F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > DIY: F30 Active Blind Spot Detection(Lane Change Warning) Retrofit
proTUNING Freaks
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-17-2020, 12:45 AM   #89
freespirit
First Lieutenant
freespirit's Avatar
70
Rep
304
Posts

Drives: f30 2016 BMW 328i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Canada

iTrader: (2)

LCW retrofit completed successfully along with Kafas2(LDW, SLI & HBA) and heated steering wheel.

However there are 3 faults in ISTA. One of them is "ZGM:No flexray initialization"

opened port 3 using tool32 --> ZGM_01.prg --> 0x03;0x01

status flexray pfad shows only 4 ports ... that's where the confusion is ... should I have 4 ports or 8 considering I have FEM high.

also left the car to sleep all night yesterday.

Name:  20200716_164717.jpg
Views: 721
Size:  442.0 KB

Also if you see the below tree ... flexray lines are used by only four modules DME, SWW, EPS and ICM. If I initialize ZGM using ISTA, ZGM comes green and SWW disappears

Name:  20200716_164323.jpg
Views: 678
Size:  429.3 KB

Do you have any advice or hint for me on how to resolve this please.

Thanks you so much in advance!
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2020, 09:03 PM   #90
freespirit
First Lieutenant
freespirit's Avatar
70
Rep
304
Posts

Drives: f30 2016 BMW 328i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Canada

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by freespirit View Post
LCW retrofit completed successfully along with Kafas2(LDW, SLI & HBA) and heated steering wheel.

However there are 3 faults in ISTA. One of them is "ZGM:No flexray initialization"

opened port 3 using tool32 --> ZGM_01.prg --> 0x03;0x01

status flexray pfad shows only 4 ports ... that's where the confusion is ... should I have 4 ports or 8 considering I have FEM high.

also left the car to sleep all night yesterday.

Attachment 2365805

Also if you see the below tree ... flexray lines are used by only four modules DME, SWW, EPS and ICM. If I initialize ZGM using ISTA, ZGM comes green and SWW disappears

Attachment 2365809

Do you have any advice or hint for me on how to resolve this please.

Thanks you so much in advance!
So this issue is now resolved.

I have retrofitted kafas2 along with LCW and that retrofit left some faults in kafas2 and DSC. Not sure if those faults has anything to do with ZGM initialization but as soon as i fixed them and brought kafas2 and DSC to green, I was able to successfully initialize ZGM without closing port 3
__________________
Click appreciate if this post has helped you

Retrofits: NBT evo ID6, 6wb cluster, heated steering wheel, HUD, Kafas2 with LDW, SLI, HBA, FCW and pedestrian warning, LCW, Surround View, Parking Assist and ACC with Stop
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2020, 05:39 AM   #91
Siki78
Private First Class
Switzerland
30
Rep
153
Posts

Drives: F30
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Zürich

iTrader: (0)

Hello! Glad to hear that👍... Did you check now status flexray pfad? Is it 4 or 8?
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2020, 09:44 AM   #92
freespirit
First Lieutenant
freespirit's Avatar
70
Rep
304
Posts

Drives: f30 2016 BMW 328i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Canada

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Siki78 View Post
Hello! Glad to hear that... Did you check now status flexray pfad? Is it 4 or 8?
Hey! It's still 4
__________________
Click appreciate if this post has helped you

Retrofits: NBT evo ID6, 6wb cluster, heated steering wheel, HUD, Kafas2 with LDW, SLI, HBA, FCW and pedestrian warning, LCW, Surround View, Parking Assist and ACC with Stop
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2020, 10:09 AM   #93
Siki78
Private First Class
Switzerland
30
Rep
153
Posts

Drives: F30
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Zürich

iTrader: (0)

What is than different between mid and high? I thought because of flexray port but now🤔 Why I can not install it on mid fem?

Last edited by Siki78; 07-21-2020 at 10:14 AM..
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2020, 10:41 AM   #94
freespirit
First Lieutenant
freespirit's Avatar
70
Rep
304
Posts

Drives: f30 2016 BMW 328i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Canada

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Siki78 View Post
What is than different between mid and high? I thought because of flexray port but now🤔 Why I can not install it on mid fem?
Good question ... why not 8 ports though i have FEM high... I don't have an answer for that but based on wiring diagram reviews and modules present in my car, it makes sense to me that 4 ports are enough.

Based on my car model (2016 328i)
ICM, DSC modules uses --> FR_BP_0, FR_BM_0 --> that's port 0
EPS --> FR_BP_1, FR_BM_1 --> that's port 1
EDC --> FR_BP_2, FR_BM_2 --> that's port 2
SWW (LCW) --> FR_BP_3, FR_BM_3 --> that's port 3

If you notice my car's ISTA module tree in previous post, I don't have EDC so that's the reason port 2 is inactive in my car. So its clear that to make LCW work what i just need to do is to activate port 3.

If you can pm me your last 7 digits of VIN and your ISTA module tree, I may be able to check whether you need extra ports for LCW or not.
__________________
Click appreciate if this post has helped you

Retrofits: NBT evo ID6, 6wb cluster, heated steering wheel, HUD, Kafas2 with LDW, SLI, HBA, FCW and pedestrian warning, LCW, Surround View, Parking Assist and ACC with Stop
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2020, 03:56 PM   #95
Siki78
Private First Class
Switzerland
30
Rep
153
Posts

Drives: F30
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Zürich

iTrader: (0)

I will send you today evening when I finish with work you can take a time and look inside. Thanks
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2020, 09:55 PM   #96
freespirit
First Lieutenant
freespirit's Avatar
70
Rep
304
Posts

Drives: f30 2016 BMW 328i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Canada

iTrader: (2)

Does anybody know the code to enable the cool little animation that come up on idrive screen when LCW switch is pressed. I got the animation working when i coded the headunit the first time, but i have retrofitted NBT evo system so when i recoded to make the retrofitted unit to work properly, the animation disappeared.

Below is the reference animation to show what i am talking about but they are for LDW and FCW...

Name:  20200726_214453.jpg
Views: 619
Size:  236.5 KB

Name:  20200726_214511.jpg
Views: 610
Size:  272.0 KB
__________________
Click appreciate if this post has helped you

Retrofits: NBT evo ID6, 6wb cluster, heated steering wheel, HUD, Kafas2 with LDW, SLI, HBA, FCW and pedestrian warning, LCW, Surround View, Parking Assist and ACC with Stop
Appreciate 0
      10-21-2020, 10:24 AM   #97
sardor.lee
Registered
South Korea
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: LCI E90 320d ED, F10 528i
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Dongtan

iTrader: (0)

Excellent!!!

Thank you for the detailed description about LCW D.I.Y.

I'm planning to do this retrofit for my F10
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2021, 12:16 PM   #98
Amazdeal
New Member
0
Rep
15
Posts

Drives: 328i
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

Can i retrofit it without mirrors? or even the elctronics are required
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2021, 01:52 PM   #99
freespirit
First Lieutenant
freespirit's Avatar
70
Rep
304
Posts

Drives: f30 2016 BMW 328i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Canada

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amazdeal View Post
Can i retrofit it without mirrors? or even the elctronics are required
Without Mirrors and steering wheel vibration electronics, how will you get notified about a vehicle in your blindspot?
__________________
Click appreciate if this post has helped you

Retrofits: NBT evo ID6, 6wb cluster, heated steering wheel, HUD, Kafas2 with LDW, SLI, HBA, FCW and pedestrian warning, LCW, Surround View, Parking Assist and ACC with Stop
Appreciate 0
      03-17-2021, 01:43 AM   #100
Amazdeal
New Member
0
Rep
15
Posts

Drives: 328i
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by freespirit View Post
Without Mirrors and steering wheel vibration electronics, how will you get notified about a vehicle in your blindspot?
Hey, i mean mirrors and mirror electronics. I got vibro steering wheel. But I would prefer to stay with the mirrors I already changed.
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2021, 05:38 AM   #101
tallandrew
New Member
0
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: m sport 330d
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: germany

iTrader: (0)

can't understand the connectors

i can't get the wire connectors into the sockets need help as the car is in parts and this is blocking progress.

bought
61138373632 connector socket
61130005199 bushing contact





I see now the connector socket in the original description is 61138373630 for some reason i ordered the 632 seems. The 632 seem looks the same and fits onto the radar fine. BMW ETK suggest the same 199 bushing contacts for both 630 and 632 sockets.

http://www.bmw-etk.info/parts-catalo...40/61138373632

can anyone tell me how to get these guys into the connectors or which bushing contacts to buy as an alternative to the 61130005199. preferably without the wire as i want to use OEM wire colors and gauges.
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2021, 06:29 AM   #102
Siki78
Private First Class
Switzerland
30
Rep
153
Posts

Drives: F30
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Zürich

iTrader: (0)

You will need to pull out this green peace inside a connector and unlock then you will be enable to put pin in connector
__________________
Successfully retrofit on BMW F30 335xi 248,302,3AG,430,5AG,5AS,6NS,8TH and ASD
Appreciate 0
      09-23-2021, 01:35 AM   #103
tallandrew
New Member
0
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: m sport 330d
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: germany

iTrader: (0)

thanks for the fast reply, you saved me many more hours of looking for a different connector bushings.



it was a pig to get open without damaging it. you have to pry back the 4 tabs which are visible on the back surface where the wires enter the connector. while prying them back maintain pressure on the coloured part with your thumb, so that the tabs don't re-engage. once the 2 parts of the body are separated you can slide the pink lock out and instal the connectors with a satisfying click.

the picture shows the original BMW 61130005199 bushing, unfortunately they came with a preinstalled wire, I plan to use MQS Fakra connectors with weather seals for final installation. This will allow me to use longer coloured wires and avoid extra joints.

I'm now waiting for the correct crimping tool from amazon. maybe I should have paid the express shipping.
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2021, 11:38 PM   #104
ztomov
New Member
1
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 320xDrive
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

iTrader: (0)

Is FEM MID compatible with blind spot detection?

Hello, can someone confirm - is it possible to retrofit blind spot detection of F30 LCI with MID FEM? I have checked with Tool32 and currently port 3 is closed. Ports 0, 1 are open.

I checked my FEM - A173*8B connector:

Pins 9, 10, 23, 24, 27, 28 are not occupied.

Also it seems that the wiring harness which goes to headlights switch already has the connector for Driver Assistance switch (was wrapped with tape).

My car has automatic mirrors with heating and auto dimming function.

Should I proceed with this retrofit and start buying the required part? I do not want to change my FEM with FEM HIGH.

Last edited by ztomov; 10-15-2021 at 11:17 PM..
Appreciate 0
      10-13-2021, 12:53 AM   #105
freespirit
First Lieutenant
freespirit's Avatar
70
Rep
304
Posts

Drives: f30 2016 BMW 328i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Canada

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ztomov View Post
Hello, can someone confirm - is it possible to retrofit blind spot detection of F30 LCI with MID FEM? I have checked with Tool32 and currently port 3 is closed. Ports 0, 1, 2 are open.

I checked my FEM - A173*8B connector:

Pins 9, 10, 23, 24, 27, 28 are not occupied.

Also it seems that the wiring harness which goes to headlights switch already has the connector for Driver Assistance switch (was wrapped with tape).

My car has automatic mirrors with heating and auto dimming function.

Should I proceed with this retrofit and start buying the required part? I do not want to change my FEM with FEM HIGH.
Based on my experience… the features you explained with fem, wiring and mirrors exactly match with my f30 LCI and I can confirm yes the retrofit works perfectly fine.

I would check one last think though before starting. I don't know what's the confusion around FEM high and mid … I have the exact same ports 0,1,2 & 3 but on top of the module it says fem high. So take a look at the FEM module and see what it says.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Click appreciate if this post has helped you

Retrofits: NBT evo ID6, 6wb cluster, heated steering wheel, HUD, Kafas2 with LDW, SLI, HBA, FCW and pedestrian warning, LCW, Surround View, Parking Assist and ACC with Stop
Appreciate 0
      10-13-2021, 11:02 PM   #106
ztomov
New Member
1
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 320xDrive
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

iTrader: (0)

freespirit - thanks for the info. Unfortunately I've already checked and my FEM is MID.
Appreciate 0
      10-14-2021, 09:22 AM   #107
Siki78
Private First Class
Switzerland
30
Rep
153
Posts

Drives: F30
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Zürich

iTrader: (0)

FEM MID is ok you can install LCW on you car
__________________
Successfully retrofit on BMW F30 335xi 248,302,3AG,430,5AG,5AS,6NS,8TH and ASD
Appreciate 0
      10-20-2021, 11:50 AM   #108
jkwhar
Captain
152
Rep
677
Posts

Drives: F30 328i Xdrive | F15 x35i
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Central NJ

iTrader: (7)

Just throwing it out there, I have a complete KAFAS2 retrofit kit for sale if anyone is interested!
__________________
Did my post help? Click "Appreciate!"

FOR SALE! Sport line Steering wheel with heated, paddle shifter, vibration motor, no airbag | EDM Bi-Xenon adaptive headlights (SOLD) | surround view retrofit kit (sold) | KAFAS2 camera and ECU | FLA camera(sold) | 6WB cluster (SOLD)
Appreciate 0
      11-07-2021, 10:51 AM   #109
PisuM
New Member
Romania
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: 320D
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Bucharest

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by freespirit View Post
So this issue is now resolved.

I have retrofitted kafas2 along with LCW and that retrofit left some faults in kafas2 and DSC. Not sure if those faults has anything to do with ZGM initialization but as soon as i fixed them and brought kafas2 and DSC to green, I was able to successfully initialize ZGM without closing port 3
Hi freespirit

can you please share how you fixed the ZGM error with flexray reinitialization?
I have the same issue , retrofited LCW with all the steps but after opening the port 3 with Tool32 , the error on zgw remains and if i will do the reinitialization then then the SWW disappears.
Appreciate 0
      11-07-2021, 11:00 AM   #110
Siki78
Private First Class
Switzerland
30
Rep
153
Posts

Drives: F30
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Zürich

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PisuM View Post
Hi freespirit

can you please share how you fixed the ZGM error with flexray reinitialization?
I have the same issue , retrofited LCW with all the steps but after opening the port 3 with Tool32 , the error on zgw remains and if i will do the reinitialization then then the SWW disappears.
I can help you write me pm
__________________
Successfully retrofit on BMW F30 335xi 248,302,3AG,430,5AG,5AS,6NS,8TH and ASD
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
5ag, blind spot detection, lane change warning, steelerfan

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST