F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Suspension | Chassis | Brakes > Error lights after spring install
Extreme Powerhouse
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-16-2013, 03:30 PM   #1
_r4_
New Member
Finland
2
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: F31 320i 13/1
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Finland

iTrader: (0)

Question Error lights after spring install

Just install H&R springs to my F31. Drove off and all these error lights pop up to my dashboard. Any ideas what can cause this? I also tried to reset the tire pressure monitor but it only gives me FTM system error!
And what the he.. that check engine light doing in there!
Check control:
- Brake system. drive mo...
- Flat tyre monitor (RPA) ...


Last edited by _r4_; 03-16-2013 at 03:38 PM.. Reason: Updating...
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2013, 04:54 PM   #2
MikeVictor
Brigadier General
Australia
180
Rep
3,286
Posts

Drives: anything given a chance
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: .au

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I'm guessing you probably disconnected a few things without disconnecting the battery first?

You might need to find a mate with a code clearing tool or take the car to your dealer to make the bad lights go away.
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2013, 06:36 PM   #3
OCcaraholic
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
24
Posts

Drives: 2012 328i
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Irvine, CA

iTrader: (0)

I'm guessing you broke one of the ABS sensor wires on one (or more) of the axles while replacing the springs unless you unplugged one and forgot to plug it back in.
__________________
2012 328i Sport - Mineral White - Coral Red - Xenon - H/K - PDC - Surround View - BMW Assist w/ Enhanced BT - Premium Package - Fold Down Rear Seat
Appreciate 0
      03-17-2013, 07:16 AM   #4
_r4_
New Member
Finland
2
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: F31 320i 13/1
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Finland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dabaitu View Post
I'm guessing you probably disconnected a few things without disconnecting the battery first?

You might need to find a mate with a code clearing tool or take the car to your dealer to make the bad lights go away.
Maybe you are right! I didnt disconnect the battery. Does F3x have any warning lights reset option like E9x has?
Appreciate 0
      03-18-2013, 06:52 AM   #5
MikeVictor
Brigadier General
Australia
180
Rep
3,286
Posts

Drives: anything given a chance
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: .au

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by _r4_ View Post
Maybe you are right! I didnt disconnect the battery. Does F3x have any warning lights reset option like E9x has?
Not in itself. You need the right software and a cable or BT dongle to hookup to your OBDII port (in the drivers side foot-well).
Appreciate 0
      03-18-2013, 10:38 AM   #6
_r4_
New Member
Finland
2
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: F31 320i 13/1
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Finland

iTrader: (0)

Ok, have to do that. If i'm understand right, nobody else hasn't had any problem after spring install?
Appreciate 0
      03-18-2013, 06:26 PM   #7
mikew2069
Lieutenant Colonel
mikew2069's Avatar
356
Rep
1,877
Posts

Drives: F30 335i MSport
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Houston

iTrader: (2)

No problems here and I didn't unhook my battery. Make sure all of the sensors on the shocks/struts are securely and properly replaced
__________________
2013 F30 335i ///M-Sport
Forgestar/Challenge/BMS JB4
Wagner/Evo Race/M-Performance
2016 F15 50i ///M-Sport
BM3/H&R/Borla
Appreciate 0
      03-19-2013, 02:51 PM   #8
_r4_
New Member
Finland
2
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: F31 320i 13/1
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Finland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikew2069 View Post
No problems here and I didn't unhook my battery. Make sure all of the sensors on the shocks/struts are securely and properly replaced
Thats confirm that i had to do something wrong. Do you have xenons? Was your xenon height adjustment right after spring install?

These fault code we find, P15C9 and P15DD.

P15DD - Vehicle speed, wheelspeed sensor right/rear
P15C9 What this is ???
Appreciate 0
      03-19-2013, 04:19 PM   #9
sydande
Private First Class
9
Rep
182
Posts

Drives: F30 335i
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by _r4_ View Post
Thats confirm that i had to do something wrong. Do you have xenons? Was your xenon height adjustment right after spring install?

These fault code we find, P15C9 and P15DD.

P15DD - Vehicle speed, wheelspeed sensor right/rear
P15C9 What this is ???
i think you didnt plug all the abs sensors back...check if all the abs sensors are plugged in correctly lol
Appreciate 0
      03-19-2013, 06:01 PM   #10
mikew2069
Lieutenant Colonel
mikew2069's Avatar
356
Rep
1,877
Posts

Drives: F30 335i MSport
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Houston

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by _r4_ View Post
Thats confirm that i had to do something wrong. Do you have xenons? Was your xenon height adjustment right after spring install?

These fault code we find, P15C9 and P15DD.

P15DD - Vehicle speed, wheelspeed sensor right/rear
P15C9 What this is ???
Yes I have Xenons and they seem high now. I need to adjust them but I haven't b/c it doesn't bother me - it only bothers oncoming traffic

I think you should go to every corner, unplug all sensors, blow in them to make sure there's not dust or debri and reconnect. I can't see how it is anything else unless you somehow clipped a line or something but I don't even see how that could've happened.
__________________
2013 F30 335i ///M-Sport
Forgestar/Challenge/BMS JB4
Wagner/Evo Race/M-Performance
2016 F15 50i ///M-Sport
BM3/H&R/Borla
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2013, 12:01 AM   #11
_r4_
New Member
Finland
2
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: F31 320i 13/1
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Finland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sydande View Post
i think you didnt plug all the abs sensors back...check if all the abs sensors are plugged in correctly lol
All the sensors are plugged in, i have checked tree times now
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2013, 05:27 AM   #12
PeterM
Private First Class
16
Rep
174
Posts

Drives: bmw 335i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Find out the code and see what sensor is bad, you probably pulled the wires too much and it ripped inside. So they all look find but the wiring is back.
__________________
2013 EB2 335i 6MT
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST