F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > F30/F20 TPMS Retrofit
Vorsteiner
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-04-2016, 12:01 PM   #45
Kabrich
Banned
United_States
308
Rep
1,999
Posts

Drives: '13 AH3 (335IH) 3F93 MSport
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Florida

iTrader: (6)

Could someone explain why one would want to upgrade TPMS sensors from pre-2014 version to 2014+ frequencies/versions?

As pre-2014 sensors are widely available it does not make sense to me as this "upgrade" really gives you the same results you had before, unless I am missing something
Appreciate 0
      11-07-2016, 03:32 AM   #46
THE_AVIATOR
Private
THE_AVIATOR's Avatar
Egypt
5
Rep
95
Posts

Drives: F30 320i LCI M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Egypt

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kabrich View Post
Could someone explain why one would want to upgrade TPMS sensors from pre-2014 version to 2014+ frequencies/versions?

As pre-2014 sensors are widely available it does not make sense to me as this "upgrade" really gives you the same results you had before, unless I am missing something
Some cars don't have TPMS, just RPA (Flat Tyre Monitoring). So this is actually a retrofit.
Appreciate 0
      11-08-2016, 03:46 PM   #47
Gabrola
First Lieutenant
Gabrola's Avatar
148
Rep
311
Posts

Drives: 340i
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Egypt

iTrader: (0)

According to BMW docs RDC is integrated into the DSC control unit. Meaning you'll only need to install the sensors and add 2VB to FA and VO code ICM, KOMBI, DSC and NBT.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by Gabrola; 11-08-2016 at 05:24 PM.
Appreciate 1
      11-09-2016, 04:08 AM   #48
THE_AVIATOR
Private
THE_AVIATOR's Avatar
Egypt
5
Rep
95
Posts

Drives: F30 320i LCI M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Egypt

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabrola View Post
According to BMW docs RDC is integrated into the DSC control unit. Meaning you'll only need to install the sensors and add 2VB to FA and VO code ICM, KOMBI, DSC and NBT.
You did that to your car? You're Y. Gaber on F30 club, right?
Appreciate 0
      11-09-2016, 02:38 PM   #49
Gabrola
First Lieutenant
Gabrola's Avatar
148
Rep
311
Posts

Drives: 340i
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Egypt

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by THE_AVIATOR View Post
You did that to your car? You're Y. Gaber on F30 club, right?
Not yet, was still eyeballing the idea until recently. I was also confused by the lack of part numbers for the control unit in ETK until I looked up the technical docs. And yes, I am
Appreciate 0
      11-20-2016, 07:09 AM   #50
THE_AVIATOR
Private
THE_AVIATOR's Avatar
Egypt
5
Rep
95
Posts

Drives: F30 320i LCI M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Egypt

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by atzebmw View Post
No.
These codings can be found in all cars, also with no TPMS.
atzebmw It worked. Just the Sensors, part # 36106856209

Did the coding, drove for 2Km and it's working
Appreciate 0
      11-20-2016, 07:17 AM   #51
atzebmw
Captain
Germany
129
Rep
649
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by THE_AVIATOR View Post
atzebmw It worked. Just the Sensors, part # 36106856209

Did the coding, drove for 2Km and it's working
Ah that's great.
But i still don't understand why your car had not installed this as standard?
Appreciate 1
      11-20-2016, 07:26 AM   #52
THE_AVIATOR
Private
THE_AVIATOR's Avatar
Egypt
5
Rep
95
Posts

Drives: F30 320i LCI M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Egypt

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by atzebmw View Post
Ah that's great.
But i still don't understand why your car had not installed this as standard?
It's assembled in Egypt, and it's not a requirement, I guess that's why. But, a very neat option to have
Appreciate 0
      11-20-2016, 08:10 AM   #53
atzebmw
Captain
Germany
129
Rep
649
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by THE_AVIATOR View Post
It's assembled in Egypt, and it's not a requirement, I guess that's why. But, a very neat option to have
OK, now i think i understand.
Appreciate 0
      11-20-2016, 09:28 AM   #54
THE_AVIATOR
Private
THE_AVIATOR's Avatar
Egypt
5
Rep
95
Posts

Drives: F30 320i LCI M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Egypt

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by atzebmw View Post
OK, now i think i understand.
Thanks a lot for your efforts
Appreciate 0
      11-20-2016, 12:14 PM   #55
Gabrola
First Lieutenant
Gabrola's Avatar
148
Rep
311
Posts

Drives: 340i
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Egypt

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by THE_AVIATOR View Post
atzebmw It worked. Just the Sensors, part # 36106856209

Did the coding, drove for 2Km and it's working
Did you need to calibrate the sensors using ISTA or did it work right off the bat after coding 2VB?
Appreciate 0
      11-20-2016, 01:37 PM   #56
Lancelot
Captain
France
311
Rep
983
Posts

Drives: 2014 M Sport ActiveHybrid3
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

No need, it works right away after a little driving.
Appreciate 0
      11-20-2016, 04:41 PM   #57
THE_AVIATOR
Private
THE_AVIATOR's Avatar
Egypt
5
Rep
95
Posts

Drives: F30 320i LCI M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Egypt

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabrola View Post
Did you need to calibrate the sensors using ISTA or did it work right off the bat after coding 2VB?
Works right off the bat (Scott Smith style). Had to drive for 2KM though. I coded manually, since VO Coding would delete many previous codings.

Keep in mind after coding to delete fault codes generated during coding, since the reset of ICM records a fault in many modules.
Appreciate 0
      11-22-2016, 10:31 PM   #58
Gabrola
First Lieutenant
Gabrola's Avatar
148
Rep
311
Posts

Drives: 340i
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Egypt

iTrader: (0)

Awesome! Thanks guys.
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2016, 11:35 AM   #59
gup
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
43
Posts

Drives: f20
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: gr

iTrader: (0)

Hi does anyone knows if this can work for 2013 F20 too?
I don't have TPMS at all right know.
Do I need JUST the 4 sensors for my tires and codding or
I also need the TPMS antenna and wiring too?

If it is only the 4 sensors please give me an ebay link or the part numbers

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2016, 01:44 PM   #60
atzebmw
Captain
Germany
129
Rep
649
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gup View Post
Hi does anyone knows if this can work for 2013 F20 too?
I don't have TPMS at all right know.
Do I need JUST the 4 sensors for my tires and codding or
I also need the TPMS antenna and wiring too?

If it is only the 4 sensors please give me an ebay link or the part numbers

Thanks
It should work for F20 too, because the F20 has the same ecus like the F30.
But for a 2013 model you need the 4 sensors and the TPMS ecu/antenna and the coding.
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2016, 02:53 PM   #61
gup
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
43
Posts

Drives: f20
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: gr

iTrader: (0)

Thanks. I was afraid so.. Dont think it is worth the money and the efford if i need the antenna and wiring also.. Do you know which antenna would fit?
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2016, 03:30 PM   #62
atzebmw
Captain
Germany
129
Rep
649
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gup View Post
Thanks. I was afraid so.. Dont think it is worth the money and the efford if i need the antenna and wiring also.. Do you know which antenna would fit?

I quote myself from side 1:

Quote:
Originally Posted by atzebmw View Post
So, now that my account is unlocked, I can help you finally.
I retrofitted the tpms on my F30 from 02/2014 successfully.
I tried many things.
But on the end only one combination worked.
I installed the control unit 6876227 together with the sensors 6856227.
The connection of the cables and the codings are the same for me.
In my attempts I also tried the sensors 6855539, but it also didn't work.
These sensors are for cars after 03/2014.
I hope this is helpful.
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2016, 03:32 PM   #63
gup
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
43
Posts

Drives: f20
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: gr

iTrader: (0)

Thanks just wanted to be sure
Appreciate 0
      12-03-2016, 09:47 AM   #64
Lancelot
Captain
France
311
Rep
983
Posts

Drives: 2014 M Sport ActiveHybrid3
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

Quoting myself too:

ECU 6855180 + 4 sensors 6798872 work perfectly on my F30 (MY 2014 prod 12/2013).
__________________
2014 M Sport ActiveHybrid 3
M Performance BBK - F80 CFRP struts brace - Quaife LSD - KW DDC coilovers - Akrapovic Exhaust - HJS EU6 downpipe - Wagner Evo2 Comp IC - BMC air filter - Powerflex Black Subframe Bushings - Bimmertech amp with Focal speakers
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2017, 08:23 AM   #65
anom3
Captain
139
Rep
857
Posts

Drives: 2007 M3
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Behind the wheel

iTrader: (0)

Hello.

I would like to retrofit this.

I see that its possible to tap the canbus wires from my rear view camera. Or maybe REM module?

Does someone want to confirm? I would really rather not have to pull new wires to the FEM and take apart many panels on the right side of the vehicle.

Also, does anyone have the part numbers for the plug and cables?

Thanks!
__________________
07.07 Production E92 M3 :: Akrapovic XPipe + Rear End | BPMTune Stage 2 Tune | 3M 1080 Metallic Blue Wrap | Black BBS CH-R's | Michellin Pilot Super Sports | Performance Steering Wheel v2.0 | FLA Retrofit | CIC+Combox Retrofit | OEM Carbon Splitters | CF Gills | OEM Black Gloss Grills | MS-8 DSP + HD900/5 Amplifier + JL Audio 12" | LCI Tails Retrofit | Ultimate Clutch Pedal + Clutch Stop | Leatherz M5 Weighted Shift Knob | Much more...

Last edited by anom3; 01-15-2017 at 09:06 AM.
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2017, 10:24 AM   #66
anom3
Captain
139
Rep
857
Posts

Drives: 2007 M3
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Behind the wheel

iTrader: (0)

So I am going to attempt this.

I have ordered everything needed, should be here before end of the week.

BTW, the cable is: http://www.ebay.de/itm/Reparatursatz...-/151906154974

Also, I am going to try an 'easy' method of doing this.

I have a CIC, so this will NOT work for NBT since the NBT idrive controller is KCAN2.

But, the CIC idrive controller is KCAN1. I will attach the TPMS controller to the same plug as the idrive controller. Easy install

Also, the iDrive controller has its own 5 Amp fuse, I do not think it pulls 5 Amps @ 12V. So I will take power from there as well Maybe I will upgrade the fuse to 7.5 Amps as well, probably not unless the fuse blows. They are both KL30B BTW, so that should be no problem.

I think as far as the module "working", it should be no problem. The only possible issue I can think of is the 433mhz signal will have to pass through the body of the car since the module will be inside the car. Should be ok though, since in 2014+ cars, the TPMS reciever is in the DSC module. So for example right rear tire to DSC has to go through quite a bit more of the car then the method I will be attempting. Also bimmer retrofit dot com sells a TPMS retrofit unit, and although I do not know for sure, it looks like it sits "inside" the car. And also there is available quite a few of those made-in-china units that use a lighter adapter to read TPMS data. So I think the reciever being inside the car SHOULD be ok.

Will post my results when its all in.

Wish me luck!
__________________
07.07 Production E92 M3 :: Akrapovic XPipe + Rear End | BPMTune Stage 2 Tune | 3M 1080 Metallic Blue Wrap | Black BBS CH-R's | Michellin Pilot Super Sports | Performance Steering Wheel v2.0 | FLA Retrofit | CIC+Combox Retrofit | OEM Carbon Splitters | CF Gills | OEM Black Gloss Grills | MS-8 DSP + HD900/5 Amplifier + JL Audio 12" | LCI Tails Retrofit | Ultimate Clutch Pedal + Clutch Stop | Leatherz M5 Weighted Shift Knob | Much more...

Last edited by anom3; 01-15-2017 at 10:45 AM.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:26 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST