F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Sport+ Coding
proTUNING Freaks
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-22-2014, 02:35 PM   #67
Timur
Enlisted Member
Russian Federation
4
Rep
40
Posts

Drives: BMW 320
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Russia, St. Petersburg

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by momo3605 View Post
How do I check my I-level? I have a 2013 and had BMW code the auto start/stop memory feature. They also updated my Control Unit software under a recall. So I would guess my I-level is ok. But just want to make sure
ESYS

VCM Module => go to VCM Master Tab => push Read in I-Steps and look for I-Step (current)

this is what you gonna see
Attached Images
 

Last edited by Timur; 01-22-2014 at 02:40 PM..
Appreciate 0
      01-22-2014, 05:39 PM   #68
Bvt13
Private
United_States
9
Rep
62
Posts

Drives: 2016 AW M4
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Washington D.C.

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2016 M4  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timur View Post
Yes, just swap it and set:
FEM- 3190 -> Paddles_verbaut -> aktiv
I want to know what I would be getting into prior to purchasing a sport line steering wheel with paddles.

Do you know if there are any other steps besides transferring the airbag and physically attaching the new wheel?

What I am asking is if I can literally unplug my paddle-less wheel, swap the airbag to the new wheel with paddles, and then re-attach the new wheel in the exact same way that the old wheel was attached?

Thanks for all your help.
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2014, 03:02 AM   #69
Timur
Enlisted Member
Russian Federation
4
Rep
40
Posts

Drives: BMW 320
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Russia, St. Petersburg

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bvt13 View Post
I want to know what I would be getting into prior to purchasing a sport line steering wheel with paddles.

Do you know if there are any other steps besides transferring the airbag and physically attaching the new wheel?

What I am asking is if I can literally unplug my paddle-less wheel, swap the airbag to the new wheel with paddles, and then re-attach the new wheel in the exact same way that the old wheel was attached?

Thanks for all your help.
No other steps involved, connector from your paddle-less wheel identical to wheel whith paddles (just one more pin added). There is no gear shift module in F30.

All you need to do is:

1) Swap the wheels
2) Do the codding

I have swaped my wheel to M-Wheel with paddles
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2014, 05:28 AM   #70
radiosmithy
New Member
1
Rep
21
Posts

Drives: 328i 2013
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

So after coding this, you guys are noticing a difference from the default Sport mode?

I have a '13 328i so just wondering if it'll be any different.
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2014, 10:00 AM   #71
carzaddict
Lieutenant Colonel
135
Rep
1,553
Posts

Drives: M-Sport 328i X-drive
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Brooklyn

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by radiosmithy View Post
So after coding this, you guys are noticing a difference from the default Sport mode?

I have a '13 328i so just wondering if it'll be any different.
yes, i noticed a difference in the speed of shifts and i feel its a little harsher (which i like)
__________________
2011 Jaguar XFR
2013 VW Beetle
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2014, 11:57 AM   #72
MyFastM3
Second Lieutenant
31
Rep
253
Posts

Drives: m3
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Za

iTrader: (0)

What would be cool would be in sport+ mode to show gear shift indicator, super cool would be to show that on my HUD
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2014, 02:24 AM   #73
HenryXcel
Private First Class
United_States
35
Rep
161
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: California

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timur View Post
No other steps involved, connector from your paddle-less wheel identical to wheel whith paddles (just one more pin added). There is no gear shift module in F30.

All you need to do is:

1) Swap the wheels
2) Do the codding

I have swaped my wheel to M-Wheel with paddles
Timur; just want a final confirm. You swapped your sport steering wheel with no shift paddles with M-sport steering wheel with shift paddles, coded it and shift paddles worked?
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2014, 03:28 AM   #74
Timur
Enlisted Member
Russian Federation
4
Rep
40
Posts

Drives: BMW 320
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Russia, St. Petersburg

iTrader: (0)

Overall correct. I swapped my base (no line) steering wheel to m-sport and then I added shift paddles to the m-steering wheel. Here is my post abt paddles retrofit (in Russian) http://www.drive2.ru/cars/bmw/3_seri...urnal/2738775/

There are no additional modules requered, if you swap your sport (luxyry, base, m-sport) steereng wheel with no shift paddles to steereng wheel with shift paddles, and code 2TB, shift paddles supposed to work no problem

Last edited by Timur; 02-04-2014 at 05:11 AM..
Appreciate 0
      02-06-2014, 05:13 PM   #75
jestopolis
New Member
3
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: 2014 320i
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: MA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timur View Post
It is possible . I have done on on my 320i.
Do the following:

Kombi => 300C ECO_FDS =>Function

FDS_MENUE_TEXT_1=> menue_3
FDS_MENUE_SIGNAL_1=> menue_3
FDS_MENUE_TEXT_2=> menue_3
FDS_MENUE_SIGNAL_2=> menue_3
FDS_MENUE_TEXT_3=> menue_3
FDS_MENUE_SIGNAL_3=> menue_3
FDS_MENUE_TEXT_4=> menue_3
FDS_MENUE_SIGNAL_4=> menue_3

ICM Module/ 3000 Daten/ IcmKod_B_Sportlenkung/ verbaut

EGS/3000 Applikation -> Sportschalter_alt -> aktiv
EGS/3000 Applikation -> Sportschalter -> aktiv

ICM/IcmKod_B_S2TBA -> verbaut

It will activate sport+ and sport transmission )))
Or you also could add 2TB option and delete 205 in salapa element
Just another confirmation that this worked great on my 2014 320i! Must-have modification in my opinion.
Appreciate 0
      02-06-2014, 07:16 PM   #76
Bvt13
Private
United_States
9
Rep
62
Posts

Drives: 2016 AW M4
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Washington D.C.

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2016 M4  [0.00]
For what it's worth. I have a sport line 335i without paddles, but switched to a new sport line wheel with paddles. I also bought the wire harness necessary to connect the paddle plugs. After coding I was able to activate the SAT shift speed, but cannot get the paddles working.

Also: I tried everything including adding 2TB successfully as well as manually coding the SVT tree with no luck. I have no idea why this doesn't work, you would think a 335, which already had sport+ capabilities, cannot plug in and play the paddles.
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2014, 12:46 AM   #77
Timur
Enlisted Member
Russian Federation
4
Rep
40
Posts

Drives: BMW 320
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Russia, St. Petersburg

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bvt13 View Post
For what it's worth. I have a sport line 335i without paddles, but switched to a new sport line wheel with paddles. I also bought the wire harness necessary to connect the paddle plugs. After coding I was able to activate the SAT shift speed, but cannot get the paddles working.

Also: I tried everything including adding 2TB successfully as well as manually coding the SVT tree with no luck. I have no idea why this doesn't work, you would think a 335, which already had sport+ capabilities, cannot plug in and play the paddles.
What wire harness did you buy ? Can you provide part # Wire harness between FEM и SZL ?
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2014, 07:45 AM   #78
Bvt13
Private
United_States
9
Rep
62
Posts

Drives: 2016 AW M4
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Washington D.C.

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2016 M4  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timur View Post
What wire harness did you buy ? Can you provide part # Wire harness between FEM и SZL ?
Yea the harness was part # 32306854771, listed as

"harness SEDAN, W/SPORT WHEEL, w/paddle shifters, w/o htd strng wheel"

on this page:

http://www.getbmwparts.com/parts/201...agramCallOut=4

Can you list out all the SVT coding you did, maybe I missed something or you added something to the tree that wasn't listed in the early post of this thread?
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2014, 08:08 AM   #79
Timur
Enlisted Member
Russian Federation
4
Rep
40
Posts

Drives: BMW 320
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Russia, St. Petersburg

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bvt13 View Post
Yea the harness was part # 32306854771, listed as

"harness SEDAN, W/SPORT WHEEL, w/paddle shifters, w/o htd strng wheel"

on this page:

http://www.getbmwparts.com/parts/201...agramCallOut=4

Can you list out all the SVT coding you did, maybe I missed something or you added something to the tree that wasn't listed in the early post of this thread?
It's not Wire harness between FEM и SZL. The harness you bought goes inside the steering wheel and connects s-wheel buttons and shifters to SZL.

Wait. wait. I missed something. So you have bought new steering wheel with paddle shifters without harness ? and then bought harness ?

All coding I have done I listed above, nothing more to add.
But I think I know what is the problem with your paddle shifters. I have seen similar case as yours. I will get back with probable solution. Need to look few more things
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2014, 08:15 AM   #80
Timur
Enlisted Member
Russian Federation
4
Rep
40
Posts

Drives: BMW 320
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Russia, St. Petersburg

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bvt13 View Post
Yea the harness was part # 32306854771, listed as

"harness SEDAN, W/SPORT WHEEL, w/paddle shifters, w/o htd strng wheel"

on this page:

http://www.getbmwparts.com/parts/201...agramCallOut=4

Can you list out all the SVT coding you did, maybe I missed something or you added something to the tree that wasn't listed in the early post of this thread?
try this 3190 -> Paddles_verbaut -> aktiv - in ICM

If this wont help. You might need an additional wire to add.
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2014, 08:28 AM   #81
Bvt13
Private
United_States
9
Rep
62
Posts

Drives: 2016 AW M4
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Washington D.C.

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2016 M4  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timur View Post
try this 3190 -> Paddles_verbaut -> aktiv - in ICM

If this wont help. You might need an additional wire to add.
There is no 3190 -> Paddles_verbaut in ICM, only in FEM. I have set 3190 -> Paddles_verbaut -> aktiv in FEM.

Again, thanks for your help.
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2014, 09:07 AM   #82
Timur
Enlisted Member
Russian Federation
4
Rep
40
Posts

Drives: BMW 320
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Russia, St. Petersburg

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bvt13 View Post
There is no 3190 -> Paddles_verbaut in ICM, only in FEM. I have set 3190 -> Paddles_verbaut -> aktiv in FEM.

Again, thanks for your help.
Look, I think you probleme is missing wire between FEM and SZL.
FEM locatin is on the picture, it has socket #A173*7B (market green)


you need to insert to harness a new wire to pin#5



and connect it to SZL - A83*2B



to pin #3

Appreciate 0
      02-07-2014, 09:19 AM   #83
Bvt13
Private
United_States
9
Rep
62
Posts

Drives: 2016 AW M4
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Washington D.C.

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2016 M4  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timur View Post
Look, I think you probleme is missing wire between FEM and SZL...
Ok I'll take a look at this, though I am not sure I want to start messing with the cars electronics, so I might leave it be.

Its odd that when you did your retrofit you didn't have to do this rewiring, I wonder why that would be, considering my car is a sport line 335 and yours was a 320?
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2014, 03:21 PM   #84
Timur
Enlisted Member
Russian Federation
4
Rep
40
Posts

Drives: BMW 320
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Russia, St. Petersburg

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bvt13 View Post
Ok I'll take a look at this, though I am not sure I want to start messing with the cars electronics, so I might leave it be.

Its odd that when you did your retrofit you didn't have to do this rewiring, I wonder why that would be, considering my car is a sport line 335 and yours was a 320?
No idea. One guy one Russian bmwforum had the same problem with shifters as you do. And he also had sport line. Adding a wire solved the problem, shifters are fully working now. Try it out, all you need is a wire and 2 connectors (61 13 0 005 197).
Appreciate 0
      02-18-2014, 09:00 AM   #85
Bvt13
Private
United_States
9
Rep
62
Posts

Drives: 2016 AW M4
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Washington D.C.

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2016 M4  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timur
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bvt13 View Post
Ok I'll take a look at this, though I am not sure I want to start messing with the cars electronics, so I might leave it be.

Its odd that when you did your retrofit you didn't have to do this rewiring, I wonder why that would be, considering my car is a sport line 335 and yours was a 320?
No idea. One guy one Russian bmwforum had the same problem with shifters as you do. And he also had sport line. Adding a wire solved the problem, shifters are fully working now. Try it out, all you need is a wire and 2 connectors (61 13 0 005 197).
I ordered the connectors, thanks for listing the part number. Any idea what the specs on the wire should be (gauge, composition), anything special?
Appreciate 0
      02-19-2014, 06:23 AM   #86
Timur
Enlisted Member
Russian Federation
4
Rep
40
Posts

Drives: BMW 320
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Russia, St. Petersburg

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bvt13 View Post
I ordered the connectors, thanks for listing the part number. Any idea what the specs on the wire should be (gauge, composition), anything special?
I do not know. Sorry
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2014, 10:24 PM   #87
bucawke
Private First Class
17
Rep
128
Posts

Drives: 2015 BMW x5
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Las Vegas

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Has anyone gotten a CEL by coding this? I coded this last night and had no problems. But when I coded other things today, I ended up with a CEL. I undid everything, drove to an auto store and pulled the code P144B. My friend tried to clear it and it wouldn't disappear, but then when I left it was gone. Kinda scared to code anything now :/
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2014, 10:28 PM   #88
Tim@codemybimmer
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Tim@codemybimmer's Avatar
Canada
194
Rep
642
Posts


Drives: 2018 440ix GC & 2015 X3
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by buco702 View Post
Has anyone gotten a CEL by coding this? I coded this last night and had no problems. But when I coded other things today, I ended up with a CEL. I undid everything, drove to an auto store and pulled the code P144B. My friend tried to clear it and it wouldn't disappear, but then when I left it was gone. Kinda scared to code anything now :/
Coding one of the modules results in "Drivetrain Malfunction, Drive Moderately". It just goes away after you turn off the car completely and start it up again. Normal.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST