Bimmerpost for Android has just been updated to version 4.3.55 with a host of bug fixes. Try it out!
F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > Regional Forums > UK > Bluespark Tuning Box Review and Tech info
European Auto Source
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-19-2018, 06:08 PM   #287
teaston
General
teaston's Avatar
United Kingdom
6506
Rep
24,111
Posts

Drives: 335d M Sport Plus
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Norfolk 'n' Good

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PLuKE View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by teaston View Post
On the CR tech the first 3 settings are for low end to mid range torque, setting 4 & 5 are for top end power.

I have mine on 3 (when it's fitted) as who can use top end power on public roads.
Thatís great.

So I have mine on MAP2 and position 5. So if I have MAP2 and location 3, that should give me the maximum power in the midrange?

Is that how yours is currently setup?

Luke
Mine just has the 5 positions, no map1 & 2:
Attached Images
 
__________________
Current: LCI F30 335d M Sport Plus in BSM/CR
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2018, 06:33 PM   #288
Hooded
Major
Hooded's Avatar
England
369
Rep
1,153
Posts

Drives: F30 330d M-Sport
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: England

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JLR1969 View Post
What I mean is once you start with engine tuning boxes etc you slowly progress to other options.

I went with a BS box then DTUK box then a remap.

A £90 tuning box is not very reassuring on a £15k engine.

The CR boxes are about as basic as you can get.
Quite
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2018, 06:52 PM   #289
PLuKE
Private
2
Rep
59
Posts

Drives: n/a
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: England, Suffolk

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by teaston View Post
Mine just has the 5 positions, no map1 & 2:
Oh, yours is different.

Mine is like this?



Appreciate 0
      01-19-2018, 06:53 PM   #290
teaston
General
teaston's Avatar
United Kingdom
6506
Rep
24,111
Posts

Drives: 335d M Sport Plus
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Norfolk 'n' Good

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PLuKE View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by teaston View Post
Mine just has the 5 positions, no map1 & 2:
Oh, yours is different.

Mine is like this?



Is yours a CR Tech 2?
__________________
Current: LCI F30 335d M Sport Plus in BSM/CR
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2018, 07:06 PM   #291
PLuKE
Private
2
Rep
59
Posts

Drives: n/a
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: England, Suffolk

iTrader: (0)

Mines a CR Tech 1, via the eBay shop.

Mines different, as the Pro+ etc has C,D and E and then a fine tune setting.

Looking for the best setting, I guess itís trail and error and personal preference.

Luke
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2018, 08:13 PM   #292
teaston
General
teaston's Avatar
United Kingdom
6506
Rep
24,111
Posts

Drives: 335d M Sport Plus
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Norfolk 'n' Good

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PLuKE View Post
Mines a CR Tech 1, via the eBay shop.

Mines different, as the Pro+ etc has C,D and E and then a fine tune setting.

Looking for the best setting, I guess itís trail and error and personal preference.

Luke
Oh I see, they told me the CR tech 1 wasnít suitable for the 335d.

So what colour dot does yours have on the box?
__________________
Current: LCI F30 335d M Sport Plus in BSM/CR
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2018, 08:23 PM   #293
PLuKE
Private
2
Rep
59
Posts

Drives: n/a
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: England, Suffolk

iTrader: (0)

Mine has the red dot on the box.

My confusion here is, they list Map 1 and Map 2 twice as you can see.

So unsure, does moving the jumper from 1 to 2 make a difference? Or does the fine tuning jumpers make the difference.

I donít want to mess with it to much, and then cause a problem.

Luke
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2018, 06:20 AM   #294
teaston
General
teaston's Avatar
United Kingdom
6506
Rep
24,111
Posts

Drives: 335d M Sport Plus
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Norfolk 'n' Good

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PLuKE View Post
Mine has the red dot on the box.

My confusion here is, they list Map 1 and Map 2 twice as you can see.

So unsure, does moving the jumper from 1 to 2 make a difference? Or does the fine tuning jumpers make the difference.

I don’t want to mess with it to much, and then cause a problem.

Luke
As you have the red dot your settings are as per the left description, map 1 for economy and low end torque, map 2 for maximum power.

I’d recommend map 1, then play with the adjustments. No point in position 1 & 2, but 3, 4 or 5 should all be tried.
__________________
Current: LCI F30 335d M Sport Plus in BSM/CR
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2018, 09:35 AM   #295
PLuKE
Private
2
Rep
59
Posts

Drives: n/a
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: England, Suffolk

iTrader: (0)

I just swap between Map 1 and Position 5, and then Map 2 and Postion 5.

Map 2 postion 5 feels slightly better. There seems to be no difference in low end torque between the maps.

I guess Postion 5 is the maximum fine tune/power for the given Map?

The higher model boxes seem easier to understand, and give different gains.

Oddly people donít try them on maximum fine tune on each different map?

Luke
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2018, 11:33 AM   #296
teaston
General
teaston's Avatar
United Kingdom
6506
Rep
24,111
Posts

Drives: 335d M Sport Plus
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Norfolk 'n' Good

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PLuKE View Post
I just swap between Map 1 and Position 5, and then Map 2 and Postion 5.

Map 2 postion 5 feels slightly better. There seems to be no difference in low end torque between the maps.

I guess Postion 5 is the maximum fine tune/power for the given Map?

The higher model boxes seem easier to understand, and give different gains.

Oddly people donít try them on maximum fine tune on each different map?

Luke
Yes they should both have the same low end torque but map 2 adds extra fuel rail pressure higher up, which should mean more fuel use and shorter life expectancy for the fuel rail and/or injectors.
__________________
Current: LCI F30 335d M Sport Plus in BSM/CR
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2018, 01:56 PM   #297
KCH1984
Lieutenant
239
Rep
585
Posts

Drives: F15 X5
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PLuKE View Post
I just swap between Map 1 and Position 5, and then Map 2 and Postion 5.

Map 2 postion 5 feels slightly better. There seems to be no difference in low end torque between the maps.

I guess Postion 5 is the maximum fine tune/power for the given Map?

The higher model boxes seem easier to understand, and give different gains.

Oddly people donít try them on maximum fine tune on each different map?

Luke
These boxes increase power by increasing rail pressure, whether the cheap CR tech or more expensive Pro version.

I believe the Pro version provides more aggressive states of tune and one of the reasons those of us who ran them previously stayed away from maximum settings was due to fuel cut issues. We all experience instances where the car would cut or limit power due to the box asking too much of the injectors and fuel pump as Teaston alludes to above.

One of many reasons I went for a remap, but you should be ok if you're not pushing things too much.
__________________
Current: F15 X5 30d M Sport (Options: M Sport Plus, 21" 599M, Heated Rear Seats, Apple CarPlay). Gone: F30 330d xDrive, VW Golf 7 GTD DSG, M135i Auto, Nissan 350z, E87 123d M Sport, VW R32 DSG, Vauxhall Astra VXR, Ford Focus Zetec.
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2018, 05:53 PM   #298
PLuKE
Private
2
Rep
59
Posts

Drives: n/a
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: England, Suffolk

iTrader: (0)

Thanks.

I did look at changing it for a CR2 box, or the Pro. But for £90 its working fine, no issues running it on max.

I wouldnt want to have a Pro box, and not having it on full, would seem you are better with a CR1/2 box on max, than a Pro box on medium?

Luke
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2018, 12:48 PM   #299
Duterte18
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: 3 series 320d F30 2014
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: leeds

iTrader: (0)

Tuning Box

Hi
I Just want to make a second opinion about this tuning box CHIP TUNING BOX BMW 3 320D 163 cv THEITALIANBOX REMAPPING ECU..does anybody tried this product before? cheers
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2018, 05:41 PM   #300
JLR1969
Banned
United Kingdom
1515
Rep
6,617
Posts

Drives: F10 530D M Sport
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: England

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duterte18 View Post
Hi
I Just want to make a second opinion about this tuning box CHIP TUNING BOX BMW 3 320D 163 cv THEITALIANBOX REMAPPING ECU..does anybody tried this product before? cheers
Save your money and either get a DTUK 3 channel box or a proper remap
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:21 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST