F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > DIY: LCI IHKA Climate Control Display Retrofit - IHKA3 Required
proTUNING Freaks
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-18-2019, 03:13 AM   #89
Onizukachan
Great Teacher
Onizukachan's Avatar
United_States
312
Rep
648
Posts

Drives: F31d
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: El Paso

iTrader: (0)

And installed, thanks OP for the diy. Hardest part was the reconnecting the connector for the hazards and disconnecting the connector for the radio faceplate initially. What a bear.

I do actually prefer the preLCI screen font, but I’m sure I’ll get used to it.
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2019, 10:56 AM   #90
Siwysdz
New Member
2
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: F30 335d
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Ireland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IK6SPEED View Post
From other thread

steps are:

1) Install IHKA3 Controller Unit
Known to work for mod:
64116820235
64119390099
64116842986

2) Install LCI Screen Display unit

3) Move the IHKA ECU connection from the slower KCAN Network to the higher speed KCAN2 Network by moving the 2 wires from pins 22 and 23) on FEM A173*7B to pins (10 & 11) on FEM A173*10B. There may or may not be wires already connected to pin 10 and 11 depending on if your car has HU_NBT Professional with Navigation or not. Make sure to properly connect the H to H and L to L when reconnecting and wires are not reversed.



4) change car build date (Zeitkriterium) up to at least a 2015 Model Year (07/14) in VO.

5) update car to latest istep level

6) Performed a "TAL-Calculating" and then a "TAL-Processing" to update the IHKA3 BTLD, SWFL and CAFD files.

7) Run Rheingold to clear all warnings and errors before starting your vehicle.

8) Start vehicle and run it until the A/C LED stops blinking.


Complete thread at http://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho....php?t=1274250





Hello. I have NBT Professional in my car. F30 2013 december with IHKA.
Pins (10 & 11) on FEM A173 * 10B I have already taken.
Do I need to connect together wires from pins 22 and 23) on FEM A173 * 7B to pins (10 & 11) on FEM A173 * 10B ??
Then in one of the pins will be 2 wires ??
I think right
Best regards
Jarek
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2019, 01:02 PM   #91
IK6SPEED
Banned
United_States
4353
Rep
10,507
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 / AH3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cali

iTrader: (23)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Siwysdz View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by IK6SPEED View Post
From other thread

steps are:

1) Install IHKA3 Controller Unit
Known to work for mod:
64116820235
64119390099
64116842986

2) Install LCI Screen Display unit

3) Move the IHKA ECU connection from the slower KCAN Network to the higher speed KCAN2 Network by moving the 2 wires from pins 22 and 23) on FEM A173*7B to pins (10 & 11) on FEM A173*10B. There may or may not be wires already connected to pin 10 and 11 depending on if your car has HU_NBT Professional with Navigation or not. Make sure to properly connect the H to H and L to L when reconnecting and wires are not reversed.



4) change car build date (Zeitkriterium) up to at least a 2015 Model Year (07/14) in VO.

5) update car to latest istep level

6) Performed a "TAL-Calculating" and then a "TAL-Processing" to update the IHKA3 BTLD, SWFL and CAFD files.

7) Run Rheingold to clear all warnings and errors before starting your vehicle.

8) Start vehicle and run it until the A/C LED stops blinking.


Complete thread at http://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho....php?t=1274250





Hello. I have NBT Professional in my car. F30 2013 december with IHKA.
Pins (10 & 11) on FEM A173 * 10B I have already taken.
Do I need to connect together wires from pins 22 and 23) on FEM A173 * 7B to pins (10 & 11) on FEM A173 * 10B ??
Then in one of the pins will be 2 wires ??
I think right
Best regards
Jarek
You need to move to wires from where they are now to the new pins, no matter how you do it.

You can splice the wires or use a Scotch Brand T Wire Tap Connector which is what I would suggest so the KCAN2 wire is not cut.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2019, 02:31 PM   #92
Siwysdz
New Member
2
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: F30 335d
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Ireland

iTrader: (0)

I have to take the cable, connect the 10.11 A173 * 10B KCAN2 quick connector pins. Connect the other end of the cable to IHKA3 to pin 22.23.
Cable from old IHKA (pin 22.23) I have to disconnect from conector and connect my new cable
Am I right??



IHKA -> KCAN_H Pin 22 to Pin 34 FEM A173*7B
IHKA -> KCAN_L Pin 23 to Pin 33 FEM A173*7B

IHKA3 -> KCAN2_H Pin 22 to Pin 10 FEM A173*10B
IHKA3 -> KCAN2_L Pin 23 to Pin 11 FEM A173*10B


Best regards
Jarek

Last edited by Siwysdz; 11-15-2019 at 02:28 PM..
Appreciate 1
      11-15-2019, 05:13 PM   #93
psyki
E36fiend
United_States
264
Rep
612
Posts

Drives: 2014 435i xDrive
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Sammamish, WA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2014 435i xDrive  [0.00]
2014 X5  [0.00]
I would not use those vampire taps, I would (and did) cut and solder the wires together. And yes, on the FEM connector pins 10 and 11 there are already wires there, I cut those and spliced in the wires from the IHKA3.
Appreciate 0
      11-16-2019, 11:20 AM   #94
Siwysdz
New Member
2
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: F30 335d
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Ireland

iTrader: (0)

Hello.
And I can replace the pins, mount IHKA3 and a new climatization panel. Start the car and go to the mechanic for coding.
Something bad will happen ??
Appreciate 0
      11-16-2019, 01:45 PM   #95
psyki
E36fiend
United_States
264
Rep
612
Posts

Drives: 2014 435i xDrive
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Sammamish, WA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2014 435i xDrive  [0.00]
2014 X5  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siwysdz View Post
Hello.
And I can replace the pins, mount IHKA3 and a new climatization panel. Start the car and go to the mechanic for coding.
Something bad will happen ??
Nothing bad will break if you install the parts and don't code it but the panel may not work. I don't recall what happened in between installing and coding for me as I coded it right away.
Appreciate 0
      11-19-2019, 08:05 AM   #96
Zikkun
Registered
Morocco
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: BMW F36 420D Gran Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Morocco

iTrader: (0)

Hello Guys,

I am a happy owner of a 2016 f36 and would like to know what parts would i need to have a dual zone digital climate control working.

Thanks a lot.
Appreciate 0
      11-19-2019, 12:31 PM   #97
IK6SPEED
Banned
United_States
4353
Rep
10,507
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 / AH3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cali

iTrader: (23)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zikkun View Post
Hello Guys,

I am a happy owner of a 2016 f36 and would like to know what parts would i need to have a dual zone digital climate control working.

Thanks a lot.
Suggest you start a thread and ask.

This thread is not about that.
Appreciate 0
      11-23-2019, 01:09 PM   #98
Siwysdz
New Member
2
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: F30 335d
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Ireland

iTrader: (0)

Hello. Today I was to encode IHKA3, but esys can't see it. Everything connected. New panel attached. The blower is working, the rear window heating indicator light is blinking, the airflow directions are on LHD, I have RHD, the seat heating reverse works, the air conditioning does not turn on, the color change white and amber works.
What do you recommend ??

I changed ihka 64119311850 to ihka3 64116820235-01

and climate panel on 64119363546-02

Bmw F30 335d december 2013 RHD

Last edited by Siwysdz; 11-23-2019 at 02:44 PM..
Appreciate 0
      11-23-2019, 04:59 PM   #99
IK6SPEED
Banned
United_States
4353
Rep
10,507
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 / AH3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cali

iTrader: (23)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Siwysdz View Post
Hello. Today I was to encode IHKA3, but esys can't see it. Everything connected. New panel attached. The blower is working, the rear window heating indicator light is blinking, the airflow directions are on LHD, I have RHD, the seat heating reverse works, the air conditioning does not turn on, the color change white and amber works.
What do you recommend ??

I changed ihka 64119311850 to ihka3 64116820235-01

and climate panel on 64119363546-02

Bmw F30 335d december 2013 RHD
Follow the instructions.

4) change car build date (Zeitkriterium) up to at least a 2015 Model Year (07/14) in VO.

5) update car to latest istep level

6) Performed a "TAL-Calculating" and then a "TAL-Processing" to update the IHKA3 BTLD, SWFL and CAFD files.

7) Run Rheingold to clear all warnings and errors before starting your vehicle.

8) Start vehicle and run it until the A/C LED stops blinking.
Appreciate 0
      11-23-2019, 05:13 PM   #100
psyki
E36fiend
United_States
264
Rep
612
Posts

Drives: 2014 435i xDrive
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Sammamish, WA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2014 435i xDrive  [0.00]
2014 X5  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by IK6SPEED View Post
Follow the instructions.

4) change car build date (Zeitkriterium) up to at least a 2015 Model Year (07/14) in VO.

5) update car to latest istep level

6) Performed a "TAL-Calculating" and then a "TAL-Processing" to update the IHKA3 BTLD, SWFL and CAFD files.

7) Run Rheingold to clear all warnings and errors before starting your vehicle.

8) Start vehicle and run it until the A/C LED stops blinking.
I think the most important thing here is step 5, if your car isn't up to a certain level then the IHKA3 may not be visible. When I retrofit IHKA3 my 2013 production year car had already been updated to a late 2015 i-step so the module appeared in e-sys, I did not have to do step 6 (aka flashing the module). I only had to inject cafd and it worked.
Appreciate 0
      11-23-2019, 05:25 PM   #101
Siwysdz
New Member
2
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: F30 335d
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Ireland

iTrader: (0)

At the beginning of the year, the car was refined to the latest version. then the mechanic coded a 6wb speedometer for me. I think it's newer since 2013
Appreciate 0
      12-03-2019, 12:38 PM   #102
Siwysdz
New Member
2
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: F30 335d
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Ireland

iTrader: (0)

Hello. How will the production date change to 07/14, update the car to the latest level, then there will be no problem with the rest of the modules ??
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2020, 08:27 AM   #103
GR_BKP
Registered
2
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: e46
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Poland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by whosagrubb View Post
Hmmmm.. My F36 has a build date of 9/14, but when I look at the IHKA module in Bimmercode it shows up as "IHKA VA02". Is that just because it's Bimmercode I'm looking at and not e-sys, or is the IHKA module in the car not the IHKA3 even though it was a late 2014 build?
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMatthewK View Post
Anyone get an answer on this? Same for me. My manufacturing date is 8/14, but BimmerCode just shows as IKHA_VA02.
I have the same "problem". My F34 is from November 2014, BimmerCode also shows IHKA_VA02, not IHKA3.
Can I try use LCI panel (64119363546) or is not possible?
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2020, 03:12 PM   #104
Andrew48
New Member
0
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: BMW 320i
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: US

iTrader: (0)

also interested:
I have F30 year 2015-03
Appreciate 0
      01-22-2020, 11:09 AM   #105
Onizukachan
Great Teacher
Onizukachan's Avatar
United_States
312
Rep
648
Posts

Drives: F31d
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: El Paso

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew48 View Post
also interested:
I have F30 year 2015-03
You are fine. Mines 2015 - build 9/2014 and it was plug n play. Only had to code the lighting.
Appreciate 0
      02-01-2020, 04:35 AM   #106
Andrew48
New Member
0
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: BMW 320i
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: US

iTrader: (0)

How to code white lightning (door panels and climate)?
I have only red, no color options in iDrive.
Appreciate 0
      02-05-2020, 10:21 AM   #107
DarthMilo
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: Jet Black F30 328i
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Miami FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GR_BKP View Post
I have the same "problem". My F34 is from November 2014, BimmerCode also shows IHKA_VA02, not IHKA3.
Can I try use LCI panel (64119363546) or is not possible?
Same here, nothing on this? I believe I'm the 3rd or 4th person asking this from reading the thread. Can any of you gentlemen from Bimmercode chime in on this? I tried this with pn: 9363545-02 as my 328 didn't come with heated seats since I'm in Miami, could it just be the part number I'm using? I kinda didn't want pointless buttons for my non existent heated seats, tbh it would just really bother me if they didn't light up which is why I opted for no heated seats button. I have a build date of 11/2014 so it should work but it's still just white, no amber
Appreciate 0
      02-05-2020, 11:29 PM   #108
Onizukachan
Great Teacher
Onizukachan's Avatar
United_States
312
Rep
648
Posts

Drives: F31d
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: El Paso

iTrader: (0)

Turn the lighting down and it will change to amber... until you can code it with bmwai or eSYS?
Appreciate 0
      02-05-2020, 11:31 PM   #109
Onizukachan
Great Teacher
Onizukachan's Avatar
United_States
312
Rep
648
Posts

Drives: F31d
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: El Paso

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew48 View Post
How to code white lightning (door panels and climate)?
I have only red, no color options in iDrive.
You donít, and this isnít about that.

You need to retrofit all the lights to have that and vo code the light package to get the option is my understanding.
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2020, 02:58 PM   #110
Andrew48
New Member
0
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: BMW 320i
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: US

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Onizukachan View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew48 View Post
How to code white lightning (door panels and climate)?
I have only red, no color options in iDrive.
You don’t, and this isn’t about that.

You need to retrofit all the lights to have that and vo code the light package to get the option is my understanding.
Door panels and climate already retrofitted.
How to code sport (white) lightning with BimmerCode?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST