F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > BMW traffic / construction data sucks ...
Studio RSR

08-02-2018, 02:33 PM   #1
CrimDoc
North Country Cabriolet Enthusiast
Rep
Drives: 2019 430i XDrive Convertible

Angry BMW traffic / construction data sucks ...

So, I've been driving my new 430i Convertible for 2 months now ... and have used the navigation system in Georgia, Michigan, North and South Carolina, Virginia and West Virginia and Ohio.

Sorry to say, but I am not impressed.

On 3 separate occasions, once in Virginia, and twice in Michigan (once in Metro Detroit and once in Grand Rapids) the system advised me to take a route that included a closed road! And I don't mean an "emergency" closure (i.e. for an unexpected traffic accident, sinkhole, burst water main etc.) ... no, no ... closed by long term construction projects that have been ongoing for many weeks or months. The Virginia incident was particularly annoying because the car advised me to avoid a construction slow down (where the road was congested, but open) by taking a detour on a road that was completely shut down for construction!

I know that no system is perfect, but free phone apps like Waze and Google Maps seem to do a much better job with live traffic than whatever system BMW is relying on.

I think I get the free service for a year with my car ... definitely WON'T be re-upping at the end of the "trial" period.
Appreciate 0
      08-02-2018, 03:56 PM   #2
Jhnblckwood
Captain
Rep
Drives: F30 2014 320i xdrive

I agree it's not very impressive but do u have the latest maps installed? I kno u said it's a new car but idk if just new to u or what. Try updating maps n we if that helps.
Appreciate 0
      08-02-2018, 04:25 PM   #3
Mashman
First Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: E93