F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > N55 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > ***DIY: bootmod3 OBD Agent build with RPi 3 B
proTUNING Freaks
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-02-2018, 09:43 AM   #133
BunkerJ
Colonel
BunkerJ's Avatar
1007
Rep
2,382
Posts

Drives: 2013 328i
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TEST DRYVER View Post
First of all, thanks to everyone supporting this post with information and great questions. I just ordered a bootleg version of the BM3 OBD Agent. Hopefully, its exactly what you guys are discussing here. There's someone selling these on Ebay.
My question is this: I keep reading that several of you are jumping through hoops trying to turn the unit on everytime you get in the car. Is this necessary to have the tune functioning or are you guys doing it for data logging and making on the fly changes? I'm curious because I simply want a constantly functioning ECU tune with no hassle. And from time to time, I'd like to change parameters, tunes, etc... So would I need to turn on the device everytime I'm in the car, or could I get by just turning on the device when I need to change parameters?
Thanks in advance guys...
Btw, these are selling for about $200 shipped on Ebay.

Not sure who is jumping through hoops to have it turned on everytime. I've had mine installed for 6+ months now with no issues aside from the initial setup. Turns on when the car does and connects to the tablet I have setup.
__________________

2013 F30 328i: MHI Big Turbo, GFB DV+, Mishimoto CAI, ER TIC/CP/Catless DP, AWE Touring Quad Exhaust w/ Resonated Midpipe, NGK LI Plugs, BM3 with PTF Stage 2 91 AGG Tune, Fuel-it Stage 2 LPFP, Solowerks S1 Coilovers, and DEPO/M-Sport Retrofit
Appreciate 0
      07-04-2018, 05:57 PM   #134
charmcitybryan
New Member
2
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: 2014 335i xDrive
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Baltimore, MD

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by charmcitybryan View Post
First of all, really appreciate the effort that Jared put into developing this agent using RP. Awesome work.

I am having a similar problem to this post, but coming from an Android phone and curious if anyone might have any suggestions.

I purchased all of the originally suggested SD card and RP unit (3B). I downloaded the most up to date image and flashed it using disk imager. I plugged in the OBDII, plugged the ethernet into the RP, and plugged the RP into the USB. On my Pixel XL Android phone, I set up the wi-fi hotspot as "bootmod3" with password "bootmod3". I fired up the RP with everything connected and can confirm that the RP unit logs into the hotspot on the phone. I can also confirm that there is network activity from the OBDII to the RP as the network lights register activity when I plug it into the RP.

The problem is that when I open the Bootmod3 app on the Android phone, it does not connect to the OBD Agent. It seems like all of the other pieces of the puzzl are connected to each other so I am stuck on what it might be. Any advice would be appreciated.

Bryan


Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodtoGo View Post
Disable WiFi networking service in:
privacy > location services > system services

Follow startup sequence:

WiFi network active (home or phone hotspot)
Power up agent
Allow agent to connect to network (shows confirmation on iPhone for hotspot)
Open app
App login
Just wanted to follow up here with a resolution. I had read elsewhere that using the windows partition tool to delete the volume on the sdcard and then format worked better. I opened up the windows partition tool, deleted all the drives, formatted the drive, and then re imaged the drive.

after following these steps, it worked!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Insane435 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by fondoo1287 View Post
Can I get some help?

I just picked up the BM3 OBD agent device wifi and for the love of god can't get this damn thing to work with the iphone X ios 11.4

i followed all these troubleshooting guides
https://bootmod3.atlassian.net/wiki/...roubleshooting

even ran the firmware updates
https://bootmod3.atlassian.net/wiki/...irmware+Update
when comparing files/dates to the firmware on their website. i had the same files

i renamed my iphone to bootmod3 and also changed the hotspot password to
bootmod3 and when i launch the BM3 app. i still get obd agent not detected.


any help would appreciated it.
I had issues the first time trying to get mine to connect with the iPhoneX. One thing to make sure is that you are disconnected from your Home wifi,etc, but leave the wifi on. Also make sure "bootmod3" is lower case for both the PW and username. Those were some of the mistakes I made, and then I finally got it to work.
Quote:
Originally Posted by charmcitybryan View Post
First of all, really appreciate the effort that Jared put into developing this agent using RP. Awesome work.

I am having a similar problem to this post, but coming from an Android phone and curious if anyone might have any suggestions.

I purchased all of the originally suggested SD card and RP unit (3B). I downloaded the most up to date image and flashed it using disk imager. I plugged in the OBDII, plugged the ethernet into the RP, and plugged the RP into the USB. On my Pixel XL Android phone, I set up the wi-fi hotspot as "bootmod3" with password "bootmod3". I fired up the RP with everything connected and can confirm that the RP unit logs into the hotspot on the phone. I can also confirm that there is network activity from the OBDII to the RP as the network lights register activity when I plug it into the RP.

The problem is that when I open the Bootmod3 app on the Android phone, it does not connect to the OBD Agent. It seems like all of the other pieces of the puzzl are connected to each other so I am stuck on what it might be. Any advice would be appreciated.

Bryan


Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodtoGo View Post
Disable WiFi networking service in:
privacy > location services > system services

Follow startup sequence:

WiFi network active (home or phone hotspot)
Power up agent
Allow agent to connect to network (shows confirmation on iPhone for hotspot)
Open app
App login
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2018, 02:48 AM   #135
cookiesowns
;)
cookiesowns's Avatar
Taiwan
422
Rep
752
Posts

Drives: M2C 6MT, 535i N54, X3 N55
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Irvine, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IK6SPEED View Post
Iíll not comment on your choice of Truckerís switch.

The USB circuit is overtaxed as is and typically outputs only 0.2A. The newer NBT EVO can output 0.5A if Code is changed. You will find many threads of the circuit having issues powering newer larger smartphones. Adding another draw on that would only bog it down more.

The raspberry pi 3 is speced at 1.5A - 2.5A. It technically shouldnít work on the USB, but obviously it does. Barely. Probably because of the lack of screen and other Pi options.

The underpower also concerns me from several other perspectives. Overloading a circuit is never good and I have no idea what protection a BMW has on the USB circuit.

I am looking to mount mine in dash above part #5. I am thinking there should be plenty of room as I do not have the storage box (2), but the switch panel (1).

Plan to use ODB pin 1 for power (switched) instead of 16 and step down voltage from 12V to 5V.

Hope to connect Y adapter to ODB and replace OEM ODB with Y connector ODB so ODB is unpopulated in Drivers Footwell.
Hrm.. I need to measure and test the power draw of the USB circuit soon. I envision it might be able to do 2.1A per the coding available on NBT2.
__________________
BM3, MHD, ECUTek Calibrator | 2019 M2 Competition 6MT SO | Suntek Ultra | Gyeon Syncro + CarPro Skin
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2018, 10:30 PM   #136
fondoo1287
Private
31
Rep
91
Posts

Drives: F36
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Hotlanta

iTrader: (0)

anyone here own a BM3 OBD agent wifi device??

https://www.protuningfreaks.com/coll...a-all-f-series
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2018, 11:26 PM   #137
IK6SPEED
Major General
IK6SPEED's Avatar
United_States
3956
Rep
9,948
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 / AH3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cali

iTrader: (21)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fondoo1287 View Post
anyone here own a BM3 OBD agent wifi device??

https://www.protuningfreaks.com/coll...a-all-f-series
Out of amazement and curiosity, where so few RTFM, why would you ask that question in a DIY Thread on building your own?
__________________
Stable: F80 / AH3
Past: F80 ZCP / F22 M235i / E89 35is
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2018, 11:40 PM   #138
fondoo1287
Private
31
Rep
91
Posts

Drives: F36
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Hotlanta

iTrader: (0)

i picked up a OBD agent hardware device and can't seem to get it working. i have been working with with their tech support two weeks. its definitely connected to my iphone hotspot (bootmod3/bootmod3) but OBD agent not detected. i wiped the microsd card and copied the .img back to the microsd card(firmware update)

https://bootmod3.atlassian.net/wiki/...irmware+Update

I cant figure out what i'm doing wrong here.
Attached Images
          
Appreciate 0
      07-09-2018, 09:56 AM   #139
BunkerJ
Colonel
BunkerJ's Avatar
1007
Rep
2,382
Posts

Drives: 2013 328i
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fondoo1287 View Post
i picked up a OBD agent hardware device and can't seem to get it working. i have been working with with their tech support two weeks. its definitely connected to my iphone hotspot (bootmod3/bootmod3) but OBD agent not detected. i wiped the microsd card and copied the .img back to the microsd card(firmware update)

https://bootmod3.atlassian.net/wiki/...irmware+Update

I cant figure out what i'm doing wrong here.
Can you be more specific? In your pictures, your agent is appearing. Are you saying she's not updating? I have had that in the past and just had to use a different phone to update the device.
__________________

2013 F30 328i: MHI Big Turbo, GFB DV+, Mishimoto CAI, ER TIC/CP/Catless DP, AWE Touring Quad Exhaust w/ Resonated Midpipe, NGK LI Plugs, BM3 with PTF Stage 2 91 AGG Tune, Fuel-it Stage 2 LPFP, Solowerks S1 Coilovers, and DEPO/M-Sport Retrofit
Appreciate 0
      07-10-2018, 11:01 AM   #140
fondoo1287
Private
31
Rep
91
Posts

Drives: F36
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Hotlanta

iTrader: (0)

I've been working with PTF tech support for the past two weeks on trying to get get this device agent working. i know for a fact its connected to the iphone hotspot but when i launch the bm3 app and update the agent. the app keep saying OBD disconnected. now, theres nothing wrong with my enet cable, because it works just fine on my laptop. and the device agent ethernet port has activity flashing LEDS.

im stumped as hell why its not work and PTF tech support seems to be clueless also.
Attached Images
  
Appreciate 0
      07-11-2018, 10:04 AM   #141
BunkerJ
Colonel
BunkerJ's Avatar
1007
Rep
2,382
Posts

Drives: 2013 328i
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (0)

Have you tried seeing if you're getting an IP while it's plugged into the car?
__________________

2013 F30 328i: MHI Big Turbo, GFB DV+, Mishimoto CAI, ER TIC/CP/Catless DP, AWE Touring Quad Exhaust w/ Resonated Midpipe, NGK LI Plugs, BM3 with PTF Stage 2 91 AGG Tune, Fuel-it Stage 2 LPFP, Solowerks S1 Coilovers, and DEPO/M-Sport Retrofit
Appreciate 0
      07-11-2018, 10:40 AM   #142
fondoo1287
Private
31
Rep
91
Posts

Drives: F36
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Hotlanta

iTrader: (0)

yes, i have logged into the raspberry box with a hdmi monitor and usb keyboard. i was able to get an dhcp ip address from the iphone hotspot and i was able to ping out to yahoo.com
Appreciate 0
      07-12-2018, 12:42 PM   #143
BunkerJ
Colonel
BunkerJ's Avatar
1007
Rep
2,382
Posts

Drives: 2013 328i
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fondoo1287 View Post
yes, i have logged into the raspberry box with a hdmi monitor and usb keyboard. i was able to get an dhcp ip address from the iphone hotspot and i was able to ping out to yahoo.com
No, I'm talking about getting an IP once plugged into the car.
__________________

2013 F30 328i: MHI Big Turbo, GFB DV+, Mishimoto CAI, ER TIC/CP/Catless DP, AWE Touring Quad Exhaust w/ Resonated Midpipe, NGK LI Plugs, BM3 with PTF Stage 2 91 AGG Tune, Fuel-it Stage 2 LPFP, Solowerks S1 Coilovers, and DEPO/M-Sport Retrofit
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2018, 08:00 PM   #144
420Coupe
Lieutenant
212
Rep
444
Posts

Drives: 2015 Alpine White M3
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: FL

iTrader: (0)

edit: nvm just pieced it together cheaper.

Last edited by 420Coupe; 07-16-2018 at 09:03 PM..
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2018, 08:10 PM   #145
ssgm1x
Lieutenant
ssgm1x's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
535
Posts

Drives: 2018 BMW M3
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: cherry hill ,NJ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fondoo1287 View Post
I've been working with PTF tech support for the past two weeks on trying to get get this device agent working. i know for a fact its connected to the iphone hotspot but when i launch the bm3 app and update the agent. the app keep saying OBD disconnected. now, theres nothing wrong with my enet cable, because it works just fine on my laptop. and the device agent ethernet port has activity flashing LEDS.

im stumped as hell why its not work and PTF tech support seems to be clueless also.
I have similar issue. Re-Formatted and reinstalled with no luck. Gonna pull Battery ground and re try tomorrow......
I had gotten it to work for a day but then ran an update and then i dont know what happened... Gonna also try connecting to a different phone....frustrating
__________________
2018 BMW M3 DCT
10.67sec 1/4mi.@ 133.7mph, Stock Turbos, F80 Paul, BM3.
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2018, 08:12 PM   #146
ssgm1x
Lieutenant
ssgm1x's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
535
Posts

Drives: 2018 BMW M3
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: cherry hill ,NJ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fondoo1287 View Post
I've been working with PTF tech support for the past two weeks on trying to get get this device agent working. i know for a fact its connected to the iphone hotspot but when i launch the bm3 app and update the agent. the app keep saying OBD disconnected. now, theres nothing wrong with my enet cable, because it works just fine on my laptop. and the device agent ethernet port has activity flashing LEDS.

im stumped as hell why its not work and PTF tech support seems to be clueless also.
I see u r plugging in your ethernet directly into RP3. I could'nt get mine to work at all this way. Mine worked prior with a Ethernet to USB adapter before everything crapping out on me...still troubleshooting as to why cannot connect anymore....
__________________
2018 BMW M3 DCT
10.67sec 1/4mi.@ 133.7mph, Stock Turbos, F80 Paul, BM3.
Appreciate 0
      07-17-2018, 09:56 AM   #147
BunkerJ
Colonel
BunkerJ's Avatar
1007
Rep
2,382
Posts

Drives: 2013 328i
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssgm1x View Post
I see u r plugging in your ethernet directly into RP3. I could'nt get mine to work at all this way. Mine worked prior with a Ethernet to USB adapter before everything crapping out on me...still troubleshooting as to why cannot connect anymore....
You should be plugging into the ethernet port directly. I just built another one just this weekend with the latest update and had no issues.
__________________

2013 F30 328i: MHI Big Turbo, GFB DV+, Mishimoto CAI, ER TIC/CP/Catless DP, AWE Touring Quad Exhaust w/ Resonated Midpipe, NGK LI Plugs, BM3 with PTF Stage 2 91 AGG Tune, Fuel-it Stage 2 LPFP, Solowerks S1 Coilovers, and DEPO/M-Sport Retrofit
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2018, 07:38 PM   #148
ssgm1x
Lieutenant
ssgm1x's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
535
Posts

Drives: 2018 BMW M3
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: cherry hill ,NJ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BunkerJ View Post
You should be plugging into the ethernet port directly. I just built another one just this weekend with the latest update and had no issues.
Got it working. A lot of times i have to go into the BM3 menu on the ABOUT screen and hit RESET SETTINGS and it connects after 30 seconds.....but this is way way better than a tethered laptop in the car for flashing and logging. so much easier. This is definitely the way to go!!!! Thanks
__________________
2018 BMW M3 DCT
10.67sec 1/4mi.@ 133.7mph, Stock Turbos, F80 Paul, BM3.
Appreciate 1
      07-19-2018, 07:36 PM   #149
R32DBP
First Lieutenant
United_States
136
Rep
369
Posts

Drives: 2014 335i M Sport, 2004 .:R32T
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
just got everything setup and worked flawlessly. thank you OP for this thread!
Appreciate 2
      07-23-2018, 06:53 AM   #150
420Coupe
Lieutenant
212
Rep
444
Posts

Drives: 2015 Alpine White M3
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: FL

iTrader: (0)

Thank you for this OP!

Just built mine for under $35 total Thanks to amazon prime day!
Appreciate 1
      07-25-2018, 04:29 PM   #151
ChillVibeF30
Private
12
Rep
72
Posts

Drives: Black 2013 BMW 335I
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Smyrna,TN

iTrader: (0)

Will be setting up mine this weekend. Thanks for the write up.
__________________
13' F30 335i
F80 M3 Front End, VRSF Catless Downpipe, BootMod3 Stage 2 E30 OTS, ER Chargepipe, VRSF 5" FMIC, BMS Intake H&R Super Sport Springs, Fuel-it Stage 2 LPFP
Appreciate 1
      07-29-2018, 07:27 AM   #152
Daleb
Second Lieutenant
114
Rep
246
Posts

Drives: M2
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Uk

iTrader: (0)

Another one setup using your guide, thanks 👍🏻.

Had some issues with the hotspot but need to go through the troubleshooting guide to sort it. Worked perfectly by connecting my iPhone charging cable into the device. Connected instantly.
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2018, 07:19 PM   #153
ChillVibeF30
Private
12
Rep
72
Posts

Drives: Black 2013 BMW 335I
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Smyrna,TN

iTrader: (0)

Im having some issues getting mine set up. On the first attempt I downloaded the firmware supplied in the link from the OP. I connect it to my car, and it tells me that I need to update to the latest OBD agent. After doing so, my phone switches over to screen that says it needs to restart. After waiting about 20 mins on that same screen, i disconnected and restarted the app. Still get no success.

Last night I go onto BM3's website and downloaded the latest firmware from off the site and write it to my sd card. Today I turn on my hotspot, see that the agent has connected, run the app, and it says to Update my agent again. As we speak my phone is back on the same screen that says "Restarting..." it has been on that screen for the past 45 mins now.

Feeling defeated
__________________
13' F30 335i
F80 M3 Front End, VRSF Catless Downpipe, BootMod3 Stage 2 E30 OTS, ER Chargepipe, VRSF 5" FMIC, BMS Intake H&R Super Sport Springs, Fuel-it Stage 2 LPFP
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2018, 10:16 AM   #154
BunkerJ
Colonel
BunkerJ's Avatar
1007
Rep
2,382
Posts

Drives: 2013 328i
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChillVibeF30 View Post
Im having some issues getting mine set up. On the first attempt I downloaded the firmware supplied in the link from the OP. I connect it to my car, and it tells me that I need to update to the latest OBD agent. After doing so, my phone switches over to screen that says it needs to restart. After waiting about 20 mins on that same screen, i disconnected and restarted the app. Still get no success.

Last night I go onto BM3's website and downloaded the latest firmware from off the site and write it to my sd card. Today I turn on my hotspot, see that the agent has connected, run the app, and it says to Update my agent again. As we speak my phone is back on the same screen that says "Restarting..." it has been on that screen for the past 45 mins now.

Feeling defeated
Try using a different device. I'm not sure if a laptop on the same network as the phone can prompt the update, but give that a whack. If it succeeds with a different phone (As in a different model ie Galaxy S7 vs Galaxy S8), then submit a ticket to let them know. Some older devices and one-off devices have trouble and need to be added to the support list.
__________________

2013 F30 328i: MHI Big Turbo, GFB DV+, Mishimoto CAI, ER TIC/CP/Catless DP, AWE Touring Quad Exhaust w/ Resonated Midpipe, NGK LI Plugs, BM3 with PTF Stage 2 91 AGG Tune, Fuel-it Stage 2 LPFP, Solowerks S1 Coilovers, and DEPO/M-Sport Retrofit
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST