F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Mechanical Maintenance and TSBs: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing / TSBs and Service Bulletin > Schwaben BMW Scanner: cannot read VIN
European Auto Source (EAS)
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-01-2018, 05:17 PM   #1
cfm56d7b
Major General
United_States
1899
Rep
5,075
Posts

Drives: 2017 440i Gran Coupe & 2015 X5
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orange County, CA

iTrader: (2)

My vehicle: 2017 BMW 440i GC.

Schwaben scanner software has the latest software.

For some reason, automatic VIN recognition does not work. I have to select 4 series and then F36 code.

Anyone else having the same issue?
Appreciate 0
      09-01-2018, 09:19 PM   #2
Billfitz
Major General
Billfitz's Avatar
United_States
3677
Rep
8,663
Posts

Drives: '15 328iX GT
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: New Hampshire

iTrader: (0)

My Foxwell NT510 has never read the VIN, it just spins its wheels. I just enter the chassis code manually.
Appreciate 0
      09-01-2018, 10:14 PM   #3
cfm56d7b
Major General
United_States
1899
Rep
5,075
Posts

Drives: 2017 440i Gran Coupe & 2015 X5
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orange County, CA

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billfitz View Post
My Foxwell NT510 has never read the VIN, it just spins its wheels. I just enter the chassis code manually.
Thanks for sharing. Very unusual. I submitted a question to Foxwell technical support.
Appreciate 0
      09-04-2018, 11:59 AM   #4
IraHayes
First Lieutenant
United_States
120
Rep
312
Posts

Drives: 328i
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cfm56d7b View Post
Thanks for sharing. Very unusual. I submitted a question to Foxwell technical support.
Please let us know what they say. I recently purchased a Schwaben unit myself.
Appreciate 0
      09-30-2018, 04:35 PM   #5
Sweeney921
Second Lieutenant
Sweeney921's Avatar
93
Rep
227
Posts

Drives: 2000 BMW E39 M5
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I submitted a question to Schwaben almost a year ago for this exact issue, and they told me it would be resolved by a software update in "3-4 months."

Still can't detect the vin
Appreciate 0
      01-05-2019, 06:18 AM   #6
Sweeney921
Second Lieutenant
Sweeney921's Avatar
93
Rep
227
Posts

Drives: 2000 BMW E39 M5
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billfitz View Post
My Foxwell NT510 has never read the VIN, it just spins its wheels. I just enter the chassis code manually.
My NT510 does the same thing, but none of the options within the BMW app(?) function correctly after manually entering the chassis code. It's only been useful as an OBD II reader, so I'm working with ECS to do an exchange. If that doesn't work then I'm going to figure out how to use ISTA.
Appreciate 0
      01-05-2019, 09:01 AM   #7
Billfitz
Major General
Billfitz's Avatar
United_States
3677
Rep
8,663
Posts

Drives: '15 328iX GT
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: New Hampshire

iTrader: (0)

My functions all work, so I can't say why yours don't.
Appreciate 0
      01-22-2019, 12:10 AM   #8
E36M3
New Member
8
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: 97 M3, '14 335i, '12 X3 35i
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Here

iTrader: (0)

I returned a Foxwell (they make the Schwaben) NT520 Pro because it would never do anything on the BMW software side. The OBDII portion worked but even manually entering the VIN on my F30 wouldn't work for the BMW specific functions. Bought it specifically to code a replacement injector and despite working with Foxwell for over a month trying to resolve the issue I had to use ISTA instead and return the NT520 Pro.

Fair warnings no though: they charged me a 10% restocking fee even though their product never worked as advertised.
Appreciate 0
      01-22-2019, 07:24 AM   #9
Sweeney921
Second Lieutenant
Sweeney921's Avatar
93
Rep
227
Posts

Drives: 2000 BMW E39 M5
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
ECS exchanged my NT510 for no cost (Thanks!), but the replacement didn't change anything. Still can't detect the VIN or use most of the BMW software, but OBDII works great. I'm gonna hold onto it for when the battery and/or transfer case fluid needs to be replaced. Hopefully those adaptation functions will work with this scan tool....
__________________
2017 BMW 330i Sport Wagon - M-sport, EBII, THP, DHP
Supersprint cat-back exhaust (resonated, dual outlet) - H&R rear sway bar - ER charge pipe
Waiting for: Bootmod3 - xHP Flashtool - xDelete
Appreciate 0
      01-22-2019, 07:34 AM   #10
Billfitz
Major General
Billfitz's Avatar
United_States
3677
Rep
8,663
Posts

Drives: '15 328iX GT
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: New Hampshire

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E36M3 View Post
I returned a Foxwell (they make the Schwaben) NT520 Pro because it would never do anything on the BMW software side.
Did you load it with BMW software? I don't know about the 520, but the 510 does not come pre-loaded with it. You have to download it from the Foxwell site, transfer it to the sim card using the USB adapter than come with the unit, then put the sim card into the NT510. The instructions that come with the NT510 are very vague on this point, so vague that I didn't figure it out until I went to the Foxwell support site and found it, and a lot of other useful information as well.
http://www.foxwellsupport.com/tag/foxwell-nt510/
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2019, 07:41 AM   #11
IraHayes
First Lieutenant
United_States
120
Rep
312
Posts

Drives: 328i
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sweeney921 View Post
ECS exchanged my NT510 for no cost (Thanks!), but the replacement didn't change anything. Still can't detect the VIN or use most of the BMW software, but OBDII works great. I'm gonna hold onto it for when the battery and/or transfer case fluid needs to be replaced. Hopefully those adaptation functions will work with this scan tool....
Same with me. Excellent customer service. New one works like it’s supposed to.

Last edited by IraHayes; 01-23-2019 at 09:02 PM.. Reason: Typo
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2019, 07:42 AM   #12
n00bkiller944
Second Lieutenant
58
Rep
252
Posts

Drives: '14 328d M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Richmond, VA

iTrader: (0)

Weird enough my 510 can never read my VIN the first try. If I go back after failure and hit automatic again it will pull the vin right up!
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2019, 10:52 AM   #13
MacklinUSOB
Captain
United_States
415
Rep
772
Posts

Drives: f30 328i 6MT Sport
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Connecticut

iTrader: (0)

My Schwaben doesn't read the VIN either but I just went through the menus and selected F30, all worked as advertised from there.
__________________
Add 5 horsepower for every M logo

328i RWD | Sportline | CRed on MW | 6MT | BM3 STG 1 | MPE | GPlus FMIC | Millway Camber Plates | KW V2 | F80 LCA/TS | APEX SM-10 | R-S4 | Hawk HP+ | RBF600 | SS Lines |
Past: E36 328is & E38 740i
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2019, 09:47 PM   #14
E36M3
New Member
8
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: 97 M3, '14 335i, '12 X3 35i
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Here

iTrader: (0)

Billfitz,

Yes I downloaded the BMW software and installed it successfully to the micro SD card. The NT520 Pro showed it installed but when trying to use the BMW software it wouldn't communicate with my 2014 F30 335I or my 2012 X3 35I. I uninstalled the software, downloaded it again and still didn't work. Foxwell opened an engineer ticket and a month went by. Finally got a reply to try and download the new update which I did and that made no difference. Ended up returning it as the BMW software never worked.

Despite their product never working as advertised they insisted on charging me a 10% restocking fee. I purchased direct from FoxwellTool.com and would not recommend them.
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2019, 10:12 PM   #15
the dope steez
Captain
Canada
371
Rep
808
Posts

Drives: F30 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Shredmonton, Illberta

iTrader: (0)

Mine doesn't auto detect the VIN either.. but as far as I can tell all the normal functionality works. That said I haven't dug into anything too advanced beyond resetting CBS monitors..

Originally I bought it for my E90 and it worked great and would auto detect the VIN.
Appreciate 0
      07-14-2019, 06:46 PM   #16
ovsa
New Member
5
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: 2014 328i xdrive
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: calgary, alberta

iTrader: (0)

2014 BMW 328i xdrive F30

I've been struggling with my NT520 Pro for the past few months. I thought maybe I was a slow learner but I cant seem to get it to do half of what they claim it will do.
It does read some DTC codes but i cant get it to read any of the CBS displays or reset anything.
My idrive is telling me I need to flush my brake fluid.
Doesn't even show up on the Foxwell, let alone reset it.
I get alot of "function not support " messages

i have installed and uninstalled the BMW and OS software several times but the scanner gets stuck on "Updating" forever so i don't know if its loading or not.

I tried to send a couple of support tickets in to Foxwell and all i get is a "network error" message.

I have been back and forth with Foxwell support several times and the last thing they told me was the scanner is not compatible with the F30 vehicle. WTF??

Forget trying to get a refund, they told me i should try to sell it to someone else.

Not sure if i got a dud or these scanner are shit and don't do half of what they advertise to do.

It also freeze on "communicating with vehicle"

Anyone else having these issues?

Thanks
Appreciate 1
sspade1703.50

      07-15-2019, 07:38 PM   #17
IraHayes
First Lieutenant
United_States
120
Rep
312
Posts

Drives: 328i
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ovsa View Post
2014 BMW 328i xdrive F30

I've been struggling with my NT520 Pro for the past few months. I thought maybe I was a slow learner but I cant seem to get it to do half of what they claim it will do.
It does read some DTC codes but i cant get it to read any of the CBS displays or reset anything.
My idrive is telling me I need to flush my brake fluid.
Doesn't even show up on the Foxwell, let alone reset it.
I get alot of "function not support " messages

i have installed and uninstalled the BMW and OS software several times but the scanner gets stuck on "Updating" forever so i don't know if its loading or not.

I tried to send a couple of support tickets in to Foxwell and all i get is a "network error" message.

I have been back and forth with Foxwell support several times and the last thing they told me was the scanner is not compatible with the F30 vehicle. WTF??

Forget trying to get a refund, they told me i should try to sell it to someone else.

Not sure if i got a dud or these scanner are shit and don't do half of what they advertise to do.

It also freeze on "communicating with vehicle"

Anyone else having these issues?

Thanks
I had a similar issue. I bought mine from ECS. They replaced it, and the one I received seems to be working fine now. That said, I will likely be upgrading to a Launch X431 pro mini in the next month or so. Im a former tech, and work on all my friends and relatives cars, so I need something with a lot more utility, functionality, and versatility to work on several makes of cars.
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2019, 09:54 PM   #18
EricD735i
Private
United_States
8
Rep
57
Posts

Drives: 16 328d & 16 X3 28d
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Minneapolis transplant

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by n00bkiller944 View Post
Weird enough my 510 can never read my VIN the first try. If I go back after failure and hit automatic again it will pull the vin right up!
Same here. Always pops right up on second try. I just plug it in and come back a few minutes later.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST