F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > Extended Warranty after CPO worth it?
Extreme Powerhouse

07-20-2019, 04:04 PM   #1
runner519
Registered
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2016 BMW 340i

Extended Warranty after CPO worth it?

I'm new to the BMW world. I had my old beater car for the past 12 years, and finally upgraded and love it. I recently got a 2016 340i xDrive with just over 18,000 miles on it, Certified Preowned. Being new to having an actual nice car, I want to make sure I'm taking care of it correctly and treating it like it should be.

When I got it, I was offered Extended Warranty options that if anyone with experience has their 2 cents on it I'd appreciate it. The 4 year/50k warranty will be done in June 2020 (not a chance I hit 50k miles, I drive tops of 12-15k a year), then the CPO warranty kicks in for a year after that, so until June 2021. What I am looking at is the option of doing the BMW Extended Platinum Warranty that is 5 years, which would take me to June of 2024, for a total cost of just under $5,000, divided up monthly over the next five years.

My first thought is no I shouldn't do it... it's a relatively new car with very low mileage, and $5k is a lot to dish out since the first of those five years has the manufacturer's warranty and the second year has the CPO warranty. I know the CPO warranty isn't all inclusive so the Extended Warranty would still have some coverage during that time. So in this scenario I'd be risking something going wrong with it that's not covered during those first two year or anything wrong with it those next 3 years, and if it did and it cost over $5,000 then I'd be looking back wishing I went with the warranty, but that seems like a steep price to me for that comfort.