F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Tracking / Racing / Autocrossing > Track numbers - Magnetic
proTUNING Freaks

12-12-2020, 06:48 PM   #1
jonathanvictory
Hi!
Rep
Drives: F80 ZCP, F15 X5e

Track numbers - Magnetic

Hi! Any forum sponsors or members, or suggested websites that make and sell magnetic race number signs/decals? SCCA and NASA approved as well. I found a few websites, but I prefer to support someone associated to the forums if possible first. Thanks!
Appreciate 1
      12-14-2020, 12:28 PM   #2
Boomer 2019
Track Rat
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2023 M4 Comp

There are many manufacturers of magnetic numbers out there, and I am not going to make a recommendation. One is probably as good as the next. I have been using them for about 2 years now, and find their convenience, and relative ease on your paint the way to go for me. I track my car 2 or 3 weekends per month year round so these are important considerations for me.

I just have one piece of advice for you. All manufacturers advertise that their magnetic numbers will adhere to your car at both high speeds, and in sloppy conditions. From personal experience, and many conversations with other users I can tell you with certainty that this is not so. You must tape these pads into place or you will soon lose one on track. It doesn't need to be an elaborate job. Use 3in. clear track tape (so they still look purty), and just put 4 pieces at 1,3,6,and 12 o'clock, and you will come home with them every time.
      12-14-2020, 09:28 PM   #3
jonathanvictory
Hi!
Rep
Drives: F80 ZCP, F15 X5e

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boomer 2019 View Post