F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK - Off Topic > Don't buy the S23 for photography
proTUNING Freaks

03-24-2023, 03:08 PM   #1
winther1
Colonel
United Kingdom
Rep
Drives: 440i Gran Coupe with MPPSK

Don't buy the S23 for photography

Long post warning, but saw the S23 thread and thought I would give my 2 cents on what is currently the best phone for photography.
As a photographer, I have been waiting a long time for a proper 1" camera sensor phone (bigger sensor=bigger pixels, better low-light performance, reduced noise, better dynamic range and natural bokeh).
Sony did the Xperia-1 which was interesting but camera processing not very good. Samsung still refuse to go for the larger sensor and opts for marketing hype like the 200mp sensor (low light still crap and images still oversharpened) - and it's a crazy £1400. Hats off to the relentless advertising which is certain to convince many people that it's a revolution in mobile camera tech.
This year, many phones are being released with bigger sensors, lately the Honour 5, but only the Vivo X90 Pro+ currently has the full package.
I was counting the days until its release, only to get disappointed hearing it's a China only release. More research, and I concluded it was worth it.
It's now a month after the import (took 7 days/no custom charge), and I could not be happier. Debloating the Chinese apps was easy thanks to forum at XDA and everything is incredibly fast and smooth. Origin OS is brilliant. Battery life fantastic and charges from 0-100 in about 20 minutes (Samsung still behind with it's 45W charging speed). Best fingerprint scanner on the market.