F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > Regional Forums > UK > Activating ConnectedDrive
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-12-2015, 06:28 AM   #45
Simert
Private First Class
United Kingdom
31
Rep
146
Posts

Drives: G30 520d
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Leamington Spa

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by simon. View Post
Simon. Mine activated a few days ago but didn't get any email or text.

Just called them on 0800 561 0555 & they did it straight away with text in before I'd hung up.

Changed password as prompted & after 2 attempts of failed log in error I,m now online .

Give them a call, much easier

Cheers mate.
My dealer advised I call too and so I've just got off the phone to them.

They said they didn't know why my application hadn't been processed and are calling me back with in 24hrs.

He made no attempt to sort it, unlike the person you spoke to, lucky sod! lol

He said it takes 3 working days from application to get details. I said I applied 22nd December.. lol
Appreciate 0
      01-12-2015, 07:54 AM   #46
BeemerNewbie
New Member
0
Rep
22
Posts

Drives: F30 320d XDrive Sport
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

Im all Connected now guys. Had to call them to get the e-mail.

Just trying to figure out all the services, including this dictation thing and e-mail settings.
Appreciate 0
      01-12-2015, 07:55 AM   #47
Simert
Private First Class
United Kingdom
31
Rep
146
Posts

Drives: G30 520d
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Leamington Spa

iTrader: (0)

Just received my text too!
Appreciate 0
      01-12-2015, 09:02 AM   #48
Occean
Private First Class
23
Rep
199
Posts

Drives: 1 series
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Simert
Just received my text too!
As did I!
Appreciate 0
      01-12-2015, 09:07 AM   #49
Barrywhite
New Member
United Kingdom
0
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: F11 520d
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Yorkshire, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeemerNewbie View Post
Im all Connected now guys. Had to call them to get the e-mail.

Just trying to figure out all the services, including this dictation thing and e-mail settings.
I've had a good play now RTTI is fab but the other fun bits don't seem to be included in the BMW Connected Android app. Web radio and Spotify were what I was interested in. I have tried it on the Mrs iPhone 5s and Spotify and webRadio work like a dream. Couldn't get the gmail app to login in office.

Happy this is sorted but miffed that the Android app is utter tosh. Another reason to go crawling back to apple.
Appreciate 0
      01-12-2015, 04:41 PM   #50
BMWSKI
Lieutenant Colonel
BMWSKI's Avatar
153
Rep
1,919
Posts

Drives: E63 AMG Saloon :)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bucks

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by simon. View Post
Simon. Mine activated a few days ago but didn't get any email or text.

Just called them on 0800 561 0555 & they did it straight away with text in before I'd hung up.

Changed password as prompted & after 2 attempts of failed log in error I,m now online .

Give them a call, much easier
How do you know that its activated? What's different? Thanks 😉
Appreciate 0
      01-12-2015, 04:54 PM   #51
simon.
Colonel
United Kingdom
902
Rep
2,549
Posts

Drives: F48 25D mSport
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Milton Keynes

iTrader: (0)

You get the connected screen in the idrive & once logged on with the password / username they give you, you can use the app to access your car for the lock / unlock & set up emails etc.
Appreciate 0
      01-12-2015, 11:26 PM   #52
Simert
Private First Class
United Kingdom
31
Rep
146
Posts

Drives: G30 520d
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Leamington Spa

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWSKI
Quote:
Originally Posted by simon. View Post
Simon. Mine activated a few days ago but didn't get any email or text.

Just called them on 0800 561 0555 & they did it straight away with text in before I'd hung up.

Changed password as prompted & after 2 attempts of failed log in error I,m now online .

Give them a call, much easier
How do you know that its activated? What's different? Thanks 😉
First thing I noticed was the RTTI. Sat nav map was covered in traffic information lines.
Then under connected drive there were more options.
Concierge, Bmw online, plus a few other options.

Managed to get emails to display in the car. Also send to car via remote app and Google maps (on pc) worked flawlessly.
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2015, 12:44 AM   #53
BMWSKI
Lieutenant Colonel
BMWSKI's Avatar
153
Rep
1,919
Posts

Drives: E63 AMG Saloon :)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bucks

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Simert View Post
First thing I noticed was the RTTI. Sat nav map was covered in traffic information lines.
Then under connected drive there were more options.
Concierge, Bmw online, plus a few other options.

Managed to get emails to display in the car. Also send to car via remote app and Google maps (on pc) worked flawlessly.
That's strange because I've had RTTI since day one??? I will check for the other items you mention too...
Cheers guys
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2015, 01:20 AM   #54
Occean
Private First Class
23
Rep
199
Posts

Drives: 1 series
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Mine also seems to be working just fine.

With my phone plugged in I can now browse my spotify playlists, which was the main feature I was looking for. Send to car works a treat from Google maps on the PC and I've also the Send to Car app on the iPhone (not the official bmw one) which also works nicely. Remote services also works, as does Facebook, news, messages etc

Pleased to say the least!
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2015, 01:23 AM   #55
Simert
Private First Class
United Kingdom
31
Rep
146
Posts

Drives: G30 520d
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Leamington Spa

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWSKI View Post
That's strange because I've had RTTI since day one??? I will check for the other items you mention too...
Cheers guys
Are you confusing RTTI with TMC?

TMC will give you traffic data but you'll know when you have RTTI when every single main road is (hopefully) green?
Attached Images
  

Last edited by Simert; 01-13-2015 at 06:50 AM..
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2015, 05:10 PM   #56
BMWSKI
Lieutenant Colonel
BMWSKI's Avatar
153
Rep
1,919
Posts

Drives: E63 AMG Saloon :)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bucks

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Simert View Post
Are you confusing RTTI with TMC?

TMC will give you traffic data but you'll know when you have RTTI when every single main road is (hopefully) green?
No, I'm not confusing it with TMC. It says RTTI in the info tab and it looks just like the map on my own Pro Nav car...
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2015, 05:32 PM   #57
pmgreenwood
Captain
United Kingdom
230
Rep
910
Posts

Drives: F31 320D se auto sold, Macan S
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: West Sussex UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWSKI View Post
That's strange because I've had RTTI since day one??? I will check for the other items you mention too...
Cheers guys
Some dealers set it all up before handing the car over.
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2015, 06:27 PM   #58
vimy
Enlisted Member
11
Rep
38
Posts

Drives: 4 Series
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Got my ConnectedDrive working today too! Can finally send locations from my phone instead of trying to search with the Nav!

The traffic lines are either the wrong colours... or I'm just imagining me sitting in traffic. WhenI'm sitting in traffic jams I'm getting green lines in my direction, on the opposite side of the carriage way (where there is no traffic) it shows red
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2015, 07:48 PM   #59
Simert
Private First Class
United Kingdom
31
Rep
146
Posts

Drives: G30 520d
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Leamington Spa

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWSKI
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simert View Post
Are you confusing RTTI with TMC?

TMC will give you traffic data but you'll know when you have RTTI when every single main road is (hopefully) green?
No, I'm not confusing it with TMC. It says RTTI in the info tab and it looks just like the map on my own Pro Nav car...
Ok cool. Did you have the other options under the connected drive menu?

Maybe you've been activated but not had the user name and password sent. Mine was like this until I phoned them.
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2015, 01:56 AM   #60
simon.
Colonel
United Kingdom
902
Rep
2,549
Posts

Drives: F48 25D mSport
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Milton Keynes

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vimy View Post
Got my ConnectedDrive working today too! Can finally send locations from my phone instead of trying to search with the Nav!

The traffic lines are either the wrong colours... or I'm just imagining me sitting in traffic. WhenI'm sitting in traffic jams I'm getting green lines in my direction, on the opposite side of the carriage way (where there is no traffic) it shows red
My old car did that, not had chance to see if this one does but think it a fault or a trait of it being a LH drive manufacturer! Lol.

Could also be traffic master as the new A421 (2012) Bedford bypass still doesn't show on but the old road still does?
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2015, 05:26 AM   #61
BMWSKI
Lieutenant Colonel
BMWSKI's Avatar
153
Rep
1,919
Posts

Drives: E63 AMG Saloon :)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bucks

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Simert View Post
Ok cool. Did you have the other options under the connected drive menu?
I will need to check when I get the chance. I will let you know
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2015, 05:28 AM   #62
BMWSKI
Lieutenant Colonel
BMWSKI's Avatar
153
Rep
1,919
Posts

Drives: E63 AMG Saloon :)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bucks

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by simon. View Post
Could also be traffic master as the new A421 (2012) Bedford bypass still doesn't show on but the old road still does?
This sounds like the same stretch of road I got caught speeding on last week??? Are there road works going on at the moment reducing speed to 50 and 40?
My maps show me some of the new road but the RTTI is still linked to the old road. I guess this will be updated in the next few years!
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2015, 12:16 PM   #63
....,,,,..,,..
General
No_Country
6667
Rep
20,659
Posts

Drives: xxxx
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: xxxx

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Simert View Post
Are you confusing RTTI with TMC?

TMC will give you traffic data but you'll know when you have RTTI when every single main road is (hopefully) green?

Does everyone have the 'My Service' visible on their Idrive?

I am popping to dealers tomorrow to check about Teleservices not showing on car (and report light bleed).

I chatted to BMW help desk and they agreed was an issue, best place to get it sorted was dealers (BMW Centre).

I was also informed that Teleservices is also not available if you have anything connected to car, mobile Bluetooth, usb drive etc.
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2015, 06:44 PM   #64
vimy
Enlisted Member
11
Rep
38
Posts

Drives: 4 Series
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by simon. View Post
My old car did that, not had chance to see if this one does but think it a fault or a trait of it being a LH drive manufacturer! Lol.

Could also be traffic master as the new A421 (2012) Bedford bypass still doesn't show on but the old road still does?
Not sure what it is, but it seems to have fixed itself today lol
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2015, 10:37 PM   #65
Simert
Private First Class
United Kingdom
31
Rep
146
Posts

Drives: G30 520d
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Leamington Spa

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brigand
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simert View Post
Are you confusing RTTI with TMC?

TMC will give you traffic data but you'll know when you have RTTI when every single main road is (hopefully) green?

Does everyone have the 'My Service' visible on their Idrive?

I am popping to dealers tomorrow to check about Teleservices not showing on car (and report light bleed).

I chatted to BMW help desk and they agreed was an issue, best place to get it sorted was dealers (BMW Centre).

I was also informed that Teleservices is also not available if you have anything connected to car, mobile Bluetooth, usb drive etc.
I have an option "your service".
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2015, 02:04 AM   #66
....,,,,..,,..
General
No_Country
6667
Rep
20,659
Posts

Drives: xxxx
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: xxxx

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Simert View Post
I have an option "your service".
Yes I noticed , that's what made me think if it should be standard.

How old is your car and has it been serviced?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
connecteddrive

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST