F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Tracking / Racing / Autocrossing > Staggered RFT on track
proTUNING Freaks

03-03-2021, 02:58 PM   #1
nocosine
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2017 340i

Staggered RFT on track

Hey all, i've been doing immense research and reading a lot of posts in regards to wheel setup in anticipation for upcoming track day at Thunderhill in 2 weeks. This will be my absolute first time at a track and I'll be running with the novice group with an instructor. I'm in a bit of a dilemma and wondering how safe/ideal it would be to run staggered 403m w/ RFT? (Eagle F1 with < 10k miles, BUT they have a slight tire bulge when warmed up lol).

Since it is my first time is it okay to run staggered? would it be worth going to non RFT in any case for handling and safety since one of my tires are slightly bulging?
OR
Should i swallow the up front cost and find a square setup since i may go more frequently down the line?

I don't think I will be able to get the setup i want (apex 18x8.5 ec7 or sm-10) in time with rubber on them before the 14th. I could also just do a ride along but thats no fun. What are my options here?

edit: Just noticed this post should have probably been in the wheel and tire section. Apologies!

Last edited by nocosine; 03-03-2021 at 03:19 PM..
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2021, 06:36 PM   #2
FaRKle!
Brigadier General
Rep
Drives: 328d Wagon, M2 Comp, i4 eD35

Garage List
For your first time you won't be pushing things hard and will be focusing on the line and smooth driving (smooth on/off brake and throttle), so your stock tires will be fine to run on.

Thunderhill is a great track to learn on. Can be made so things don't come up too soon after each other and lots of runoff if you're worried about that.