F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > BMW F30 3 Series Coding DIY - Code Auto Start Stop, DVD, Folding Mirrors, Etc.
ARMA SPEED
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-12-2021, 10:39 AM   #16061
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
6016
Rep
30,101
Posts

Drives: 2018 Alpina B6 650ix GC
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainLockdown View Post
...But it's all working now! Was much easier than I thought. Thanks for the help again.
__________________

2018 F06 Alpina B6 650ix GC; Space Grey; Vermillion Red Nappa Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant
2017 F15 X5 xDrive50i MSport; Glacier Silver Metallic; Black Dakota Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant; RSE
Appreciate 0
      11-19-2021, 06:44 AM   #16062
barni320
New Member
0
Rep
21
Posts

Drives: BMW 428i F32
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Poland

iTrader: (0)

HI

I have few questions about esys backups.

I made FDL Coding, before that i saved FA and SVT and I thought that are my backups. Now I read that to revert my changes I've should save CAFD NCD files after reading coding data.

That's procedure I've found:
Restore .NCD:
Connect => Read FA (VO) => Activate FA (VO) => Read SVT (VCM) => Right-Click CAFD File => Select New FDL => Navigate to C:\ESysData\CAF and select matching .NCD file => Left-Click on Inserted CAFD => Select FDL Code.


1)So now my question is, can I do something with FA or SVT files to restore my changes without CAFD (.NCD)? Or maybe I Can load SVT and then code it somehow?

2)I have one NCD file in E-sys CAF folders, but this data is before FDL coding (automatic backup?) or it's overwritten file by me?


Edit: I don't want to VO code whole module, because i made some changes before that i want to keep.

Last edited by barni320; 11-19-2021 at 06:46 AM.. Reason: EDIT
Appreciate 0
      11-19-2021, 10:21 AM   #16063
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
6016
Rep
30,101
Posts

Drives: 2018 Alpina B6 650ix GC
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by barni320 View Post
HI

I have few questions about esys backups.

I made FDL Coding, before that i saved FA and SVT and I thought that are my backups. Now I read that to revert my changes I've should save CAFD NCD files after reading coding data.

That's procedure I've found:
Restore .NCD:
Connect => Read FA (VO) => Activate FA (VO) => Read SVT (VCM) => Right-Click CAFD File => Select New FDL => Navigate to C:\ESysData\CAF and select matching .NCD file => Left-Click on Inserted CAFD => Select FDL Code.


1)So now my question is, can I do something with FA or SVT files to restore my changes without CAFD (.NCD)? Or maybe I Can load SVT and then code it somehow?

2)I have one NCD file in E-sys CAF folders, but this data is before FDL coding (automatic backup?) or it's overwritten file by me?


Edit: I don't want to VO code whole module, because i made some changes before that i want to keep.
If you want to backup modified .ncd files (post FDL Coding), simply read ECU Coding Data after FDL Coding, and copy the corresponding ECU .ncd file from C:\Data\CAF to backup location.

If your plan to do so though is so you can restore FDL Coding if ECU is upgraded via programming, I would not do so as if dealer programs the car, ECU will get a new CAFD, and restoring backed up coding data from old CAFD "A" into new CAFD "B" is not wise. They may not be aligned.

Why bother anyway, when you can recode car in 10 minutes.
__________________

2018 F06 Alpina B6 650ix GC; Space Grey; Vermillion Red Nappa Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant
2017 F15 X5 xDrive50i MSport; Glacier Silver Metallic; Black Dakota Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant; RSE
Appreciate 0
      11-19-2021, 10:42 AM   #16064
barni320
New Member
0
Rep
21
Posts

Drives: BMW 428i F32
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Poland

iTrader: (0)

If i knew it before that backups are in NCD files there were be no question. I thought SVT are backups, my bad. Now i have corresponding .NCD but I'm not sure if that appeared in esys folder after changes or before i made them. Can I check it somehow? "Read coding data" creates NCD or I created it by saving my changes?

The problem is I forgot what i coded 6mths ago . During this period was no ECU upgrade, so I assume restoring data from NCD is safe.
Appreciate 0
      11-19-2021, 12:22 PM   #16065
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
6016
Rep
30,101
Posts

Drives: 2018 Alpina B6 650ix GC
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by barni320 View Post
If i knew it before that backups are in NCD files there were be no question. I thought SVT are backups, my bad. Now i have corresponding .NCD but I'm not sure if that appeared in esys folder after changes or before i made them. Can I check it somehow? "Read coding data" creates NCD or I created it by saving my changes?

The problem is I forgot what i coded 6mths ago . During this period was no ECU upgrade, so I assume restoring data from NCD is safe.
Saved FA is backup of Vehicle Order (e.g. Build Date, Type Code, Option Codes, etc.)

Saved SVT is back of installed ECU's and their Hardware and Firmware versions.

Any time you Read Coding Data from an ECU, it creates a fresh .ncd file which contains all current ECU Coding, whatever that may be. So long as ECU has not been updated with a newer CAFD file, then restoring coding data from a backed up .ncd file.

You can Open .ncd is in E-Sys FDL Editor, and spot check it to see if it contains your FDL Code changes or not.
__________________

2018 F06 Alpina B6 650ix GC; Space Grey; Vermillion Red Nappa Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant
2017 F15 X5 xDrive50i MSport; Glacier Silver Metallic; Black Dakota Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant; RSE
Appreciate 1
      11-19-2021, 12:44 PM   #16066
barni320
New Member
0
Rep
21
Posts

Drives: BMW 428i F32
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Poland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Saved FA is backup of Vehicle Order (e.g. Build Date, Type Code, Option Codes, etc.)

Saved SVT is back of installed ECU's and their Hardware and Firmware versions.

Any time you Read Coding Data from an ECU, it creates a fresh .ncd file which contains all current ECU Coding, whatever that may be. So long as ECU has not been updated with a newer CAFD file, then restoring coding data from a backed up .ncd file.

You can Open .ncd is in E-Sys FDL Editor, and spot check it to see if it contains your FDL Code changes or not.

Thank You!

That FDL Editor clarified me everything. It's modified .ncd, so I can assume that saving changes overwrite created earlier .ncd.

Thanks for explanation.
Appreciate 0
      11-23-2021, 09:51 AM   #16067
cjn
Private First Class
39
Rep
180
Posts

Drives: 2021 F40 M135iX
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Sean, would you be kind enough to send the latest ESys package. I'm now a couple of years out of date.
Also, which F-series data set is used for a 2021 F40 M135i car?
Thank you.
Appreciate 0
      11-23-2021, 10:51 AM   #16068
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
6016
Rep
30,101
Posts

Drives: 2018 Alpina B6 650ix GC
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjn View Post
Sean, would you be kind enough to send the latest ESys package. I'm now a couple of years out of date.
Also, which F-series data set is used for a 2021 F40 M135i car?
Thank you.
PM sent.
__________________

2018 F06 Alpina B6 650ix GC; Space Grey; Vermillion Red Nappa Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant
2017 F15 X5 xDrive50i MSport; Glacier Silver Metallic; Black Dakota Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant; RSE
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2021, 12:21 PM   #16069
diem
Registered
3
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: BMW F31 2015
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Hi Shawn

Could you also send me the latest e-sys PM?
I've got a cable but would be my first time setting it up.

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2021, 12:22 PM   #16070
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
6016
Rep
30,101
Posts

Drives: 2018 Alpina B6 650ix GC
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by diem View Post
Hi Shawn

Could you also send me the latest e-sys PM?
I've got a cable but would be my first time setting it up.

Thanks
Your Receive PM function is disabled. PM me when working.
__________________

2018 F06 Alpina B6 650ix GC; Space Grey; Vermillion Red Nappa Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant
2017 F15 X5 xDrive50i MSport; Glacier Silver Metallic; Black Dakota Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant; RSE
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2021, 04:29 AM   #16071
Mch81
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: bmw e61
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: CZ

iTrader: (0)

Hi guys,

I am new to Esys coding. I used NCS expert for E series, but planning to buy G31 and I want to have same ability to do small changes.

1) I have problem with Launcher. I have MAC and I virtualise WIN1903 via parallels.
E-Sys_Setup-3.27.1_RC_b44813
E-Sys Launcher PRO 2.8.2_Build_162b BFU Edition
ESysLauncherPremiumSetup_2.8.2_Build_155
PSDZDATA 4.27.22

I did all installation but when I run Launcher Preminum, it did not start at all.
I figured ou that for virtualisation I need Launcher PRO.
All is good until providing password and activating. App falls down and when I want to open activation window again it falls down.
Do you have any clue what could be the issue?
I have installed JAVA 8, C++ version 2010 x86/64, WIN 20H2 and nothing helped.

I have read that there is version 3.x to use, but TM has disappeared and don't know how to activate it.

2) does any of you any have cheat sheet for G31?

3) if I mess anything with car. Will I be able to return back with backed up ECUs?

4) If I talk only about coding ECUs, is Bimmercode good alternative with same options (especially expert mode)?

Thank you for any help.

Michal
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2021, 02:22 PM   #16072
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
6016
Rep
30,101
Posts

Drives: 2018 Alpina B6 650ix GC
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mch81 View Post
Hi guys,

I am new to Esys coding. I used NCS expert for E series, but planning to buy G31 and I want to have same ability to do small changes.

1) I have problem with Launcher. I have MAC and I virtualise WIN1903 via parallels.
E-Sys_Setup-3.27.1_RC_b44813
E-Sys Launcher PRO 2.8.2_Build_162b BFU Edition
ESysLauncherPremiumSetup_2.8.2_Build_155
PSDZDATA 4.27.22

I did all installation but when I run Launcher Preminum, it did not start at all.
I figured ou that for virtualisation I need Launcher PRO.
All is good until providing password and activating. App falls down and when I want to open activation window again it falls down.
Do you have any clue what could be the issue?
I have installed JAVA 8, C++ version 2010 x86/64, WIN 20H2 and nothing helped.

I have read that there is version 3.x to use, but TM has disappeared and don't know how to activate it.

2) does any of you any have cheat sheet for G31?

3) if I mess anything with car. Will I be able to return back with backed up ECUs?

4) If I talk only about coding ECUs, is Bimmercode good alternative with same options (especially expert mode)?

Thank you for any help.

Michal
Launcher PRO does NOT support VM use anymore than Launcher PREMIUM does. With MAC, you need to use Bootcamp or VMWare VM with modified .vmx file.

Cheat Codes are built into E-Sys Launcher.

I can't comment on "mess anything with car". That would depend on what if anything got messed up. Generally speaking, if just coding, it can always be set back to factory just by VO Coding.

I also can't comment on Bimmercode. I don't use it myself.
__________________

2018 F06 Alpina B6 650ix GC; Space Grey; Vermillion Red Nappa Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant
2017 F15 X5 xDrive50i MSport; Glacier Silver Metallic; Black Dakota Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant; RSE
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2021, 05:23 AM   #16073
Mch81
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: bmw e61
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: CZ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Launcher PRO does NOT support VM use anymore than Launcher PREMIUM does. With MAC, you need to use Bootcamp or VMWare VM with modified .vmx file.

Cheat Codes are built into E-Sys Launcher.

I can't comment on "mess anything with car". That would depend on what if anything got messed up. Generally speaking, if just coding, it can always be set back to factory just by VO Coding.

I also can't comment on Bimmercode. I don't use it myself.
Thank you Shawn! really appreciate what you do here.

OK, I will have to use my wife's laptop

Just to confirm - to fix via VO coding you mean remove VO and add it back. right?
for that I need full version od PSDZData, don't I?
What version of Esys and Launcher would you recommend?

Thank you.

Michal
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2021, 08:05 AM   #16074
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
6016
Rep
30,101
Posts

Drives: 2018 Alpina B6 650ix GC
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mch81 View Post
Thank you Shawn! really appreciate what you do here.

OK, I will have to use my wife's laptop

Just to confirm - to fix via VO coding you mean remove VO and add it back. right?
for that I need full version od PSDZData, don't I?
What version of Esys and Launcher would you recommend?

Thank you.

Michal
I mean VO Code the ECU using original unmodified FA. Full needed ONLY for flashing. I use LE-Sys 3.27.1 and Launcher PRO 2.8.2 for FDL Coding.
__________________

2018 F06 Alpina B6 650ix GC; Space Grey; Vermillion Red Nappa Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant
2017 F15 X5 xDrive50i MSport; Glacier Silver Metallic; Black Dakota Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant; RSE
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2021, 10:45 AM   #16075
Mch81
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: bmw e61
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: CZ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
I mean VO Code the ECU using original unmodified FA. Full needed ONLY for flashing. I use LE-Sys 3.27.1 and Launcher PRO 2.8.2 for FDL Coding.
thank you
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2021, 11:56 PM   #16076
AriZoNaiCe
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: 2014 335xi M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (0)

Hi Shawn -- would you mind sending me the most current Esys and psdzdata info? I have an F30 that I'd like to code.

Using what I've found around the web seems to tell me that 3.27.1 is the "best" version to use, but that with a newer psdzdata results in an error in KisAlAdapater "Unsupported major.minor version 52.0", which I guess means that was compiled against Java 8 and we depend on Java 7 for Esys 3.27.1.

**Update**

The above error is the result of running Esys Launcher in a VM. There are published workarounds that require using VMware (not VirtualBox) and editing the .vmx file for your VM. In a VM, Esys is a bit slow and requires slightly more effort to get functioning, so it's recommended not to use a VM unless you are pretty comfortable with what that may entail.

Last edited by AriZoNaiCe; 12-05-2021 at 04:03 PM..
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2021, 11:59 PM   #16077
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
6016
Rep
30,101
Posts

Drives: 2018 Alpina B6 650ix GC
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by AriZoNaiCe View Post
Hi Shawn -- would you mind sending me the most current Esys and psdzdata info? I have an F30 that I'd like to code.

Using what I've found around the web seems to tell me that 3.27.1 is the "best" version to use, but that with a newer psdzdata results in an error in KisAlAdapater "Unsupported major.minor version 52.0", which I guess means that was compiled against Java 8 and we depend on Java 7 for Esys 3.27.1.

I'm posting this here in hopes I can post a reply once I get figured out to help others, in case they run into the same. :-)

Thanks!
I FDL Code with E-Sy s3.27.1 and latest PSdZData. PM sent.
__________________

2018 F06 Alpina B6 650ix GC; Space Grey; Vermillion Red Nappa Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant
2017 F15 X5 xDrive50i MSport; Glacier Silver Metallic; Black Dakota Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant; RSE
Appreciate 1
      12-02-2021, 08:03 PM   #16078
brokaens
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: BMW 320d
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: NSW

iTrader: (0)

Is there a way to code out the auto start stop so it's default is off?
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2021, 10:07 PM   #16079
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
6016
Rep
30,101
Posts

Drives: 2018 Alpina B6 650ix GC
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by brokaens View Post
Is there a way to code out the auto start stop so it's default is off?
Depends on car.
__________________

2018 F06 Alpina B6 650ix GC; Space Grey; Vermillion Red Nappa Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant
2017 F15 X5 xDrive50i MSport; Glacier Silver Metallic; Black Dakota Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant; RSE
Appreciate 0
      12-05-2021, 03:40 PM   #16080
AriZoNaiCe
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: 2014 335xi M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
I FDL Code with E-Sy s3.27.1 and latest PSdZData. PM sent.
Thanks, Shawn -- correct, as usual! If anyone else is struggling with this, another thing you can/should check is local firewall (Windows Defender Firewall in Windows 10). Once I disabled that, I was able to connect with no problem.

This is also true if using a VM, in which case you need to disable the default Firewall on *BOTH* the Host machine and the VM.

Thanks to Shawn and the entire community -- hugely helpful!
Appreciate 0
      12-05-2021, 03:48 PM   #16081
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
6016
Rep
30,101
Posts

Drives: 2018 Alpina B6 650ix GC
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by AriZoNaiCe View Post
Thanks, Shawn -- correct, as usual! If anyone else is struggling with this, another thing you can/should check is local firewall (Windows Defender Firewall in Windows 10). Once I disabled that, I was able to connect with no problem.

This is also true if using a VM, in which case you need to disable the default Firewall on *BOTH* the Host machine and the VM.

Thanks to Shawn and the entire community -- hugely helpful!
__________________

2018 F06 Alpina B6 650ix GC; Space Grey; Vermillion Red Nappa Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant
2017 F15 X5 xDrive50i MSport; Glacier Silver Metallic; Black Dakota Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant; RSE
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2021, 05:10 PM   #16082
mmmm_beer
New Member
3
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: 2019 430i Convertible
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Scottsdale, AZ

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Hi Shawn,
Could I also get the latest E-Sys package? My car is a 2019 F33 if that makes a difference.

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
3 series coding, 3 series f30, 3 series f30 coding, 3 series f30 forum, 3 series forum, 3-series forum, 5 series f10 coding, ass, ass disable, auto start stop, auto start stop disable, bmw 3 series coding, bmw 3 series f30, bmw 3 series forum, bmw 3-series f30, bmw 3-series forum, bmw 5 series coding, bmw auto start stop disable, bmw auto start stop disabling, bmw coding, bmw coding directions, bmw coding diy, bmw coding instructions, bmw diy, bmw diy forum, bmw f10 coding, bmw f30, bmw f30 3 series, bmw f30 3-series, bmw f30 coding, bmw f30 forum, coding 3 series, coding f30, coding f30 3 series, disable ass, disable auto start stop, disable bmw auto start stop, disabling auto start stop, disabling bmw auto start stop, f10 5 series coding, f10 coding, f30 3 series, f30 3 series coding, f30 3 series forum, f30 3-series, f30 3-series forum, f30 coding, f30 forum, f30 forums

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST