F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > DIY - F30 M-Performance Aero Front Lip/Splitter Install
ARMA SPEED
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-14-2019, 06:31 AM   #89
MPodlesnik
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: Bmw F31 Touring xD
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Slovenia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdand View Post
I used the adhesives that came with the packaging that connects the inner mount to the splitter. There is noticeable bowing where the adhesive is not sticking to the splitter. Will some 3M and adhesive promoter address this issue as well?
did anyone solve this problem? how? i have the same problem.

thx
Appreciate 0
      08-14-2019, 05:29 PM   #90
xpro
Lieutenant
121
Rep
418
Posts

Drives: 335XD
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Emerald

iTrader: (0)

In my experience I found that adhesive type (even the best 3M ) wont help much.
The only solution to have a permanent fixing is via screws which will prevent the flexing, twisting and falling of the splitter.

The OE splitter comes with additional holes and in my opinion they should all be used should you want a quality and sturdy fitting that doesn't flex nor comes off.

My splitter has been on for a good few miles, I had it up at speeds of 140mph and the thing is dead solid.
Its all in the installation.
Attached Images
    
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2019, 12:39 AM   #91
Dc2rCl7r
New Member
3
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: BMW3
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: HK

iTrader: (0)

Amazing post, this is more beyond DIY, more professional than most! Thank you~
Appreciate 0
      08-20-2020, 11:30 AM   #92
Evo7mc
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: F31 320i m sport
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Uk

iTrader: (0)

Just bought a genuine splitter from bmw and Iím not sure if they have changed the official fitting instructions but I noticed that there is now pre installed 3m tape on the part of the splitter that is normally advised to beta link, I was going to install this using beta link but maybe even bmw have decided that 3m tape is better.
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2020, 10:33 PM   #93
havenzhiv
New Member
8
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 330e
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Malaysia

iTrader: (0)

I installed the splitter only. It's CF. 3M double sided tape and reused the clips
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      09-15-2020, 09:49 PM   #94
Cobra Kai
New Member
2
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: 16 340i || 06 Audi A4 S-Line
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (0)

Just adding another thumbs up to the instructions here. My only problem is that it's REALLY low in the front and scrapes coming in and out of the driveway! :
Attached Images
    
Appreciate 0
      10-21-2020, 01:42 PM   #95
SilkySmoooth
Private
United_States
24
Rep
88
Posts

Drives: '13 335i MSPORT Estoril Blue
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Charlotte, NC

iTrader: (0)

squidlyboy Hey dude, the pictures of your original post are not working anymore and seem to have been removed. Can we get the pictures put back up? I was wanting to install mine this weekend.

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      10-21-2020, 02:10 PM   #96
marcw
First Lieutenant
marcw's Avatar
United_States
34
Rep
348
Posts

Drives: 2010 Z4sDrive35i
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Portland, OR USA

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to marcw
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilkySmoooth View Post
squidlyboy Hey dude, the pictures of your original post are not working anymore and seem to have been removed. Can we get the pictures put back up? I was wanting to install mine this weekend.

Thanks!
Pictures work fine on my iPhone using latest Chrome browser. What browser are you using?
Appreciate 0
      10-26-2020, 11:27 AM   #97
SilkySmoooth
Private
United_States
24
Rep
88
Posts

Drives: '13 335i MSPORT Estoril Blue
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Charlotte, NC

iTrader: (0)

I am using Chrome, on both my Android and PC but it will not load any images.

If I use a different browser it will work. I tried clearing all data, uninstalling, everything and still cant get Chrome to work with this page. arggh... I guess ill use the stock browser. F U Chrome.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST