F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > Umm, so I havenít tuned my F30 yet. But...
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-26-2019, 03:47 PM   #1
F30_Joey
Registered
United_States
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: 2015 BMW 328xi
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Wichita, KS

iTrader: (0)

Umm, so I havenít tuned my F30 yet. But...

I took my car to dyno day (it was a warm night) and I was expecting low numbers because I didnít have an upgrade intercooler and had a stock down pipe. Could anybody explain this dyno to me?

Mods: CAI and Muffler delete are the only engine mods Iíve done.



I know the car (Stock) is suppose to make 240hp and 255 lb-ft tq but why am I trailing 365 lb-ft tq?

The Lower Hp number of 220 is explainable because it was hot and Iím running a stockie cooler.
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2019, 06:24 PM   #2
T5viggen
Second Lieutenant
205
Rep
227
Posts

Drives: F30 335i
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: North East

iTrader: (0)

The above dyno

__________________
2015 F30 335i EBII MSport
M Perf Exhaust | M Perf Brakes | M Perf LSD | CTS CP | CTS Catless DP | FMIC | BM3 Stage 2 93oct | 20" 405m | 10/15mm Spacers | KW V3ís | Vorshlag Camber Plates
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2019, 06:31 PM   #3
fantanas
First Lieutenant
United Kingdom
71
Rep
305
Posts

Drives: F33 435d
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

It seems that the torque is shown in Nm instead of ft lbs....
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2019, 06:55 PM   #4
F30_Joey
Registered
United_States
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: 2015 BMW 328xi
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Wichita, KS

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fantanas View Post
It seems that the torque is shown in Nm instead of ft lbs....
Thanks! I was thinking it was in ft-lb but itís a little strange they would do that. Thanks for the answer!
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2019, 07:43 PM   #5
Enabled
Captain
286
Rep
781
Posts

Drives: 328xd Wagon, M2 Competition
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Houston

iTrader: (0)

Tell them to set up the dyno printout better, and give you a correct printout. Since the picture is cropped, we can't see the units they used. Newton-meters does make sense.


Also 220hp at the wheels is more than 250hp at engine, so it's actually more than the factory rating, which is typical for your altitude and the corrections used on the dyno data.

See if your dyno shop can email you the dyno run files. Then you can generate your own graphs with and without SAE corrections, in whatever units you want.
__________________
-2014 328d Wagon 2WD, 8HP flash, self-tuned, 270hp/430ft-lbs.
-2019 M2 Competition, Alpine White. Self-tuned 530hp
Others:
-E36 328is. 2000 Z3 Roady. 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual. Estoril Z3M Coupe.
Appreciate 0
      07-28-2019, 11:58 AM   #6
jmg
Lieutenant General
jmg's Avatar
United_States
9743
Rep
10,542
Posts

Drives: F80 M3 CS, I01 i3 REx LCI
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Orange County, CA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Agreed the torque units are probably Nm and besides that dyno numbers are meant to be baselines. Tune/modify your car and come back to the same dunk to see relative gains. Even though BMW underrates their cars, your dyno numbers aren't gospel. Different dynos can give you different numbers. They are a guide.
__________________
2018 F80 ///M3 CS - Lime Rock Grey Metallic | MPE | MPHAS | GC Camber Plates | PFC-08 | RE-71R
2019 I01 i3 BEV - Giga World
Previous: F80 M3 | I01 i3 Rex LCI | I01 i3 REx | F30 340i M Sport ZTR | F30 328i Sport | Audi B7 S4 25Quattro #33 of 250 | E21 320i
Appreciate 0
      07-28-2019, 12:26 PM   #7
deviantspeed
poopycat
United_States
248
Rep
749
Posts

Drives: 2017 F31 330i
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: I live in a tent

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Enabled View Post

See if your dyno shop can email you the dyno run files. Then you can generate your own graphs with and without SAE corrections, in whatever units you want.
Software is called winpep:

https://www.dynojet.com/downloads/do...tware/Firmware
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
328xi, dyno, question

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST