F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Sport+ Coding
Extreme Powerhouse
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-05-2013, 01:27 PM   #23
marcoac14
Private First Class
40
Rep
151
Posts

Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Houston

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
I just told you above.

For F10, it is Steering Wheel with paddles and different GWS Gear Shift.

For F30, I don't know if it is Steering Wheel with Paddles only, or also a different GWS Gear Shift.
I see. It may not be necessary to replace the GWS but what's the benefit of replacing it? None?
Appreciate 0
      12-05-2013, 02:07 PM   #24
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
4636
Rep
24,857
Posts

Drives: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcoac14 View Post
I see. It may not be necessary to replace the GWS but what's the benefit of replacing it? None?
That would depend on whether it is different or not, and as I wrote, for F30, I don't know if it is different or not.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2013, 08:24 PM   #25
Kospir
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: F30 320i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Shenzhen

iTrader: (0)

is it possible to retrofit f10 sport automatic gear shifter to f30 320i ?
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2013, 10:02 PM   #26
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
4636
Rep
24,857
Posts

Drives: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kospir View Post
is it possible to retrofit f10 sport automatic gear shifter to f30 320i ?
According to ETK, they are different.

F3x has it's own SAT Gear Shift though, so why would you want one from an F10?

Name:  Image 003.png
Views: 7097
Size:  131.2 KB

Name:  Image 004.png
Views: 6484
Size:  50.1 KB

.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2013, 10:48 PM   #27
Kospir
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: F30 320i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Shenzhen

iTrader: (0)

I let my friend buy it for me on ebay and now i understand shifter not for f30. So i have to buy another one for my f30 now
Appreciate 0
      12-11-2013, 06:29 AM   #28
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
4636
Rep
24,857
Posts

Drives: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kospir View Post
I let my friend buy it for me on ebay and now i understand shifter not for f30. So i have to buy another one for my f30 now
Throw it back up on ebay, it will sell.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2014, 01:56 PM   #29
kapkanimd
First Lieutenant
United_States
51
Rep
376
Posts

Drives: 2016 340i
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Tampa, FL

iTrader: (2)

I added the SAT to my car and it is a pretty significant difference, especially in manual mode. I am still in the process of adding in Launch control. In order to get it to work, I upgrade the I-step level on the EGS ecu which was a pretty scary experience. The option is now available for FA coding, and I added it. I just drove a few miles (instructions said it had to be warm) and couldn't get it to come up. I realized I forgot to recode in the SAT when I updated the ecu so I just did that and will try it again next time I drive in the chance that SAT is required for it to work.
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2014, 04:12 PM   #30
carzaddict
Lieutenant Colonel
135
Rep
1,553
Posts

Drives: M-Sport 328i X-drive
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Brooklyn

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timur View Post
It is possible . I have done on on my 320i.
Do the following:

Kombi => 300C ECO_FDS =>Function

FDS_MENUE_TEXT_1=> menue_3
FDS_MENUE_SIGNAL_1=> menue_3
FDS_MENUE_TEXT_2=> menue_3
FDS_MENUE_SIGNAL_2=> menue_3
FDS_MENUE_TEXT_3=> menue_3
FDS_MENUE_SIGNAL_3=> menue_3
FDS_MENUE_TEXT_4=> menue_3
FDS_MENUE_SIGNAL_4=> menue_3

ICM Module/ 3000 Daten/ IcmKod_B_Sportlenkung/ verbaut

EGS/3000 Applikation -> Sportschalter_alt -> aktiv
EGS/3000 Applikation -> Sportschalter -> aktiv

ICM/IcmKod_B_S2TBA -> verbaut

It will activate sport+ and sport transmission )))
Or you also could add 2TB option and delete 205 in salapa element
which part of this is for sports automatic transmission only?

i did
ICM Module/ 3000 Daten/ IcmKod_B_Sportlenkung/ verbaut

EGS/3000 Applikation -> Sportschalter_alt -> aktiv
EGS/3000 Applikation -> Sportschalter -> aktiv

ICM/IcmKod_B_S2TBA -> verbaut

and got a Chassis stabilization error, althought it went away when i restarted the car. I dont feel a difference in the shifts
__________________
2011 Jaguar XFR
2013 VW Beetle

Last edited by carzaddict; 01-18-2014 at 05:14 PM..
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2014, 05:38 PM   #31
Zulbat
New Member
1
Rep
26
Posts

Drives: F20 120D
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Is it possible to code SAT shifting behavior on F30 318 or F20 118 which usually are not available with sport auto from factory?
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2014, 06:46 PM   #32
Timur
Enlisted Member
Russian Federation
4
Rep
40
Posts

Drives: BMW 320
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Russia, St. Petersburg

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by carzaddict View Post
which part of this is for sports automatic transmission only?

i did
ICM Module/ 3000 Daten/ IcmKod_B_Sportlenkung/ verbaut

EGS/3000 Applikation -> Sportschalter_alt -> aktiv
EGS/3000 Applikation -> Sportschalter -> aktiv

ICM/IcmKod_B_S2TBA -> verbaut

and got a Chassis stabilization error, althought it went away when i restarted the car. I dont feel a difference in the shifts
Do not worry abt. "Chassis stabilization error" - it always pops up
You did everything right . When you put your shifter to DS - do you see S1 indication on dash board ?
This is how it supposed to look (flag is LC)


Last edited by Timur; 01-18-2014 at 06:56 PM..
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2014, 06:48 PM   #33
Timur
Enlisted Member
Russian Federation
4
Rep
40
Posts

Drives: BMW 320
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Russia, St. Petersburg

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zulbat View Post
Is it possible to code SAT shifting behavior on F30 318 or F20 118 which usually are not available with sport auto from factory?
No, its not possible in general.

Some people say that they were able to code launch control and sport tranny, but I have not seen it personally.

Try it out.
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2014, 07:29 PM   #34
carzaddict
Lieutenant Colonel
135
Rep
1,553
Posts

Drives: M-Sport 328i X-drive
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Brooklyn

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timur View Post
Do not worry abt. "Chassis stabilization error" - it always pops up
You did everything right . When you put your shifter to DS - do you see S1 indication on dash board ?
This is how it supposed to look (flag is LC)
no i did not see any gear numbers in DS. I wonder if theres a difference between the US and Russian versions
__________________
2011 Jaguar XFR
2013 VW Beetle
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2014, 07:31 PM   #35
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
203
Rep
1,892
Posts

Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by carzaddict View Post
no i did not see any gear numbers in DS. I wonder if theres a difference between the US and Russian versions
If you code both Sportschalter and Sportschalter_alt to aktiv, you will.

These are in EGS (or GKEB) / 3000.
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2014, 08:27 PM   #36
carzaddict
Lieutenant Colonel
135
Rep
1,553
Posts

Drives: M-Sport 328i X-drive
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Brooklyn

iTrader: (0)

I just double checked and it seems that i forgot to set Sportschalter to active, only Sportschalter_alt was

i just did it now, ill be going out in a little bit and ill test to see if it works
__________________
2011 Jaguar XFR
2013 VW Beetle
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2014, 11:22 PM   #37
kapkanimd
First Lieutenant
United_States
51
Rep
376
Posts

Drives: 2016 340i
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Tampa, FL

iTrader: (2)

I just tested mine! I went from the no-line with only sport mode to now having sport+, sport automatic transmission, and now launch control !!!!

Coding is awesome!! I love launch control!!
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2014, 11:27 PM   #38
Tim@codemybimmer
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Tim@codemybimmer's Avatar
Canada
194
Rep
642
Posts


Drives: 2018 440ix GC & 2015 X3
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Just quick question.

For the people who coded SAT, did you guys also buy the SAT Gear shift or just code those values?
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2014, 11:29 PM   #39
kapkanimd
First Lieutenant
United_States
51
Rep
376
Posts

Drives: 2016 340i
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Tampa, FL

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timbits93 View Post
Just quick question.

For the people who coded SAT, did you guys also buy the SAT Gear shift or just code those values?
Just the coding.. I don't see a need to spent $600+ on a shifter that only changes looks AFIK...
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2014, 11:35 PM   #40
Tim@codemybimmer
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Tim@codemybimmer's Avatar
Canada
194
Rep
642
Posts


Drives: 2018 440ix GC & 2015 X3
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kapkanimd View Post
Just the coding.. I don't see a need to spent $600+ on a shifter that only changes looks AFIK...
Just checking.

Makes me want to code in the SAT. Don't know why the 12-13 MY 328s didn't get the 2TB option but gets it in 14 for Canadian models.

*Should have also asked my advisor if they could order the Sport Steering Wheel with Paddles instead of the same replacement since I'm getting the wheel replaced under warranty anyways*

Does the transmission shift any better in just the normal Comfort/Sport modes?
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2014, 03:39 AM   #41
Timur
Enlisted Member
Russian Federation
4
Rep
40
Posts

Drives: BMW 320
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Russia, St. Petersburg

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timbits93 View Post
Just checking.

Makes me want to code in the SAT. Don't know why the 12-13 MY 328s didn't get the 2TB option but gets it in 14 for Canadian models.

*Should have also asked my advisor if they could order the Sport Steering Wheel with Paddles instead of the same replacement since I'm getting the wheel replaced under warranty anyways*

Does the transmission shift any better in just the normal Comfort/Sport modes?
Yes, definitely better and sportier in my opinion

You can also buy yourself a new steering wheel with shifters, and sell yours. If you code stated above values shifters gonna work

You can also retrofit shifters to the sport steering wheel (some cuttings will be required)
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2014, 10:47 AM   #42
carzaddict
Lieutenant Colonel
135
Rep
1,553
Posts

Drives: M-Sport 328i X-drive
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Brooklyn

iTrader: (0)

so after recoding Sportschalter to aktiv, i can confirm I have SAT and it works.

I notice it more on the 1-2-3 shifts...not so much in the higher gears. never the less its cool and I see what gears I am in in DS mode
__________________
2011 Jaguar XFR
2013 VW Beetle
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2014, 01:10 PM   #43
Timur
Enlisted Member
Russian Federation
4
Rep
40
Posts

Drives: BMW 320
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Russia, St. Petersburg

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by carzaddict View Post
so after recoding Sportschalter to aktiv, i can confirm I have SAT and it works.

I notice it more on the 1-2-3 shifts...not so much in the higher gears. never the less its cool and I see what gears I am in in DS mode
Good job

Did you code LC as well ?
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2014, 01:28 PM   #44
marcoac14
Private First Class
40
Rep
151
Posts

Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Houston

iTrader: (0)

How does launch control work?

What I usually do is turn DSC fully off, hold brake, press the throttle pedal and release brake pedal.

Is it any better than "my launch control"?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST