F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > K-Can1 or K-Can2 for 2014?
Extreme Power House
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-12-2018, 07:31 PM   #1
SuhaibD98
New Member
0
Rep
26
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 M Sport 2014
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

K-Can1 or K-Can2 for 2014?

I own a 2014 F30

What K-Can wiring would I have

Or how do I check
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2018, 10:10 PM   #2
IK6SPEED
Major General
IK6SPEED's Avatar
United_States
1938
Rep
6,141
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 / AH3
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento, CA

iTrader: (17)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SuhaibD98 View Post
I own a 2014 F30

What K-Can wiring would I have

Or how do I check
You have both.

What circuit are you asking about? IDrive? Thatís KCAN 2 in 2014.
__________________
Stable: F80 / AH3
Past: F80 ZCP / F22 M235i / E89 35is
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2018, 01:57 AM   #3
SuhaibD98
New Member
0
Rep
26
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 M Sport 2014
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IK6SPEED View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuhaibD98 View Post
I own a 2014 F30

What K-Can wiring would I have

Or how do I check
You have both.

What circuit are you asking about? IDrive? That’s KCAN 2 in 2014.
Can i wire in a touch controller then?
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2018, 02:15 AM   #4
IK6SPEED
Major General
IK6SPEED's Avatar
United_States
1938
Rep
6,141
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 / AH3
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento, CA

iTrader: (17)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SuhaibD98 View Post
Can i wire in a touch controller then?
Yes, but this is easier

https://www.ebay.com/itm/BMW-F10-F07...r/162664866787
__________________
Stable: F80 / AH3
Past: F80 ZCP / F22 M235i / E89 35is
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2018, 03:00 AM   #5
SuhaibD98
New Member
0
Rep
26
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 M Sport 2014
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IK6SPEED View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuhaibD98 View Post
Can i wire in a touch controller then?
Yes, but this is easier

https://www.ebay.com/itm/BMW-F10-F07...r/162664866787
Can i use this
https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?m...2F262689576519
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2018, 03:10 AM   #6
SuhaibD98
New Member
0
Rep
26
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 M Sport 2014
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IK6SPEED View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuhaibD98 View Post
Can i wire in a touch controller then?
Yes, but this is easier

https://www.ebay.com/itm/BMW-F10-F07...r/162664866787
Is there anyway i can confirm that I have a k-can2 for my controller??
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2018, 05:30 AM   #7
IK6SPEED
Major General
IK6SPEED's Avatar
United_States
1938
Rep
6,141
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 / AH3
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento, CA

iTrader: (17)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SuhaibD98 View Post
You are determined to make it harder and more expensive for yourself than it has to be, huh?

You purchase the y adapter I listed above this ecu

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/BMW-F20-F...4/123350407250

Or make an offer on this one

https://www.ebay.com/itm/MBA033-17-B...0/192653100441


Quote:
Originally Posted by SuhaibD98 View Post
Is there anyway i can confirm that I have a k-can2 for my controller??
What are the exact colors of the wires and stripes going to the iDrive controller?

The better question would be if you actually have a touch controller.
__________________
Stable: F80 / AH3
Past: F80 ZCP / F22 M235i / E89 35is

Last edited by IK6SPEED; 09-13-2018 at 05:38 AM.
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2018, 05:41 AM   #8
SuhaibD98
New Member
0
Rep
26
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 M Sport 2014
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IK6SPEED View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuhaibD98 View Post
You are determined to make it harder and more expensive for yourself than it has to be, huh?

You purchase the y adapter I listed above this ecu

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/BMW-F20-F...4/123350407250

What are the exact colors of the wires and stripes going to the iDrive controller?

The better question would be if you actually have a touch controller.
Because I'm retrofitting the NBT

and if i was to go with your method would it mean purchasing that y splitter cable you sent and this harness instead?

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?m...2F191882588826

And yes I've got a touch controller

and if i was to use that method the only thing that won't work is the touch features, that's all right
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2018, 09:15 AM   #9
IK6SPEED
Major General
IK6SPEED's Avatar
United_States
1938
Rep
6,141
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 / AH3
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento, CA

iTrader: (17)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SuhaibD98 View Post
Because I'm retrofitting the NBT

and if i was to go with your method would it mean purchasing that y splitter cable you sent and this harness instead?

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?m...2F191882588826

And yes I've got a touch controller

and if i was to use that method the only thing that won't work is the touch features, that's all right
You stated you were trying to add touch. You donít think that was an major detail you should have stated upfront?
__________________
Stable: F80 / AH3
Past: F80 ZCP / F22 M235i / E89 35is
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2018, 09:49 AM   #10
SuhaibD98
New Member
0
Rep
26
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 M Sport 2014
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IK6SPEED View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuhaibD98 View Post
Because I'm retrofitting the NBT

and if i was to go with your method would it mean purchasing that y splitter cable you sent and this harness instead?

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?m...2F191882588826

And yes I've got a touch controller

and if i was to use that method the only thing that won't work is the touch features, that's all right
You stated you were trying to add touch. You don’t think that was an major detail you should have stated upfront?
Would that make a huge difference? Wiring should be the same
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:58 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST