F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > Looking at a MY14 328d F31
Studio RSR

08-18-2019, 08:07 AM   #1
TechnicolorKid
Registered
Rep
Drives: 2008 Volvo XC70

Looking at a MY14 328d F31

Hi all!

Newbie here to the world of BMW! It's time for me to upgrade my car as the Volvo I drive is kicking the bucket. Been a great car overall but I want something a little more premium and better on fuel (since I drive close to 100miles a day in commute).

Since I currently drive a wagon (08' XC70) I said that a wagon is what I want to continue with. I found a great deal on a MY14 328d but I'm not sure if I should take the plunge or not.

It's mineral gray with 91k on the clock. From VIN decoder, it looks as if it was purchased with the least amount of packages possible. Not a deal-breaker for me. No damage and a 1 owner clean carfax that states it was taken to the BMW dealership for all of its service (I take carfax with a grain of salt because it sometimes has missing information).

I've scoured the forums and haven't really come across many who have a 328d with higher mileage. (91k not high in my book, my current car has close to 200k) How reliable are these wagons? Anything I should specifically look out for? I really like the car and plan to make the trip out to see it this week to see it in person. Any insight or thoughts would be greatly appreciated! Excited to be apart of these forums and the BMW community.

Last edited by TechnicolorKid; 08-18-2019 at 11:16 AM..
Appreciate 0
      08-18-2019, 08:14 AM   #2
zswickliffe
Private
Rep
Drives: BMW 330i xDrive Wagon (F31)

I don't have one but when I was shopping I know some had t̶o̶r̶q̶u̶e̶ ̶c̶o̶n̶v̶e̶r̶t̶e̶r̶s̶ transfer cases fail and emissions system issues (I'm not sure if it's EGR or DEF system).