F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > Regional Forums > UK > Apple CarPlay Full Screen mode
Extreme Powerhouse
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-13-2021, 04:53 PM   #1
beerglass007
Second Lieutenant
61
Rep
276
Posts

Drives: F36 440i
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK South West

iTrader: (1)

Apple CarPlay Full Screen mode

Has any paid for the mod to enable Apple CarPlay full screen mode ?

I currently have CarPlay enabled with a lifetime license which came with the car but currently its only 2/3 of the screen

There is mod/coders on the forum to enable full screen which seems pretty cool but wonder if BMW will get upset with a warranty issue or any further upgrades

Also when I checked my car details online the picture of Applecarplay on the BMW web site shows a full screen mode...How can they show this when they don't support it ???

Appreciate 0
      05-13-2021, 07:52 PM   #2
TensorFlow
Registered
Canada
2
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: F36 430i GC
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

You can get it coded to full screen. Pretty sure BMW doesn't care and it won't void your warranty. I had mine coded to full screen along with other options. Mine is a 430i. Any reputable providers (I had mine done at Codemybimmer) should be able to do it within 30 mins remotely.
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2021, 11:07 PM   #3
Localmotion
New Member
Localmotion's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
29
Posts

Drives: 2018 BMW 430i M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Sarasota

iTrader: (0)

If you have a NBTevo_N or newer you can enable full screen in Bimmercode app, expert mode yourself. That's what I did on my 430i
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2021, 11:39 PM   #4
Ace555
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: F30 320d M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Northamptonshire

iTrader: (0)

I am in the same boat with this. I have the lifetime sub but only get 2/3's of the screen in my 3 series (F30). Yet my wife's 1 series (F40) has the full screen. It's irritating to say the least.

I asked about this on a Facebook group and had people offer to remote code it but wanted over £100 to do so. My opinion was that was pretty pricey for something that's so basic. So I plan to get bimmercode and make a number of changes myself when my warranty is up.
__________________
His and Her's BMW household...
BMW 3 Series 320d F30
BMW 1 Series 118i F40
Appreciate 0
      05-14-2021, 03:09 AM   #5
Wibbles
Captain
United Kingdom
238
Rep
864
Posts

Drives: i3s
Join Date: May 2012
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

You have to have NBTevo_N or newer to enable Full screen.

Yiu may need to have the idrive updated first.
Appreciate 0
      05-14-2021, 03:44 PM   #6
badgerbrock72
Lieutenant
badgerbrock72's Avatar
92
Rep
595
Posts

Drives: 340i M-Sport
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Birmingham

iTrader: (1)

Hi wibbles

I have the lifetime subscription to car play from factory, but only the 2/3 display

I have NBTevo_P

Could this be coded via bimmercode or remotely?

Thanks in advance

Garry
Appreciate 1
kitster428.50
      05-15-2021, 12:14 PM   #7
Wibbles
Captain
United Kingdom
238
Rep
864
Posts

Drives: i3s
Join Date: May 2012
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by badgerbrock72 View Post
Hi wibbles

I have the lifetime subscription to car play from factory, but only the 2/3 display

I have NBTevo_P

Could this be coded via bimmercode or remotely?

Thanks in advance

Garry
Bimmercode won't help with this but it can be activated with an ENET cable and the right software.
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2021, 03:23 PM   #8
beerglass007
Second Lieutenant
61
Rep
276
Posts

Drives: F36 440i
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK South West

iTrader: (1)

Did mine today with eNet cable

Just the full screen cost me £35
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2021, 07:09 PM   #9
Localmotion
New Member
Localmotion's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
29
Posts

Drives: 2018 BMW 430i M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Sarasota

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wibbles View Post
Bimmercode won't help with this but it can be activated with an ENET cable and the right software.
Curious as to why you say this?

I enabled CarPlay fullscreen with Bimmercode in expert mode. took 2 minutes.
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2021, 07:35 PM   #10
Localmotion
New Member
Localmotion's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
29
Posts

Drives: 2018 BMW 430i M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Sarasota

iTrader: (0)

Here's the screenshots from Bimmercode
Attached Images
  
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2021, 03:30 AM   #11
Wibbles
Captain
United Kingdom
238
Rep
864
Posts

Drives: i3s
Join Date: May 2012
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Localmotion View Post
Curious as to why you say this?

I enabled CarPlay fullscreen with Bimmercode in expert mode. took 2 minutes.
Well, there are 2 possibilities here, if you are running NBTevo_X then you you can just enable full screen with coding.

The other possibility is that Bimmercode have a level5 password for enabling SSH in order to modify the carplay.ini file in the headunit - highly unlikely but not impossible.

So, which version of firmware are you running on your hedunit?
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2021, 10:14 AM   #12
bobbba
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
40
Posts

Drives: BMW 320D M Sport (E90)
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Localmotion View Post
Here's the screenshots from Bimmercode
I have nbtevo_q and tried this in bimmercode but it didnít work. It just resulted in a white square on the unused part of the carplay screen.
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2021, 01:45 PM   #13
Wibbles
Captain
United Kingdom
238
Rep
864
Posts

Drives: i3s
Join Date: May 2012
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbba View Post
I have nbtevo_q and tried this in bimmercode but it didnít work. It just resulted in a white square on the unused part of the carplay screen.
This is the expected result, it means that Bimmercode does not have the ability to enable full screen carplay unless your headunit is running the latest firmware.
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2021, 01:34 AM   #14
Localmotion
New Member
Localmotion's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
29
Posts

Drives: 2018 BMW 430i M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Sarasota

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wibbles View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Localmotion View Post
Curious as to why you say this?

I enabled CarPlay fullscreen with Bimmercode in expert mode. took 2 minutes.
Well, there are 2 possibilities here, if you are running NBTevo_X then you you can just enable full screen with coding.

The other possibility is that Bimmercode have a level5 password for enabling SSH in order to modify the carplay.ini file in the headunit - highly unlikely but not impossible.

So, which version of firmware are you running on your hedunit?
I upgraded mine to X
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2021, 03:47 AM   #15
Wibbles
Captain
United Kingdom
238
Rep
864
Posts

Drives: i3s
Join Date: May 2012
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Localmotion View Post
I upgraded mine to X
As I suspected.
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2021, 04:55 AM   #16
APJ
Captain
APJ's Avatar
United Kingdom
202
Rep
643
Posts

Drives: F36 435d M Sport Plus
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Greater Manchester

iTrader: (0)

Wibbles is there a simple coding way to get CarPlay on a ID4
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2021, 06:31 AM   #17
RatPC
New Member
RatPC's Avatar
3
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: F31 LCI
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: In the rear view mirror

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by APJ View Post
Wibbles is there a simple coding way to get CarPlay on a ID4
No i dont believe so...

I'm looking at picking up an ID5/6 HU and swapping that out to add Car Play for me
Appreciate 1
APJ202.00
      05-17-2021, 08:36 AM   #18
Wibbles
Captain
United Kingdom
238
Rep
864
Posts

Drives: i3s
Join Date: May 2012
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by APJ View Post
Wibbles is there a simple coding way to get CarPlay on a ID4
No - ID4 hardware can run ID5 firmware but it does not play nicely - anyone that tells you it does and you won't get rebooting issues is bullshitting you.

You have 2 options:

New headunit running 18-03 firmware - you can retain your existing screen and get full screen carplay.

MMI device/Android Screen - both are inferior to the option above.
Appreciate 1
APJ202.00
      05-17-2021, 01:00 PM   #19
ian332isport
Captain
ian332isport's Avatar
United Kingdom
434
Rep
846
Posts

Drives: F31 340i Shadow Edition
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Any idea how much BMW charge to update to the latest firmware?
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2021, 04:35 PM   #20
bobbba
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
40
Posts

Drives: BMW 320D M Sport (E90)
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Localmotion View Post
I upgraded mine to X
What version were you on before you upgraded? How did you upgrade?
Appreciate 0
      05-18-2021, 04:07 AM   #21
Wibbles
Captain
United Kingdom
238
Rep
864
Posts

Drives: i3s
Join Date: May 2012
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ian332isport View Post
Any idea how much BMW charge to update to the latest firmware?
proabably a few hundred pounds - you can do it yourself:

https://mega.nz/file/sMYDkA6C#tau7oT...Nv9WhRUp0PJVic
Appreciate 1
drdino54.50
      05-18-2021, 03:25 PM   #22
Localmotion
New Member
Localmotion's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
29
Posts

Drives: 2018 BMW 430i M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Sarasota

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbba View Post
What version were you on before you upgraded? How did you upgrade?
I was on K

I have a friend that has ISTA and a ICOM, we did it that way.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST