F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Guide to Upgrade 6.5" Screen to 8.8" Screen HU_ENTRYNAV
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-10-2016, 03:27 PM   #1
kromix
Major
kromix's Avatar
United_States
181
Rep
1,130
Posts

Drives: '16 340i AW MSport
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami, FL

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2016 340i (F30)  [0.00]
Guide to Upgrade 6.5" Screen to 8.8" Screen HU_ENTRYNAV

What parts are required other than the screen itself?

What codes are needed?


My plan is to buy the 8.8" screen on ebay, is there a specific part number i need to look for?

What other requirements are there to upgrade?

This should work with the latest version of hardware and HU_ENTRYNAV with no navigation?

From what I understand this is what I need to do

Screen Swap then code code:

HU_NBT > 3000 HMI > DISPLAY_SIZE_RESOLUTION = 8.8_1280x480
HU_NBT > 3001 EXBOX > DISPLAY_VARIANTE = breites_display

Last edited by kromix; 01-10-2016 at 05:06 PM..
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2016, 02:08 AM   #2
TePee
Second Lieutenant
39
Rep
258
Posts

Drives: F34 LCI MY2019
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Home of BMW

iTrader: (0)

These are exactly the 2 FDL codings you need.

Then connect L7 High 8,8" screen and enjoy
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2016, 07:13 AM   #3
kromix
Major
kromix's Avatar
United_States
181
Rep
1,130
Posts

Drives: '16 340i AW MSport
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami, FL

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2016 340i (F30)  [0.00]
Awesome can't wait!!! Buying the screen now!

Thanks for all your help TePee!!!
Appreciate 0
      01-12-2016, 04:37 AM   #4
joq3
Second Lieutenant
Sweden
74
Rep
263
Posts

Drives: BMW 328i F30 M/T -13
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

How can I check if I have the HU_ENTRYNAV?
I probably don't have it, but it would be nice.
Appreciate 1
xlover681.50

      01-12-2016, 07:03 AM   #5
TePee
Second Lieutenant
39
Rep
258
Posts

Drives: F34 LCI MY2019
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Home of BMW

iTrader: (0)

Which exact production date is your F30?
HU Entrynav was introduced from 7/2014 on.
Appreciate 0
      01-12-2016, 07:04 AM   #6
Adamr916
Captain
Adamr916's Avatar
United_States
120
Rep
700
Posts

Drives: 2014 328d
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Houston, Texas

iTrader: (1)

So wait, if I have the HU_Entry screen, and want a bigger screen, all I have to do is swap the screen, not the main head unit and the screen?
Appreciate 0
      01-12-2016, 07:07 AM   #7
kromix
Major
kromix's Avatar
United_States
181
Rep
1,130
Posts

Drives: '16 340i AW MSport
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami, FL

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2016 340i (F30)  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adamr916 View Post
So wait, if I have the HU_Entry screen, and want a bigger screen, all I have to do is swap the screen, not the main head unit and the screen?
No.

HU_ENTRY = can't be done.

If your car has HU_ENTRYNAV (Introduced 7/14) then you can do it.
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2016, 09:27 PM   #8
Coolala
Private First Class
Japan
21
Rep
130
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Osaka

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TePee View Post
These are exactly the 2 FDL codings you need.

Then connect L7 High 8,8" screen and enjoy
Hi TePee,

Other than the coding, do I need to change the CID cable (monitor cable) as well?

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2016, 10:41 PM   #9
kromix
Major
kromix's Avatar
United_States
181
Rep
1,130
Posts

Drives: '16 340i AW MSport
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami, FL

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2016 340i (F30)  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coolala View Post
Hi TePee,

Other than the coding, do I need to change the CID cable (monitor cable) as well?

Thanks!
I haven't done it yet, but I will be creating a DIY on this when my car arrives. From what I read you don't need to change the cable, only the screen, PlugNPlay.

DIY coming soon in about 2-3 weeks
Appreciate 0
      01-27-2016, 12:27 AM   #10
Coolala
Private First Class
Japan
21
Rep
130
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Osaka

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kromix View Post
I haven't done it yet, but I will be creating a DIY on this when my car arrives. From what I read you don't need to change the cable, only the screen, PlugNPlay.

DIY coming soon in about 2-3 weeks
Great! I'm now not sure if HU_ENTRYNAV appears for 3/4 series only or even 1/2 series will have this after 7/2014 production.
Appreciate 0
      01-27-2016, 06:25 AM   #11
TePee
Second Lieutenant
39
Rep
258
Posts

Drives: F34 LCI MY2019
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Home of BMW

iTrader: (0)

I can also confirm that you don't need another cable. Just the big screen and the 2 FDL codings.

You should find Entrynav from 3/2014 or 7/2014 on, depending on BMW series 1/2/3etc. and whether you have navigation (Business) or not (Radio Professional).
Appreciate 0
      02-09-2016, 05:31 AM   #12
DeeKay
Lieutenant
DeeKay's Avatar
Denmark
377
Rep
556
Posts

Drives: 2017 BMW 420d GranCoupe
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Denmark

iTrader: (0)

How do we check the system version? I have a 10/2012 F30 with Business navigation (6" screen) - I know it's a retrofitted system, so it might be a tad newer than the car. Am I able to switch the screen to a big one? Would LOVE that upgrade!
__________________
| 2017 BMW 420d GranCoupe |
Appreciate 0
      02-09-2016, 07:27 AM   #13
NikF30
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: F30
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: England

iTrader: (0)

F30 Screen Size upgrade

Hello everyone - I have Business Nav with 6.5" screen.

Can I buy the bigger screen and straight swap?

How do I swap the codes?
Appreciate 0
      02-09-2016, 07:55 AM   #14
TePee
Second Lieutenant
39
Rep
258
Posts

Drives: F34 LCI MY2019
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Home of BMW

iTrader: (0)

Guys as wrote before you need to have HU Entrynav which was introduced from production 2014 March or July on (depending on if you have Business Nav or just Radio Prof, both are Entrynav).

If you have 2012 year, then you can't have Entrynav, thus no 8,8" screen retrofit possible.
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2016, 04:13 AM   #15
DeeKay
Lieutenant
DeeKay's Avatar
Denmark
377
Rep
556
Posts

Drives: 2017 BMW 420d GranCoupe
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Denmark

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TePee View Post
Guys as wrote before you need to have HU Entrynav which was introduced from production 2014 March or July on (depending on if you have Business Nav or just Radio Prof, both are Entrynav).

If you have 2012 year, then you can't have Entrynav, thus no 8,8" screen retrofit possible.
Damn'it! So we would need the full system swap to NBT to go bigger?
__________________
| 2017 BMW 420d GranCoupe |
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2016, 07:23 AM   #16
palumbo77
Private
12
Rep
60
Posts

Drives: bmw f31
Join Date: May 2015
Location: italy

iTrader: (0)

If you want I have an 8,8" display to sell.
Contact me in PM for information.
Appreciate 0
      04-03-2016, 12:20 PM   #17
kromix
Major
kromix's Avatar
United_States
181
Rep
1,130
Posts

Drives: '16 340i AW MSport
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami, FL

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2016 340i (F30)  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by palumbo77 View Post
If you want I have an 8,8" display to sell.
Contact me in PM for information.
Here it is Car with 8.8 Screen upgrade.

Love it!!
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      04-03-2016, 05:00 PM   #18
Rwillis92
Enlisted Member
2
Rep
41
Posts

Drives: 2012 BMW 328i N20
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

Ok so I'm a little confused, I have the regular screen and its 2013. What do I need for this retrofit?
Appreciate 0
      04-03-2016, 06:07 PM   #19
kromix
Major
kromix's Avatar
United_States
181
Rep
1,130
Posts

Drives: '16 340i AW MSport
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami, FL

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2016 340i (F30)  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rwillis92 View Post
Ok so I'm a little confused, I have the regular screen and its 2013. What do I need for this retrofit?
Sadly too expensive for you, would need HU_ENTRNAV, or retrofitting the CPU that powers the car..... It started in cars I believe July 2014 or something around then.
Appreciate 0
      04-03-2016, 06:35 PM   #20
Rwillis92
Enlisted Member
2
Rep
41
Posts

Drives: 2012 BMW 328i N20
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

Oh well, so what about Bluetooth streaming audio?
Appreciate 0
      07-03-2016, 12:37 AM   #21
bill_f31
Private First Class
103
Rep
158
Posts

Drives: BMW F31 M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Greece

iTrader: (0)

I'm about to upgrade the 6,5 screen on my 08/14 (HU_ENTRYNAV) F31 Touring to the 8,8 one.
My car is pre-LCI and I have already retrofitted the BMW Integrated Navigation System on my 6,5 screen.
Do you think that a 8,8 screen from an LCI model (part number 65509387453) can be retrofitted to my car or I need to instal the 8,8 screen from pre-LCI model (part number 65509292248)?
Are there significant differences between these two 8,8 screens?
Also the split screen function of the 8,8 screen needs some coding to work or it is automatically set as a menu option as long as the 8,8 screen is installed?
Any help would be hugely appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Appreciate 0
      07-03-2016, 05:11 AM   #22
TePee
Second Lieutenant
39
Rep
258
Posts

Drives: F34 LCI MY2019
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Home of BMW

iTrader: (0)

The LCI 8,8" screen won't work with your HU Entrynav! It uses different voltage. You have to install the pre LCI screen.

Normally when you code 8,8" screen and broad display everything will work in proper way, including split screen etc.
The question is whether this is the case or not when you have Integrated Navigation?
Appreciate 1
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST