F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Updating idrive history with HU-ServiceManager
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-17-2018, 09:24 AM   #23
AbzzMonsur
Abzz
AbzzMonsur's Avatar
United Kingdom
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: 435D XDrive Convertible
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Northampton

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BimmerSI View Post
Hi,

i just done it yesterday! It works great and it is simple to use.

1. Click on "Connect to HU" button. On bottom left it shoud say "Job Status OK".



2. Select date. You should change ";" with "/" and use european date format like DD/MM/YYYY. Then put in your milage.
Select dealer number. I entered 00000, becasue service has been done by independent dealer and still selected "BMW Dealer" because he works with BMW exclusivly.

3. Then select number of tasks that were performed. This will unlock service task selection.

4. After that, just click to "Write to HU" button and check that the "Job Status OK" is present.



5. Now check on your iDrive. Service listing should be on the bottom. If you want "proper" listing, you should delete all entries and write them one by one backwards.

I hope it helps!

Cheers,

BimmerSI
Hi,

Does anyonr have the HU-Service Manager zip files? Can't locate it on original website anymore
Appreciate 0
      07-17-2018, 09:43 AM   #24
Sasquartch
Captain
247
Rep
816
Posts

Drives: 328i Luxury auto
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Herts

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshd63 View Post
Hi

Is there any chance you could end me the file also if I give you a onedrive link?

Cheers
Send me a link
Appreciate 0
      07-17-2018, 09:44 AM   #25
Sasquartch
Captain
247
Rep
816
Posts

Drives: 328i Luxury auto
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Herts

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by producerlawson View Post
I used this early last year - works a treat if you know how to setup the serial com ports.

I personally found my E-Sys OBD cable didn't work - I had to get a DCAN serial to usb cable which enabled me to work. As others have said, it's all about editing the EDIABAS.INI file to match your pc serial port - sharing the file may not necessarily work as not everyone has the same hardware plugged in/ports in use.

Make sure you take a photo of your edits, as at the next service the dealer will wipe all entries and enter what they're given from the BMW server logs.
No serial ports involved as it's a TCP/IP connection over an ethernet interface

As long as your esys cable works this should too
Appreciate 0
      07-17-2018, 11:48 AM   #26
producerlawson
Lieutenant
United Kingdom
95
Rep
509
Posts

Drives: 435i MS
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Manchester

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sasquartch View Post
No serial ports involved as it's a TCP/IP connection over an ethernet interface

As long as your esys cable works this should too
Yeah my ICOM cable for coding in applications such as E-Sys is functional, but when using apps such as edibas and toolset32 I faced errors and problems.

To my knowledge I thought ediabas applications required a K DCAN cable? I'm sure it's in the requirement section of the manual due to the nature of them containing the FT232RL chips.

Whenever I tried via an ICOM connection I would hit errors whilst trying to apply the new service information. This stopped the second I switched to a KDCAN cable which uses a serial port to allow the transfer of more data.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/For-BMW-I...MAAOSw~7ZbNtqP
__________________
Current: F32 435i M Sport - Alpine White - MPE / Res delete & optional muffler straight pipe valve control, CF aero kit - CF M grille - 405 20" - 12&20mm Bimecc spacers
Previous: 2011 Ford Fiesta 1.25
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2018, 09:47 AM   #27
Sasquartch
Captain
247
Rep
816
Posts

Drives: 328i Luxury auto
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Herts

iTrader: (0)

As far as I know all F series cars use an ethernet interface, the older cables like you linked to were used on the older E series cars and needed serial port emulation and connected to the computer using USB.
An ethernet cable goes directly between the OBD port on the car and the ethernet port on the computer with no electronics in between
The fact that I have it working with my EDIABAS.INI file containing the line :

Interface =ENET

seems to confirm this

Not entirely sure what an ICOM interface although I've heard it's used on E90 and similar generation cars

I have had this working on several different cars (F30 and F34)
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2018, 05:34 AM   #28
mashaw
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: F31 320d Msport
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Poole

iTrader: (0)

Hi Guys

Im new to the forum, just about to start a retro fit on my F31 and wanted to update the service history, from what i've read I need to HU Service Manager. Can anyone point me in the direction on where I can download this
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2018, 04:34 AM   #29
HFW003
Colonel
HFW003's Avatar
Australia
1090
Rep
2,439
Posts

Drives: MY16 MG F10 528
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Newcastle, Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sasquartch View Post
I have a zipped up copy of the Service Manager and EDIABAS files that I used

It's 80 MB or so

If you can provide a FTP site or Google Drive /Dropbox or something I'm sure I can send the files to you
Would you mind sharing with me also?

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2018, 10:08 AM   #30
dy63
Colonel
United Kingdom
103
Rep
2,364
Posts

Drives: X6 35D XDrive
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: United Kingdom

iTrader: (1)

is there a link to the HU Service Manager?
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2018, 09:48 PM   #31
jkwhar
Lieutenant
79
Rep
421
Posts

Drives: F30 328i Xdrive | F15 x35i
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Central NJ

iTrader: (4)

When was service history introduced? I've seen this menu in the idrive (MY 4/13).
__________________
Did my post help? Click "Appreciate!"

F30 328i xDrive Sport Line | 475 BSM | 2A5 18" | Cold Weather | Nav Pro | Tech Pkg | Injen Intake | CW DP | VRSF IC | MR Dual Exhaust | BM3 | Integral Audio | Retrofit: 522 & 524 EDM | 5AC HBA | VLD | 2TB SAT | 508 | 3AG | 5DL | 6WB | 8TH SLI
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2018, 10:48 AM   #32
Sasquartch
Captain
247
Rep
816
Posts

Drives: 328i Luxury auto
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Herts

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IK6SPEED View Post
Then why bother
So you can enter everyone back in again
Appreciate 0
      07-23-2018, 02:31 AM   #33
ThEdOvEz
New Member
United Kingdom
0
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: F30
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Middlesbrough

iTrader: (0)

hi please could someone give me a link to these files? thankyou

it ok now i managed to find them and worked a treat thanks

Last edited by ThEdOvEz; 07-23-2018 at 08:30 AM. Reason: fount it
Appreciate 0
      08-26-2018, 02:55 PM   #34
jjan
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: 535D 2011
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Netherlands

iTrader: (0)

Hello, can anyone please sent a link to download?

Thanks in advance )
Appreciate 0
      08-26-2018, 04:36 PM   #35
atzebmw
Captain
Germany
141
Rep
729
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjan View Post
Hello, can anyone please sent a link to download?

Thanks in advance )
At google search for "hu service manager".
For me it is the 3rd search result (drive2.ru).
Appreciate 0
      09-15-2018, 12:14 PM   #36
pcp1234
Private
5
Rep
64
Posts

Drives: F10
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Leeds

iTrader: (0)

mine wont even connect to unit. any tips how to get it to work please?
Appreciate 0
      09-18-2018, 03:08 AM   #37
Sasquartch
Captain
247
Rep
816
Posts

Drives: 328i Luxury auto
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Herts

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcp1234 View Post
mine wont even connect to unit. any tips how to get it to work please?
Firstly you need to check you have basic connectivity. Do you have esys or ISTA or anything else that connects to the car OK ?

Have you worked through all the posts in this thread ?

Is your ediabas.ini file correct, ie is the connection type set correctly ?
Appreciate 0
      09-18-2018, 07:03 PM   #38
pcp1234
Private
5
Rep
64
Posts

Drives: F10
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Leeds

iTrader: (0)

- my ediabas, esys, ista d, ista p works ok + flashing ECUs works fine too
- INTERFACE = ENET
- #INTERFACE = REMOTE
- I have downloaded version with java and without java.
- my machine runs java 8 update181 x86 and x64
- i placed program in random folder and ediabas too
- batch file with download doesnt seem to be doing anything

please help me
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2018, 09:21 AM   #39
Sasquartch
Captain
247
Rep
816
Posts

Drives: 328i Luxury auto
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Herts

iTrader: (0)

You need to provide more information

What does happen ?
Appreciate 0
      09-21-2018, 05:12 PM   #40
pcp1234
Private
5
Rep
64
Posts

Drives: F10
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Leeds

iTrader: (0)

this happens absolutely nothing


al203 compound name
Appreciate 0
      09-21-2018, 07:55 PM   #41
pcp1234
Private
5
Rep
64
Posts

Drives: F10
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Leeds

iTrader: (0)

ok, i got to work and since no one was willing to assist i will write up how to make it work!
1. download hu service manager
2. unpack content like this -> C:\EC-APPS\BMW-HU-ServiceManager
3. in folder "BMW-HU-ServiceManager" should be four items: folder "jre", HU-ServiceManager, HU-ServiceManager ico, HU-ServiceManager jar
4. make a shortcut from HU-ServiceManager.bat to your desktop
5. right click on created shortcut and go into properties
6. change icon and select HU-ServiceManager.ico (cosmetic job)
7. connect cable to car, then to laptop and run HU-ServiceManager from the shortcut on your desktop
8. click connect to hu
9. wait for "famous" screen with confirmation "job status complete"
10. enjoy your changes from now on

kind note
i had to restart my nbt in order to see change
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2018, 01:58 AM   #42
Sasquartch
Captain
247
Rep
816
Posts

Drives: 328i Luxury auto
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Herts

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcp1234 View Post
and since no one was willing to assist
Not really true, if you provided the relevant information you may well have had an answer
Appreciate 0
      10-31-2018, 03:13 AM   #43
ir655
Registered
Sweden
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: F31 320d and F11 530d
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Hello guys, I finally got this up and running but when I press "Connect to HU" I get the following message in the box below: "13 IFH-0003 Datatransmission to interface disturbed".

I have ISTA-D installed and it connects to the car without remark. I can even connect to ESYS with the ENET cable I have.

Any ideas? :-/
Appreciate 0
      10-31-2018, 05:31 AM   #44
Sasquartch
Captain
247
Rep
816
Posts

Drives: 328i Luxury auto
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Herts

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ir655 View Post
Hello guys, I finally got this up and running but when I press "Connect to HU" I get the following message in the box below: "13 IFH-0003 Datatransmission to interface disturbed".

I have ISTA-D installed and it connects to the car without remark. I can even connect to ESYS with the ENET cable I have.

Any ideas? :-/
Is your ediabas.ini file definitely correct, ie set to ethernet (ENET) ?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST