F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > cic to nbt upgrade
Carbahn Autoworks
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-18-2017, 09:37 AM   #23
steve@codemybimmer
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
steve@codemybimmer's Avatar
Canada
303
Rep
1,636
Posts


Drives: 2016 M235i xDrive Cabriolet
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto, ON

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by palomino05 View Post
I'll probably have to buy one from you guys , this one seems like to much work . I will have to save up since I wasted money on this one
No worries, just let me know. It will take a week to source and prep one for you
__________________
Codemybimmer
USA Toll Free: +1(866)480-8094 Canada: +1(647)849-1003 (9:00am - 3:00pm) EST info@codemybimmer.ca;.;www.codemybimmer.ca
2018 CIC & NBT Map Updates | Remote Coding Package| Sirius XM Retrofit Save 10% With Promo Code "Bimmerpost"
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2017, 08:45 AM   #24
Blueyzfr169
Registered
United Kingdom
4
Rep
52
Posts

Drives: 2014 335d F30 XDrive M Sport
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Fareham, England

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by palomino05 View Post
Wow do I just wasted my money , so your saying I cannot use this unit for navigation on my car ?
I've just got an NBT Evo and it has a blue GPS connector. I've mounted the GPS aerial on the bar behind the dashboard clocks and it works very well.
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2017, 09:28 AM   #25
AGONXF30
Lieutenant
United_States
89
Rep
422
Posts

Drives: 2012 335i S-Line/Melbourne Red
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Upstate

iTrader: (0)

I have a CIC system and I am happy with it. The NBT while better, is not a lot better to go through the hassle. If I wanted to retrofit the latest, what would I need. Is it even possible?
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2017, 03:56 AM   #26
mdcagil
New Member
mdcagil's Avatar
Turkey
0
Rep
15
Posts

Drives: 3.20i ED LCI
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Ankara

iTrader: (0)

Guys.
I also want to upgrade to hu_nbt. Looking at eBay. There are many options but their backs are different. Do you know what are the differences?
Attached Images
   
Appreciate 0
      03-25-2018, 12:32 PM   #27
rezadue
Two turbos are better than one!
rezadue's Avatar
Canada
24
Rep
219
Posts

Drives: 2013 335 X-Drive M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ottawa, Ontario

iTrader: (0)

I am in the same boat as Tim, except I have the HK sound system - 2013 335 M-Sport with CIC.

What reasonable options are there for people such as us in terms of upgrading the CIC? It seems like:

1) NBT upgrade is harder and more expensive (Stve can you comment on just how mch?)
2) Android 10.25" units are buggy and support is spotty
3) Apple carplay is useless for people like me with an Android phone

Thanks



Quote:
Originally Posted by steve@codemybimmer View Post
You're going to need to take the amp trigger wire and tap it to the fuse because the NBT is not going to know how to turn on the amp. Also, you'll need a new USB and Bluetooth Antenna as those are currently connected to the Combox. Also note that your AM/FM antenna wires are different so you will lose AM radio.

Once you disable the combox, you'll also have to terminate the most loop so that DTC messages and Service Internals can show up properly on the instrument cluster. Also, your microphone will need to be disconnected and you'll need to run it to pins 17 and 22 on the quad lock as that too also goes to the combox currently.

We usually don't recommend this retrofit due to the amount of work involved. HU_ENTRY to NBT is much easier as HU_ENTRY is wired exactly like an NBT due to the combox not being present.
__________________

335 xDrive M Sport, MPPK
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2018, 09:51 AM   #28
cshawkeye
Captain
cshawkeye's Avatar
United_States
31
Rep
643
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i xDrive M Sport
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Alexandria

iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to cshawkeye
I am in a similar boat, same year car with the older iDrive system. I have the older NAV system and iDRive system and I wanted to see what I would have to do to upgrade my unit to one of the newer iDrive systems. It just sucks that I should have wait a few more months for the 2014's to drop but got a killer deal on my car in 2016.
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2018, 03:58 AM   #29
Andrei_UK
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: BMW 116d 2013
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve@codemybimmer View Post
If you get the ATM emulator as well as the Can Filtering harness, you should be ok. I don't think anyone else here has used an ATM emulator as of yet so you will be the first to find out
I have retrofit my BMW F20 2013 car came with standard HU , I retrofit with NBT EVO 2 ID6 aftermarket ATM witch activate SatNav and slot for GPS
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2018, 11:06 AM   #30
HaugF30
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
32
Posts

Drives: Bmw F30
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Norway

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve@codemybimmer View Post
You're going to need to take the amp trigger wire and tap it to the fuse because the NBT is not going to know how to turn on the amp. Also, you'll need a new USB and Bluetooth Antenna as those are currently connected to the Combox. Also note that your AM/FM antenna wires are different so you will lose AM radio.

Once you disable the combox, you'll also have to terminate the most loop so that DTC messages and Service Internals can show up properly on the instrument cluster. Also, your microphone will need to be disconnected and you'll need to run it to pins 17 and 22 on the quad lock as that too also goes to the combox currently.

We usually don't recommend this retrofit due to the amount of work involved. HU_ENTRY to NBT is much easier as HU_ENTRY is wired exactly like an NBT due to the combox not being present.

Hi, i have recently installed a NBT HU in my Pre Lci F11, i used the Pre Lci retrofit kit from bimmerretrofit but i got no sound in my system, i know this is a 5 series car, but do you think it will be the same? have you done a installation in a 5 series car?
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2018, 11:10 AM   #31
steve@codemybimmer
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
steve@codemybimmer's Avatar
Canada
303
Rep
1,636
Posts


Drives: 2016 M235i xDrive Cabriolet
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto, ON

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by HaugF30 View Post
Hi, i have recently installed a NBT HU in my Pre Lci F11, i used the Pre Lci retrofit kit from bimmerretrofit but i got no sound in my system, i know this is a 5 series car, but do you think it will be the same? have you done a installation in a 5 series car?
Do you have Hi-Fi or Harman Kardon?
__________________
Codemybimmer
USA Toll Free: +1(866)480-8094 Canada: +1(647)849-1003 (9:00am - 3:00pm) EST info@codemybimmer.ca;.;www.codemybimmer.ca
2018 CIC & NBT Map Updates | Remote Coding Package| Sirius XM Retrofit Save 10% With Promo Code "Bimmerpost"
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2018, 11:35 AM   #32
HaugF30
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
32
Posts

Drives: Bmw F30
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Norway

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve@codemybimmer View Post
Do you have Hi-Fi or Harman Kardon?
Oh i forgot to mention, i have Hifi 676 which is FA coded to the NBT_HU

It doesn't matter if i disconnect everything from the Combox or not, still no sound.

My thought is that i also need Most Loop on the Fibre optic comming from the Combox, what do you think?
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2018, 12:34 PM   #33
steve@codemybimmer
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
steve@codemybimmer's Avatar
Canada
303
Rep
1,636
Posts


Drives: 2016 M235i xDrive Cabriolet
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto, ON

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by HaugF30 View Post
Oh i forgot to mention, i have Hifi 676 which is FA coded to the NBT_HU

It doesn't matter if i disconnect everything from the Combox or not, still no sound.

My thought is that i also need Most Loop on the Fibre optic comming from the Combox, what do you think?
hmmm, Hifi is via most on the F10 if I'm not mistaken. Did you move the black and green optical cable from quad lock over to the Bimmerretrofit harness?
__________________
Codemybimmer
USA Toll Free: +1(866)480-8094 Canada: +1(647)849-1003 (9:00am - 3:00pm) EST info@codemybimmer.ca;.;www.codemybimmer.ca
2018 CIC & NBT Map Updates | Remote Coding Package| Sirius XM Retrofit Save 10% With Promo Code "Bimmerpost"
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2018, 01:37 PM   #34
HaugF30
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
32
Posts

Drives: Bmw F30
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Norway

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve@codemybimmer View Post
hmmm, Hifi is via most on the F10 if I'm not mistaken. Did you move the black and green optical cable from quad lock over to the Bimmerretrofit harness?
Yes i did, i also put a most loop connector to the lines which were previously connected to the Zgw.
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2018, 03:21 PM   #35
steve@codemybimmer
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
steve@codemybimmer's Avatar
Canada
303
Rep
1,636
Posts


Drives: 2016 M235i xDrive Cabriolet
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto, ON

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by HaugF30 View Post
Yes i did, i also put a most loop connector to the lines which were previously connected to the Zgw.
I would say at this point that the head unit is not coded to the proper amp. Did you VO code the NBT?
__________________
Codemybimmer
USA Toll Free: +1(866)480-8094 Canada: +1(647)849-1003 (9:00am - 3:00pm) EST info@codemybimmer.ca;.;www.codemybimmer.ca
2018 CIC & NBT Map Updates | Remote Coding Package| Sirius XM Retrofit Save 10% With Promo Code "Bimmerpost"
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2018, 06:02 PM   #36
HaugF30
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
32
Posts

Drives: Bmw F30
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Norway

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve@codemybimmer View Post
I would say at this point that the head unit is not coded to the proper amp. Did you VO code the NBT?
It is Vo Coded with the 676 Code for the 676 Hifi system yes, i took the FA list from the car and Vo coded it into the NBT_HU.
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2018, 07:49 PM   #37
steve@codemybimmer
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
steve@codemybimmer's Avatar
Canada
303
Rep
1,636
Posts


Drives: 2016 M235i xDrive Cabriolet
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto, ON

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by HaugF30 View Post
It is Vo Coded with the 676 Code for the 676 Hifi system yes, i took the FA list from the car and Vo coded it into the NBT_HU.
Only thing I can suggest is to bridge pins 13 and 15 on the quad lock together and that should power on your diversity antenna and presumably the external amp.
__________________
Codemybimmer
USA Toll Free: +1(866)480-8094 Canada: +1(647)849-1003 (9:00am - 3:00pm) EST info@codemybimmer.ca;.;www.codemybimmer.ca
2018 CIC & NBT Map Updates | Remote Coding Package| Sirius XM Retrofit Save 10% With Promo Code "Bimmerpost"
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2018, 02:48 AM   #38
HaugF30
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
32
Posts

Drives: Bmw F30
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Norway

iTrader: (0)

Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve@codemybimmer View Post
Only thing I can suggest is to bridge pins 13 and 15 on the quad lock together and that should power on your diversity antenna and presumably the external amp.
Hehe, i just found this thread, before i saw your answer


https://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/sh...5#post23711925

Yes this must be the reason i guess, just find it strange that Bimmerretrofit didn't know about this
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2018, 07:02 PM   #39
HaugF30
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
32
Posts

Drives: Bmw F30
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Norway

iTrader: (0)

Yep, connected a wire from Pin 13 to Pin 15 at the Bimmerretrofit ENbt adapter's Quadlock and voila, i got sound from the system again

But i got a coupple of other problems, anyone know what to do?

I have coded the Oelstand in Fdl, but the meter is grey and is showing only a few percent at the bottom.

The other problem is that then i try to set the setting of the tailgate in the idrive, the setting goes down again, kinda like those 80's Equalizer meter's, is there something i have forgotten to Fdl code here?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:55 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST