F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > DIY - Blackvue Dashcam Hardwire - ALL with the fusebox, no sketchy wiring
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-03-2017, 11:48 PM   #67
Infamouz627
First Lieutenant
Infamouz627's Avatar
United_States
35
Rep
392
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i M-Sport EBII 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by smithf80 View Post
Yes, 1 regular, 1 mini.

As for the cost.... seriously?
Yep! White340's link below will give you an idea.
Quote:
Originally Posted by White340 View Post
__________________
2013 EB2 335i M-Sport 6MT // BM3 Stage 2 // VRSF DP // AA CP
Appreciate 0
      12-03-2017, 11:50 PM   #68
smithf80
Brigadier General
smithf80's Avatar
United_States
1826
Rep
4,757
Posts

Drives: '18 F80 M3 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Long Island, NY

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2018 F80 M3  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Infamouz627 View Post
Yep! White340's link below will give you an idea.
I mean really as in you can't just spend the 10-15 bucks?

I know it sucks but you'll have this dash cam for years to come. Mine is about to move into its 3rd car. Just buy them.
Appreciate 0
      12-03-2017, 11:56 PM   #69
Infamouz627
First Lieutenant
Infamouz627's Avatar
United_States
35
Rep
392
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i M-Sport EBII 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by smithf80 View Post
I mean really as in you can't just spend the 10-15 bucks?

I know it sucks but you'll have this dash cam for years to come. Mine is about to move into its 3rd car. Just buy them.
Apologies if I'm not as lucrative as some might be. Considering I've already spent the $40 on the MS, this was just an extra expense I wasn't expecting. I saw nothing wrong with asking fellow subscribers for a hand if they had them laying around unused anyway.
__________________
2013 EB2 335i M-Sport 6MT // BM3 Stage 2 // VRSF DP // AA CP
Appreciate 0
      12-06-2017, 09:28 PM   #70
ToniCipriani
Private First Class
ToniCipriani's Avatar
Canada
33
Rep
133
Posts

Drives: 2012 F30 N20B0O ZMT 7AC
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Markham, ON

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infamouz627 View Post
Apologies if I'm not as lucrative as some might be. Considering I've already spent the $40 on the MS, this was just an extra expense I wasn't expecting. I saw nothing wrong with asking fellow subscribers for a hand if they had them laying around unused anyway.
Walmart should have them in single packs. That's where I got mine.
Appreciate 0
      12-12-2017, 12:54 PM   #71
Infamouz627
First Lieutenant
Infamouz627's Avatar
United_States
35
Rep
392
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i M-Sport EBII 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToniCipriani View Post
Walmart should have them in single packs. That's where I got mine.
Thank you sir, a friend of mine actually had some spares laying around and he was generous enough to give them to me.
__________________
2013 EB2 335i M-Sport 6MT // BM3 Stage 2 // VRSF DP // AA CP
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2017, 07:56 PM   #72
axz17
Private
51
Rep
68
Posts

Drives: 2018 AW F82
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (3)

Can I ask where you guys purchased your Multi Safer from? Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2017, 09:02 PM   #73
smithf80
Brigadier General
smithf80's Avatar
United_States
1826
Rep
4,757
Posts

Drives: '18 F80 M3 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Long Island, NY

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2018 F80 M3  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by axz17 View Post
Can I ask where you guys purchased your Multi Safer from? Thanks.
Blackboxmycar
Appreciate 0
      12-27-2017, 02:36 AM   #74
SMiGGs
Private
36
Rep
96
Posts

Drives: Msport
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Cencal

iTrader: (0)

Just installed a blackvue 750s. To save everyone some money and time. You can tap the rearview mirror or overhead console for a ground and hot wire. Will turn on every time you start the vehicle. I use the same tapped wire for a hard wired uniden radar. Useful. I tried running the wire to the rear fuse box, but it was such a pain in the butt.

If you want it to stay on while parked, just get the power bank plug it in when you need to record when parked, itll turn on when proximity sensor senses motion.
Appreciate 0
      12-27-2017, 11:34 PM   #75
fishmonger6
New Member
3
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: BMW 340i MSport
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (1)

Thanks for this write-up, just used it as a guide to hardwire my dashcam, no issues.
Appreciate 0
      12-27-2017, 11:39 PM   #76
smithf80
Brigadier General
smithf80's Avatar
United_States
1826
Rep
4,757
Posts

Drives: '18 F80 M3 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Long Island, NY

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2018 F80 M3  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishmonger6 View Post
Thanks for this write-up, just used it as a guide to hardwire my dashcam, no issues.
Glad it worked out for ya!
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2018, 06:12 PM   #77
Snorbs
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: 718 Cayman
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: St.Albans

iTrader: (0)

Old thread, I know.... but did u ever replace the Blackvue clear sticky with a black 3M sticky ?

I’m not happy with the standard sticky on my install.
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2018, 10:49 PM   #78
smithf80
Brigadier General
smithf80's Avatar
United_States
1826
Rep
4,757
Posts

Drives: '18 F80 M3 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Long Island, NY

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2018 F80 M3  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snorbs View Post
Old thread, I know.... but did u ever replace the Blackvue clear sticky with a black 3M sticky ?

Iím not happy with the standard sticky on my install.
I did and thought it looked even more odd. I stick to the clear one, no pun intended.
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2018, 09:06 PM   #79
Infamouz627
First Lieutenant
Infamouz627's Avatar
United_States
35
Rep
392
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i M-Sport EBII 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

Alright folks, finally got around to this project and I've hit a wall (I know, 8 months later). I've followed smithf80's instructions to the T and yet I can't seem to get the cigarette lighter socket on the Fine Safer S (apparently this replaced the Multi Safer) to provide power.

I used the original 20a + 10a on the BATT+ line to 161 and a 5a + 5a on the ACC+ line to 143. Played around with different DIP switch settings and yet it seems no juice is being supplied to the cig socket as the LED indicator on the USB adapter for the cam doesn't light up, nor does the cam turn on when plugged in. Even with the car on it doesn't seem to supply power to the socket. Note, the Fine Safer unit itself is getting power as the red LED flashes.

The 2 things that I can think of that may be the culprit is when 1. I crimped the ACC line to the fuse tap, a bit of the wire sleeve was crimped inside the metal contact of the tap along with the exposed wire. Not sure if this may cause any type of conductivity problems. 2. the unit is defective despite checking the soldering on the socket and all seemed intact.

Any thoughts, feedback, suggestions etc. would be greatly appreciated!
__________________
2013 EB2 335i M-Sport 6MT // BM3 Stage 2 // VRSF DP // AA CP

Last edited by Infamouz627; 07-30-2018 at 09:14 PM..
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2018, 10:11 PM   #80
smithf80
Brigadier General
smithf80's Avatar
United_States
1826
Rep
4,757
Posts

Drives: '18 F80 M3 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Long Island, NY

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2018 F80 M3  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Infamouz627 View Post
Alright folks, finally got around to this project and I've hit a wall (I know, 8 months later). I've followed smithf80's instructions to the T and yet I can't seem to get the cigarette lighter socket on the Fine Safer S (apparently this replaced the Multi Safer) to provide power.

I used the original 20a + 10a on the BATT+ line to 161 and a 5a + 5a on the ACC+ line to 143. Played around with different DIP switch settings and yet it seems no juice is being supplied to the cig socket as the LED indicator on the USB adapter for the cam doesn't light up, nor does the cam turn on when plugged in. Even with the car on it doesn't seem to supply power to the socket. Note, the Fine Safer unit itself is getting power as the red LED flashes.

The 2 things that I can think of that may be the culprit is when 1. I crimped the ACC line to the fuse tap, a bit of the wire sleeve was crimped inside the metal contact of the tap along with the exposed wire. Not sure if this may cause any type of conductivity problems. 2. the unit is defective despite checking the soldering on the socket and all seemed intact.

Any thoughts, feedback, suggestions etc. would be greatly appreciated!
If you're getting power to the Fine Safer then I'd imagine something is just wrong with the cig lighter port. If you have a volt meter try testing the output and seeing what you get.

Also, and I know this is silly, but did you try the cam directly into a cig lighter port to make sure your cam isn't defective?
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2018, 10:20 PM   #81
Infamouz627
First Lieutenant
Infamouz627's Avatar
United_States
35
Rep
392
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i M-Sport EBII 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by smithf80 View Post
If you're getting power to the Fine Safer then I'd imagine something is just wrong with the cig lighter port. If you have a volt meter try testing the output and seeing what you get.

Also, and I know this is silly, but did you try the cam directly into a cig lighter port to make sure your cam isn't defective?
Thanks for your reply, I'll try testing the terminals on the cig lighter socket.

Yep, I was using the cam via the cig lighter up until this evening when I tried to install the Fine Safer and everything functioned as normal. The cig adapter has a blue LED that indicates it is outputting power and that was also functioning properly. I even plugged in an external battery to the cam and it also functioned properly.

Nothing ever runs as smoothly as you think it will
__________________
2013 EB2 335i M-Sport 6MT // BM3 Stage 2 // VRSF DP // AA CP
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2018, 04:34 PM   #82
sylver65
New Member
0
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: 320d xdrive
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Sanremo

iTrader: (0)

The fuse are Mini e Medium?
Appreciate 0
      08-16-2018, 11:23 AM   #83
BulsaraF36
Second Lieutenant
BulsaraF36's Avatar
110
Rep
202
Posts

Drives: F36 435i M-Sport
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Charlotte, NC

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sylver65 View Post
The fuse are Mini e Medium?
I believe its Standard and Mini.
__________________
2016 435i M-Sport | Carbon Black | 20" 624M Wheels | MPPK | MPE | M Performance Brakes | M Performance Steering Wheel II with Display | Dinan Stage 4 | Dinan Big Turbo | Dinan High Performance Intercooler | Dinan Intake | Dinan Shockware | Fabspeed Sport Cat Downpipe | Custom Quad Tips | Autotecknic Red Paddle Shifters
Appreciate 0
      10-14-2018, 08:13 PM   #84
BeMyWife420
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: F32 420d M-Sport
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Norwich

iTrader: (0)

Just bought myself a Thinkware F800 Pro for installation into my 2016 420d M Sport. I'm pretty good with what I need to do for the installation, and i intend running the cabling to the rear fuse box and connecting up to 161 and 142. The Thinkware has voltage sensing so I don't believe I need any other kit. Any chance someone could confirm I'm on the right tracks to ensure the parking modes will work okay, or direct me to the correct post for this......sorry, newbie alert!
Appreciate 0
      10-14-2018, 09:34 PM   #85
SportySpice
Private First Class
SportySpice's Avatar
United_States
128
Rep
157
Posts

Drives: 2015 335i Xdrive
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeMyWife420 View Post
Just bought myself a Thinkware F800 Pro for installation into my 2016 420d M Sport. I'm pretty good with what I need to do for the installation, and i intend running the cabling to the rear fuse box and connecting up to 161 and 142. The Thinkware has voltage sensing so I don't believe I need any other kit. Any chance someone could confirm I'm on the right tracks to ensure the parking modes will work okay, or direct me to the correct post for this......sorry, newbie alert!
I installed the Thinkware F800 Pro (front and rear) in my car a few months ago. I used "piggyback" connectors on fuses 161 and 143, and parking and active mode work fine. You have to configure parking mode using the app or a computer. It may have already been mentioned here, but make sure your cable to the fuse box is extended. The stock one that comes with the camera isn't long enough.
Appreciate 0
      10-15-2018, 03:46 AM   #86
BeMyWife420
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: F32 420d M-Sport
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Norwich

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SportySpice View Post
I installed the Thinkware F800 Pro (front and rear) in my car a few months ago. I used "piggyback" connectors on fuses 161 and 143, and parking and active mode work fine. You have to configure parking mode using the app or a computer. It may have already been mentioned here, but make sure your cable to the fuse box is extended. The stock one that comes with the camera isn't long enough.
Sorry, I meant 161 and 143! Thanks for the feedback, and yeah I'll just solder some extensions to the leads. Did you route around the head lining or via the door sills?
Appreciate 0
      10-16-2018, 06:23 AM   #87
SportySpice
Private First Class
SportySpice's Avatar
United_States
128
Rep
157
Posts

Drives: 2015 335i Xdrive
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

@BeMyWife420 Power via headliner, rear camera using lower door molding.
Appreciate 0
      10-17-2018, 07:08 PM   #88
BeMyWife420
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: F32 420d M-Sport
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Norwich

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SportySpice View Post
@BeMyWife420 Power via headliner, rear camera using lower door molding.
Any particular reason you took this option and not both cables in the roof (which looks easier)? I assume there were some issues in doing that? I'm waiting for a replacement windscreen before I do the instalation (damn stone cracked it a couple of days ago!) so taking the time to plan my options
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST