyone here.

have a new m4 (2019) tried to flash on bootmod3 after unlocking the ecu and it fails at 1% and now i cannot start the car as the ecu is corrupted.
will be looking through it with bm3 support tomorrow, but not holding my breath as we all seem to have the same problem.

likely going to have to end up taking it back to bmw
Quote:
Originally Posted by kslice86 View Post
My car is finally ready after a week of being in the shop. The dealership reached out BMW and was told the tune was bad. When I was trying to flash stage 1, it would get to 3% then crash. PTF told me the only way to get passed it was to bench unlock, I would have to send them my DME(ecu).
Although you might be having the same failed flash issue, OP's problem is likely different. You are talking about a newer model, different car, different DME, etc. Plus, OP had already flashed and been running BM3 previously.
I was running BM3 stage 1 for 3months all of a sudden now it started this. My dealer updated my software the beginning of March.
Appreciate 0
      03-23-2021, 05:55 PM   #22
im_an_alien
Captain
im_an_alien's Avatar
437
Rep
658
Posts

Drives: 2016 340i
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Tha south

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kslice86 View Post
I was running BM3 stage 1 for 3months all of a sudden now it started this. My dealer updated my software the beginning of March.
What's your i-step version
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST