F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Tire Pressure Not Resetting After New Tires
Extreme Powerhouse
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-19-2019, 02:48 PM   #1
sactown M
Private
0
Rep
65
Posts

Drives: 2015 435i M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Sacramento, CA

iTrader: (0)

Tire Pressure Not Resetting After New Tires

I have a 2014 435i and just got new tires put on at the shop and I can't seem to get the TPMS to reset. I've done at videos and other posts have done to reset it and then drive around for a while but it continues to stay the same. Is there some sort of sensor I needed to buy to have them put in for the new tires? thank you everyone taking a look
Appreciate 0
      10-19-2019, 03:06 PM   #2
atzebmw
Lieutenant Colonel
Germany
397
Rep
1,798
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Which month and year exactly the car was built?
Appreciate 0
      10-19-2019, 04:34 PM   #3
Billfitz
Lieutenant General
Billfitz's Avatar
United_States
4503
Rep
10,174
Posts

Drives: '15 328iX GT
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: New Hampshire

iTrader: (0)

If they left the original sensors on the wheels then you don't need anything. With the engine running and the car parked go to the vehicle information screen, dial up the reset and start it. After starting it you drive until it's done. The progress should be shown on the screen.
Appreciate 0
      10-19-2019, 05:43 PM   #4
chowser51
Lieutenant Colonel
chowser51's Avatar
United_States
998
Rep
1,857
Posts

Drives: 18 F33 430ix B46 BM3s1-93
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cleveland, OH

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Did they move your TPMS sensors over?

How long do the batteries last?
Appreciate 0
      10-19-2019, 06:02 PM   #5
Billfitz
Lieutenant General
Billfitz's Avatar
United_States
4503
Rep
10,174
Posts

Drives: '15 328iX GT
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: New Hampshire

iTrader: (0)

He said he got new tires, not new wheels. The batteries are good for perhaps 10 years, less with high mileage driving. It's a good idea to change them with the second tire replacement.
Appreciate 0
      10-20-2019, 12:07 AM   #6
sactown M
Private
0
Rep
65
Posts

Drives: 2015 435i M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Sacramento, CA

iTrader: (0)

Thank you for the replies. Hang on a second, actually I did get new rims as well. They were the same exact ones from a car one year newer but I didn't think that would make a difference.

What batteries are you talking about?
Appreciate 0
      10-20-2019, 12:47 AM   #7
IK6SPEED
Banned
United_States
4281
Rep
10,517
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 / AH3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cali

iTrader: (23)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sactown's finest View Post
Thank you for the replies. Hang on a second, actually I did get new rims as well. They were the same exact ones from a car one year newer but I didn't think that would make a difference.

What batteries are you talking about?
The RF frequency changed on the TPMS around 3/2014 to comply with new standards, so your early build 2014 car is not compatible with the new frequency 2015 TPMS you used.

Batteries are built into the TPMS but not the source of your issue.
Appreciate 0
      10-20-2019, 12:59 AM   #8
sactown M
Private
0
Rep
65
Posts

Drives: 2015 435i M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Sacramento, CA

iTrader: (0)

Interesting, the weird thing is before I did the tire and wheel swap it worked just fine...
Appreciate 0
      10-20-2019, 02:34 AM   #9
chowser51
Lieutenant Colonel
chowser51's Avatar
United_States
998
Rep
1,857
Posts

Drives: 18 F33 430ix B46 BM3s1-93
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cleveland, OH

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Maybe one sensor went bad so it canít complete the reset.

I bought a set of wheels and tires from tire rack with new sensors. All four were sending a signal but my system would not reset. Turned out two of the sensors were bad from the beginning.
Appreciate 0
      10-20-2019, 04:19 AM   #10
bimmer456
Major General
2219
Rep
5,628
Posts

Drives: 340i
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Pasadena, CA

iTrader: (0)

If you got new rims they should move the valve stems over from the old rims which have the tpms sensors. Otherwise you will have to register the new sensors. Also the batteries may have gone bad. If the system can't see the sensors it won't report any tire pressure or it could be exhibiting weird behavior. On a side note I'm surprised they haven't come up with battery free wireless sensors which I thought had been developed that could power themselves with kenetic energy from the wheel while driving or from the wireless signal itself so you don't have to replace the sensor when the batteries go bad. Not sure if new cars have those now.
Appreciate 0
      10-20-2019, 05:03 AM   #11
atzebmw
Lieutenant Colonel
Germany
397
Rep
1,798
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sactown's finest View Post
Interesting, the weird thing is before I did the tire and wheel swap it worked just fine...
Did you see the tire pressure before the wheel swap or did you only see the green tires?
Appreciate 0
      10-21-2019, 12:11 AM   #12
sactown M
Private
0
Rep
65
Posts

Drives: 2015 435i M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Sacramento, CA

iTrader: (0)

Interesting, I'll try and call the tire shop and see if they know about this.

And before it used to have the green tires and the tire pressure and temp (coded that).
Appreciate 0
      10-22-2019, 02:57 PM   #13
sactown M
Private
0
Rep
65
Posts

Drives: 2015 435i M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Sacramento, CA

iTrader: (0)

Tomorrow I'm going back to the shop and having them swap the sensors from the car I took the rims off of. I'm assuming that will do the trick. Unless now for some reason I need new sensors.

If that doesn't do it I may just swap the rims and tires back. Never realized I would be creating any issues doing this haha
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST