F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > Comfort Access, PDC unavailable after M-Sport Bumper
Extreme Powerhouse
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-16-2019, 11:51 AM   #1
NVETHIS
Private First Class
16
Rep
112
Posts

Drives: '12 335i
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Washington, DC

iTrader: (0)

Comfort Access, PDC unavailable after M-Sport Bumper

BIMMERPOST
     Featured on BIMMERPOST.com
I installed an M-Sport rear bumper last night. Super easy install, transferred PDC and Comfort Access modules with no issues. Plugged everything back where it goes (plugs are specific and only go in one connector).

When I got back in and started car up and put it in reverse I get a message no parking assistance was available. Also my side mirrors don't fold in /out, drivers side window controls don't work. All other windows and sunroof open close with respective controls.

Im going to take the bumper off again and double check all connections, but I'm certain I got everything. I transferred the cinfort access controller to the new plastic mount with no issues, it was very easy. Buttoned everything up. I'm trying to figure out where in the system something might be messed up. Please HELP!



-NVE

Last edited by NVETHIS; 02-16-2019 at 01:14 PM.
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2019, 11:58 AM   #2
rak299
Lieutenant
United_States
138
Rep
438
Posts

Drives: 2018 340i xdrive F30 6MT
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: san francisco

iTrader: (0)

I have never looked at the connections, but there should be something going to the sensor that drives the foot-controlled trunk switch, or whatever that's called
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2019, 12:08 PM   #3
NVETHIS
Private First Class
16
Rep
112
Posts

Drives: '12 335i
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Washington, DC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rak299 View Post
I have never looked at the connections, but there should be something going to the sensor that drives the foot-controlled trunk switch, or whatever that's called
I made sure to plug all that back in.

-NVE
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2019, 12:17 PM   #4
NVETHIS
Private First Class
16
Rep
112
Posts

Drives: '12 335i
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Washington, DC

iTrader: (0)

I should mention that comfort Access on my door handles works to unlock and lock the car. Also, Active blind spot is now acting up after driving for a bit.



-NVE

Last edited by NVETHIS; 02-16-2019 at 01:14 PM.
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2019, 12:24 PM   #5
rak299
Lieutenant
United_States
138
Rep
438
Posts

Drives: 2018 340i xdrive F30 6MT
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: san francisco

iTrader: (0)

was the battery ground cable disconnected when you did the work?
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2019, 12:25 PM   #6
NVETHIS
Private First Class
16
Rep
112
Posts

Drives: '12 335i
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Washington, DC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rak299 View Post
was the battery ground cable disconnected when you did the work?
It was not. I forgot to unhook it.

-NVE
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2019, 12:56 PM   #7
rak299
Lieutenant
United_States
138
Rep
438
Posts

Drives: 2018 340i xdrive F30 6MT
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: san francisco

iTrader: (0)

you might unhook the ground and have a cup of coffee to let any residual capacitors discharge and hook it back up. See if it resets. That's free to try.
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2019, 01:16 PM   #8
NVETHIS
Private First Class
16
Rep
112
Posts

Drives: '12 335i
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Washington, DC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rak299 View Post
you might unhook the ground and have a cup of coffee to let any residual capacitors discharge and hook it back up. See if it resets. That's free to try.
I pulled the terminal for a min and reconnected it this morning. No luck. I just unhooked it and will let it sit for an hour or so. Hopefully that resets the system. Literally just moved the Comfort Access controller to the other mount and reconnected. It was super simple. I hope the controller didn't get damaged. I can't for the life of me think of anything else that I touched when swapping it.

-NVE
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2019, 02:33 PM   #9
NVETHIS
Private First Class
16
Rep
112
Posts

Drives: '12 335i
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Washington, DC

iTrader: (0)

Well, no luck. Let it sit without batter negative terminal connected for an hour. Same issues.

-NVE
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2019, 03:57 PM   #10
Billfitz
Major General
Billfitz's Avatar
United_States
2444
Rep
6,050
Posts

Drives: '15 328iX GT
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: New Hampshire

iTrader: (0)

Leaving the battery connected while working on modules and sensors can cause error codes to be generated, which can prevent items from functioning until the codes are cleared. That requires either a trip to the dealer or a good ODB diagnosis tool, like the Foxwell NT510. I can't imagine doing my own work without one.
Appreciate 1
NVETHIS15.50

      02-16-2019, 03:59 PM   #11
NVETHIS
Private First Class
16
Rep
112
Posts

Drives: '12 335i
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Washington, DC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billfitz View Post
Leaving the battery connected while working on modules and sensors can cause error codes to be generated, which can prevent items from functioning until the codes are cleared. That requires either a trip to the dealer or a good ODB diagnosis tool, like the Foxwell NT510. I can't imagine doing my own work without one.
I have BM3, which can read codes I believe. Will that work to clear any codes. I should have disconnected the battery, I totally forgot.

-NVE
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2019, 04:01 PM   #12
Billfitz
Major General
Billfitz's Avatar
United_States
2444
Rep
6,050
Posts

Drives: '15 328iX GT
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: New Hampshire

iTrader: (0)

I don't have BM3, so I can't say.
Appreciate 1
NVETHIS15.50

      02-16-2019, 04:02 PM   #13
NVETHIS
Private First Class
16
Rep
112
Posts

Drives: '12 335i
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Washington, DC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billfitz View Post
I don't have BM3, so I can't say.
Gotcha. Thanks for the suggestion. I'll hook it up and see if that's the case. I'm going to look for the one you mentioned as well just in case.

-NVE
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2019, 04:06 PM   #14
Billfitz
Major General
Billfitz's Avatar
United_States
2444
Rep
6,050
Posts

Drives: '15 328iX GT
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: New Hampshire

iTrader: (0)

http://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho...2#post23288222
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2019, 05:06 PM   #15
deviantspeed
moew
33
Rep
137
Posts

Drives: 2017 F31 330
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: I live in a tent

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billfitz View Post
I don't have BM3, so I can't say.
BM3 can (from their website)...

Read and clear trouble codes in all vehicle modules
Reset learned adaptations (octane, knock, Valvetronic, etc)
ECU power reset


Scan for specific codes, go from there. That's the 101 of guided fault finding.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST