F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > DIY: LCI IHKA Climate Control Display Retrofit - IHKA3 Required
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-03-2016, 11:00 PM   #1
Tim@codemybimmer
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Tim@codemybimmer's Avatar
Canada
339
Rep
835
Posts


Drives: 2022 X4 M Competition
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
DIY: LCI IHKA Climate Control Display Retrofit - IHKA3 Required

If you're famillar with my mini project, I purchased a set of Radio and HVAC controls from eBay for $140USD (with the correct LCI part number (64 11 9 363 546 if you have silver trim and heated seats)

The changes under IHKA3 would be as follows:

IHKA3 > 3006 > Display-Farbumschlag > AKTIV

And this will be the result



Well worth it! Please note that when you do code IHKA3, the A/C light will blink until the vehicle has ran for more than 5 minutes so it can recalibrate.

One interesting thing I noticed was that for some reason with both these controls and my LCI loaner I had, the knobs aren't as dampened compared to the ones I had. Strange.
Appreciate 2
      03-03-2016, 11:37 PM   #2
williammm
Private First Class
8
Rep
122
Posts

Drives: BMW F80 M3 (2016)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Singapore

iTrader: (1)

How do i know if i have IHKA3?
F30 2012 328i
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2016, 11:45 PM   #3
Tim@codemybimmer
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Tim@codemybimmer's Avatar
Canada
339
Rep
835
Posts


Drives: 2022 X4 M Competition
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
The most certain way is to hook up to E-SYS and see if the module IHKA3 is present, especially since you need coding done to get the color change to work. Without IHKA3, it may not communicate properly and not work at all.

The other way is if it's a MY2015 vehicle, however I'm not 100% sure when the change over happened since the couple 2014 F30/F32s I've coded (and my old 2013 F30) had IHKA, however the 2015 F30s I've done (including mine) have IHKA3.
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2016, 01:06 AM   #4
Harlequin
Brigadier General
Harlequin's Avatar
Australia
314
Rep
4,023
Posts

Drives: F32 Coupé
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Brisbane, Australia BMW Club QLD Member

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
Awesome. Thanks for the info
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2016, 01:45 PM   #5
gribouille1210
Private
140
Rep
67
Posts

Drives: BMW F32 430D M performance
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: PARIS

iTrader: (0)

Hello,
i have bought the HVAC controls lci but i have IHKA ECU, not IHKA3.
I have tested the HVAC controls but it doesn't work.
I have looked at wiring diagram of bmw f32, production november 2013 like my car and bmw f32 production july 2014.
The only difference of the two wiring diagram is
for production 11/13 the pin 22/23 of the heating air conditioning system are connected to pin 33 / 34 of the FEM A173*7B
for LCI production 07/14 the pin 22/23 of the heating air conditioning system are connected to pin 1 / 2 of transmitter X20*1B then to pin 10/11 to the FEM A173*10B.

So, do you think if i just swap the two pins of the heating air conditioning system to the transmitter x20*1B or pin 10/11 to the FEM A173*10B, it could be work?

Best regards
Attached Images
   
Appreciate 0
      05-10-2016, 06:57 AM   #6
7woodman7
Private First Class
7woodman7's Avatar
Austria
95
Rep
176
Posts

Drives: M4 F83
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Austria

iTrader: (0)

Hi,

did you first install the lci HVAC controls and then coded the "Farbumschaltung" parameter?

Thx

Last edited by 7woodman7; 05-10-2016 at 09:32 AM..
Appreciate 0
      05-11-2016, 11:30 PM   #7
cryptz
Lieutenant
United_States
136
Rep
411
Posts

Drives: 2015 m4
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: pottstown pa

iTrader: (1)

hi i have a 2015m4 that i am about to take delivery on. Can this be coded with the stock hvac or would i need a different part? I prefer the white light to match the gauge cluster. Is the white effect meant to be the daytime lighting scenario? I Notice every other button is not illuminated in your video so i wasnt clear on what functionality you possibly loose at night.

thanks alot
Appreciate 0
      05-12-2016, 01:27 AM   #8
Tim@codemybimmer
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Tim@codemybimmer's Avatar
Canada
339
Rep
835
Posts


Drives: 2022 X4 M Competition
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7woodman7 View Post
Hi,

did you first install the lci HVAC controls and then coded the "Farbumschaltung" parameter?

Thx
I installed the HVAC first to confirm it worked functionally, prior to coding the light switching for the white and amber lighting to work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cryptz View Post
hi i have a 2015m4 that i am about to take delivery on. Can this be coded with the stock hvac or would i need a different part? I prefer the white light to match the gauge cluster. Is the white effect meant to be the daytime lighting scenario? I Notice every other button is not illuminated in your video so i wasnt clear on what functionality you possibly loose at night.

thanks alot
You'll need a new IHKA Control per the P/N mentioned for it to work. Congrats on the M4!
Appreciate 1
      05-12-2016, 02:36 PM   #9
7woodman7
Private First Class
7woodman7's Avatar
Austria
95
Rep
176
Posts

Drives: M4 F83
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Austria

iTrader: (0)

Did the retrofit today without any problems! thx a lot for your instructions!
Appreciate 0
      05-18-2016, 10:21 PM   #10
cryptz
Lieutenant
United_States
136
Rep
411
Posts

Drives: 2015 m4
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: pottstown pa

iTrader: (1)

where are you guys finding these controls i only see them for like $750 bucks
Appreciate 0
      05-18-2016, 11:16 PM   #11
Tim@codemybimmer
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Tim@codemybimmer's Avatar
Canada
339
Rep
835
Posts


Drives: 2022 X4 M Competition
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by cryptz View Post
where are you guys finding these controls i only see them for like $750 bucks
A little place called eBay and with a little luck
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2016, 09:31 PM   #12
cryptz
Lieutenant
United_States
136
Rep
411
Posts

Drives: 2015 m4
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: pottstown pa

iTrader: (1)

what production date cars already have the ability to switch to white display screen? is this 2016 only? i have a 2015 that was made 12/14
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2016, 10:04 PM   #13
atzebmw
Colonel
Germany
544
Rep
2,303
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cryptz View Post
what production date cars already have the ability to switch to white display screen? is this 2016 only? i have a 2015 that was made 12/14
You can do it.
The F3x has IHKA3 since 03/2014.
And the IHKA3 is the requirement for the white display.
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2016, 11:00 PM   #14
cryptz
Lieutenant
United_States
136
Rep
411
Posts

Drives: 2015 m4
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: pottstown pa

iTrader: (1)

yea but the heater controls do not have the white leds for the screen it seems. is that just 2016 cars? just need to figure out where i can get one. there havent been any on ebay.,
Appreciate 0
      05-23-2016, 01:06 AM   #15
atzebmw
Colonel
Germany
544
Rep
2,303
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cryptz View Post
yea but the heater controls do not have the white leds for the screen it seems. is that just 2016 cars? just need to figure out where i can get one. there havent been any on ebay.,
Oh yes, i'm sorry. I misunderstood.
The white screen control panel came in 08/2015.
But the retrofit of the new Control Panel should be possible for cars from 03/2014 upwards.
To find a cheap one on eBay you need much luck.
Appreciate 0
      11-21-2016, 01:15 PM   #16
kostrzu
Registered
Poland
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: F31 2.0D N47 184KM
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Poland

iTrader: (0)

HI Guys

I have 2 sets for retrofit in ideal condition to be sold. Offering Worldwide shipping.
Please send PM for Price also listed with OEM no on eb..y.
More then happy to help you guys. !

Artur
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2016, 11:48 AM   #17
roxxor
Captain
roxxor's Avatar
637
Rep
816
Posts

Drives: 2020 530e
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Florida

iTrader: (7)

I also have a set for sale in the Classifieds

http://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho....php?t=1330220
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2017, 07:20 AM   #18
big stu
Enlisted Member
2
Rep
41
Posts

Drives: f30 sport xdrive
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: glasgow

iTrader: (0)

Did anyone ever get this working on 2013 model with IKHA rather than IKHA3. I know there were a couple of wiring diagrams posted but did anyone do the conversion
Appreciate 0
      02-24-2017, 11:00 AM   #19
jeffc83
Lieutenant Colonel
712
Rep
1,618
Posts

Drives: 2015 328i XDrive Luxury Line
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Philly Burbs, PA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by big stu View Post
Did anyone ever get this working on 2013 model with IKHA rather than IKHA3. I know there were a couple of wiring diagrams posted but did anyone do the conversion
I'm curious about this as well
Appreciate 0
      02-25-2017, 09:40 AM   #20
Stoo
First Lieutenant
Stoo's Avatar
United Kingdom
130
Rep
356
Posts

Drives: F36
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: West Midlands

iTrader: (0)

I have a 01/2015 model F36 with IHKA3.
Ordered this part on Thursday and coded the IHKA3 already for this modification.

Hoping it's just plug n play when it arrives.
Appreciate 0
      02-28-2017, 11:48 PM   #21
gram
Private
2
Rep
56
Posts

Drives: 14 328
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

hmm

I have one of these for sale if anyone is interested. I'm in Vancouver Canada. Looking for $140 USD or $190 CAD

Close to new condition, was pulled from a car with 5000kms (approx 3000 miles)

Part number is 6411 9363546-02

Please PM me if you are interested.
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2017, 09:19 AM   #22
jtskariah
Bud Light General
jtskariah's Avatar
United_States
92
Rep
344
Posts

Drives: f30 335i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Georgia

iTrader: (3)

Hello, I purchased the LCI AC unit alone on ebay do I need to purchase the radio unit and trim as well or can I just install and code LCI ac unit by itself and use previous radio and trim?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST