F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Avin USA 10.25 android system install DIY
European Auto Source (EAS)
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-14-2019, 12:15 PM   #2531
BentlyBenzBimmer
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: 2015 4 series convertible
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Macramento

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stlb5 View Post
After multiple attempts from a sd card and from a usb drive, I finally got the update to run. CarPlay updated, box updated. Everything seems to be running well now.
Hey how were you able to get your Avin side back up? Mine worked when I installed it. Got idrive side working as well. Didn't drive it for a day went to work this morning and couldn't get the avin screen to come on. Before I only just had to touch the screen. One thing I did do was set a pin for access so no one would be able to access my Google info, but never power cycled it to test. Now only my idrive side quickly fired up. Don't even see the logo. When I put in my usb to my phone it charges, but no change on screen. Any help would be appreciated.
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2019, 12:46 PM   #2532
markdmor
New Member
0
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: 2010 BMW 528i E60
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Long Beach, CA

iTrader: (0)

BentlyBenzBimmer,

Sounds like the original iDrive screen is coming up for you, but not the new Avin (Android) side? Correct?

If so, try touching the upper part of the screen. Also, try resetting your iDrive. To reset the iDrive in my car (2010 BMW 528i E60), I press the radio volume and the speak button on the steering wheel.
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2019, 07:57 PM   #2533
BentlyBenzBimmer
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: 2015 4 series convertible
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Macramento

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by markdmor View Post
BentlyBenzBimmer,

Sounds like the original iDrive screen is coming up for you, but not the new Avin (Android) side? Correct?

If so, try touching the upper part of the screen. Also, try resetting your iDrive. To reset the iDrive in my car (2010 BMW 528i E60), I press the radio volume and the speak button on the steering wheel.
Thank you for the tip. I'm pretty sure I tried the top screen, but will do the reset when I get to my car
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2019, 08:47 PM   #2534
Cactus_BMW
Private
4
Rep
51
Posts

Drives: '08 X5 3.0si
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Phoenix, AZ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BentlyBenzBimmer View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by markdmor View Post
BentlyBenzBimmer,

Sounds like the original iDrive screen is coming up for you, but not the new Avin (Android) side? Correct?

If so, try touching the upper part of the screen. Also, try resetting your iDrive. To reset the iDrive in my car (2010 BMW 528i E60), I press the radio volume and the speak button on the steering wheel.
Thank you for the tip. I'm pretty sure I tried the top screen, but will do the reset when I get to my car
And, you've tried keeping your iDrive menu button pressed for 2-3 seconds from BMW side? The long press of the menu button is how I swap back & forth from Android to BMW.
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2019, 10:05 PM   #2535
BentlyBenzBimmer
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: 2015 4 series convertible
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Macramento

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by markdmor View Post
BentlyBenzBimmer,

Sounds like the original iDrive screen is coming up for you, but not the new Avin (Android) side? Correct?

If so, try touching the upper part of the screen. Also, try resetting your iDrive. To reset the iDrive in my car (2010 BMW 528i E60), I press the radio volume and the speak button on the steering wheel.
You are a life saver! Ya I'm pretty sure it was the fact that I set the Android pin lock on the system. Bc once I held down the mic button and volume the Android screen lit up and hit me with asking for my pin. So I removed it. Somebody brought up a great point asking if we can lock it when someone else has our car bc it wouldn't take much to cause some havoc w/ open access like that. I'll just log out of my Google account or something. Again thanks. I was thinking like crap I gotta take all this apart again lol.
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2019, 11:26 PM   #2536
stlb5
Second Lieutenant
stlb5's Avatar
53
Rep
286
Posts

Drives: '14 M235i MT, '15 X5 Msport
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: St. Louis

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BentlyBenzBimmer View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by stlb5 View Post
After multiple attempts from a sd card and from a usb drive, I finally got the update to run. CarPlay updated, box updated. Everything seems to be running well now.
Hey how were you able to get your Avin side back up? Mine worked when I installed it. Got idrive side working as well. Didn't drive it for a day went to work this morning and couldn't get the avin screen to come on. Before I only just had to touch the screen. One thing I did do was set a pin for access so no one would be able to access my Google info, but never power cycled it to test. Now only my idrive side quickly fired up. Don't even see the logo. When I put in my usb to my phone it charges, but no change on screen. Any help would be appreciated.
Couldn't tell you. No rhyme or reason to when this does and doesn't work
__________________
2014 M235i MT, BSM, MPE, Dinan Springs (His)
2015 X5 Msport, CB (Hers)
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2019, 08:43 AM   #2537
rossjmccarthy
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 330e
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Ireland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmoney99 View Post
Had this happen when I installed mine. Turns out it was because the antenna fakra connector to the BMW's radio came loose when I was moving things around (it had actually popped right off). Have you checked the connections below the AVIN screen to the radio etc?
I took some time and went back through it but the connections all seem to be fine and clipped in place securely.

Any other ideas for back FM signal after fitting?
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2019, 11:38 AM   #2538
haxx94
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: BMW 320d f30
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Italy

iTrader: (0)

Hi guys, how do you listen the music in the car with this android unit when the engine of the car is turned off?
With the original bmw unit, before I could do it by clicking the mute button of the stereo(center of the volume button), but now it doesn't work...
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2019, 12:27 PM   #2539
Mikesmith2939
Private First Class
31
Rep
196
Posts

Drives: 2013 320i xdrive
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by haxx94 View Post
Hi guys, how do you listen the music in the car with this android unit when the engine of the car is turned off?
With the original bmw unit, before I could do it by clicking the mute button of the stereo(center of the volume button), but now it doesn't work...
You are not able too is the answer.
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2019, 05:35 AM   #2540
seanos10
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30 M Sport
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Ireland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikesmith2939 View Post
You are not able too is the answer.
I'm able to by pushing volume and switching
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2019, 07:53 AM   #2541
koutsouk
Private
17
Rep
92
Posts

Drives: BMW E60
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Greece

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by seanos10 View Post
I'm able to by pushing volume and switching
Switching ? Press menu button you mean ?
And what is this combination doing ?
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2019, 04:42 AM   #2542
haxx94
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: BMW 320d f30
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Italy

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikesmith2939 View Post
You are not able too is the answer.
Really? However I noticed that I'm able to use the screen unit when I turn off the engine, because it stays turned on, but after few minutes it turns off automatically, and I have to turn on the start/stop button to turn on the screen (but doing in this way, I will descharge rapidly the car battery because all car electronics turns on)
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2019, 09:22 AM   #2543
Mikesmith2939
Private First Class
31
Rep
196
Posts

Drives: 2013 320i xdrive
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by haxx94 View Post
Really? However I noticed that I'm able to use the screen unit when I turn off the engine, because it stays turned on, but after few minutes it turns off automatically, and I have to turn on the start/stop button to turn on the screen (but doing in this way, I will descharge rapidly the car battery because all car electronics turns on)
Exactly, you need to have the ignition on unlike the original head unit that would power up just by pressing the button on the head unit.
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2019, 10:33 PM   #2544
KevDon92
Second Lieutenant
10
Rep
271
Posts

Drives: 2014 435i
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Philadelphia

iTrader: (0)

Selling my unit with CarPlay adapter and backup camera if anybody is interested. Never had any issues with it at all...just selling the car.
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2019, 04:43 AM   #2545
M4greb
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: BMW f10
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Avinusa have updated their website and added support centre with firmware downloads and other support information for customers who have purchased one of their units.
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2019, 03:57 AM   #2546
CleanKM
SQUEAKY
CleanKM's Avatar
United_States
53
Rep
220
Posts

Drives: 2014 328d
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Washington, DC Metro Area

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by M4greb View Post
Avinusa have updated their website and added support centre with firmware downloads and other support information for customers who have purchased one of their units.
Looks like it's a "coming soon"... Maybe after putting their product out 2 years ago, they finally realized that there needs to be a centralized support page?

EDIT: I created an account and nothing showed up. Emailed support with order number and email and, believe it or not, they responded within minutes.

Last edited by CleanKM; 01-24-2019 at 04:08 AM.
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2019, 09:10 AM   #2547
M4greb
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: BMW f10
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

I agree, I had the unit for 2 years gen1 and gen2 we needed something like this from day one. but the response from avin/tommy is fast.
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2019, 11:10 AM   #2548
nomorebigideas
New Member
0
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: BMW X3 xDrive20d SE (2011)
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Hi, would anyone be kind enough to share firmware for 7.1.1 headunits? Mine is for an F25 X3, so 8.8" Andoird screen.
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2019, 11:53 AM   #2549
Zheez
New Member
3
Rep
25
Posts

Drives: 320D (2014)
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CleanKM View Post
Looks like it's a "coming soon"... Maybe after putting their product out 2 years ago, they finally realized that there needs to be a centralized support page?

EDIT: I created an account and nothing showed up. Emailed support with order number and email and, believe it or not, they responded within minutes.
I had the same - registered and nothing showed up. So after contacting support with your order number etc, you now see things on the support page?
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2019, 02:10 PM   #2550
stlb5
Second Lieutenant
stlb5's Avatar
53
Rep
286
Posts

Drives: '14 M235i MT, '15 X5 Msport
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: St. Louis

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by M4greb View Post
I agree, I had the unit for 2 years gen1 and gen2 we needed something like this from day one. but the response from avin/tommy is fast.
I'm about ready to punt mine down the road. I had decent communication from them for a couple days, but radio silence since January 4th. Mine was acting flaky, did the update and it worked great for two days, then the "no signal" and freezing started happening again. There would be days that I couldn't even get into the Avin screen. I redid the update and again, worked great and now I'm back to an unusable system.

I put a ticket in on the new system yesterday morning, hopefully that helps.
__________________
2014 M235i MT, BSM, MPE, Dinan Springs (His)
2015 X5 Msport, CB (Hers)
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2019, 02:44 PM   #2551
CleanKM
SQUEAKY
CleanKM's Avatar
United_States
53
Rep
220
Posts

Drives: 2014 328d
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Washington, DC Metro Area

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zheez View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleanKM View Post
Looks like it's a "coming soon"... Maybe after putting their product out 2 years ago, they finally realized that there needs to be a centralized support page?

EDIT: I created an account and nothing showed up. Emailed support with order number and email and, believe it or not, they responded within minutes.
I had the same - registered and nothing showed up. So after contacting support with your order number etc, you now see things on the support page?
Correct, I see links to download the 8/2018 4.4 image and the carplay app. Since I have the 4.4, I assume that's what they associated with my account, not sure for those who have the 7.

Sent them my email and my order number (along with date of purchase). Responded within minutes, but that was also 0300 EST, so probably during normal business hours in China. AvinUSA? Lol.
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2019, 04:48 PM   #2552
M4greb
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: BMW f10
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

BMW f10. I had gen1 for 1 year and upgraded to gen2 and had this for 1 year now no problems at all. Gen1 well I had problems from day one heating problem, no signal problem, freezing problem and so on but gen2 is perfect 1 year and no problems at all, CarPlay problems now and then but thatís apk problem not the unit.

Will be nice to to edit the tiles on id6 launcher I have asked Avin since day one and was told will be done one day.
Any developers here that can edit the apk launcher for id6 I managed to extract it from the update.img but donít know how to edit the script.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST