F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Guide to Upgrade 6.5" Screen to 8.8" Screen HU_ENTRYNAV
Extreme Powerhouse
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-19-2019, 05:17 AM   #375
mupet0000
New Member
5
Rep
22
Posts

Drives: 2019 F20 118i Shadow Edition
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: England

iTrader: (0)

Question

I am looking into getting an 8.8 inch screen for my F20 LCI2. It's a brand new car with the standard nav so it has HU_ENTRYNAV2.

Based on reading various threads (mostly this one) and searching around I have formed an understanding of how to perform the retrofit but I would like to clarify a few things. First let me lay out my understanding based on my LCI2 car:
  • Get an 8.8 inch screen Part no. (6550)6822626 and follow this tutorial video to remove the trim, remove old display and install the new display, ignoring any other parts of the video.
  • Code:
    3005 DISPLAY_PIP_CONFIG. 
    CID_DISPLAY_SIZE set to 8_8
    CID_DISPLAY_RES = 1240_480
    DISPLAY_VARIANTE = breites_display

Simple as that. Now I would like to clarify if the touch screen Part No. 684412604 works in this retrofit? If you option Pro Nav on an F20 LCI2 it does come with a touch screen unit, I am assuming it would be this one. So based on that I assume it would work.

This retrofit seems incredibly easy and is a good saving from the 900 option price on the F20 for Pro Nav.

Thank you to everyone in this thread providing information and advice, without you guys we would be stuck with our business nav screens!
Appreciate 0
      06-19-2019, 09:32 AM   #376
deadserial
Private First Class
28
Rep
122
Posts

Drives: 2018 320ix
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Eugene, OR

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mupet0000 View Post
I am looking into getting an 8.8 inch screen for my F20 LCI2. It's a brand new car with the standard nav so it has HU_ENTRYNAV2.

Based on reading various threads (mostly this one) and searching around I have formed an understanding of how to perform the retrofit but I would like to clarify a few things. First let me lay out my understanding based on my LCI2 car:
  • Get an 8.8 inch screen Part no. (6550)6822626 and follow this tutorial video to remove the trim, remove old display and install the new display, ignoring any other parts of the video.
  • Code:
    3005 DISPLAY_PIP_CONFIG. 
    CID_DISPLAY_SIZE set to 8_8
    CID_DISPLAY_RES = 1240_480
    DISPLAY_VARIANTE = breites_display

Simple as that. Now I would like to clarify if the touch screen Part No. 684412604 works in this retrofit? If you option Pro Nav on an F20 LCI2 it does come with a touch screen unit, I am assuming it would be this one. So based on that I assume it would work.

This retrofit seems incredibly easy and is a good saving from the 900 option price on the F20 for Pro Nav.

Thank you to everyone in this thread providing information and advice, without you guys we would be stuck with our business nav screens!
I just did this on my 2018 f30 with the 2626 screen and it worked perfectly. I think I may be trading my car in and am selling the screen. Let me know if you're interested! Edit: nevermind, international shipping wouldn't be cheap.
Appreciate 0
      06-19-2019, 09:37 AM   #377
deadserial
Private First Class
28
Rep
122
Posts

Drives: 2018 320ix
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Eugene, OR

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clear_Blue22 View Post
After you upgrade your screen you should reach out to Steve at codemybimmer and add CarPlay to your entrynav2 head unit. We successfully got it to work on my 2018 230i today. I have enhanced bt and WiFi hotspot but did not purchase nav. I upgraded to the 8.8" screen a few months back thanks to the help from this forum.
how much did that cost you if you don't mind me asking?
Appreciate 0
      06-19-2019, 06:24 PM   #378
MarkoSK
Lieutenant
93
Rep
533
Posts

Drives: BMW G20 330eX
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: EU

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mupet0000 View Post
I am looking into getting an 8.8 inch screen for my F20 LCI2. It's a brand new car with the standard nav so it has HU_ENTRYNAV2.

Based on reading various threads (mostly this one) and searching around I have formed an understanding of how to perform the retrofit but I would like to clarify a few things. First let me lay out my understanding based on my LCI2 car:
  • Get an 8.8 inch screen Part no. (6550)6822626 and follow this tutorial video to remove the trim, remove old display and install the new display, ignoring any other parts of the video.
  • Code:
    3005 DISPLAY_PIP_CONFIG. 
    CID_DISPLAY_SIZE set to 8_8
    CID_DISPLAY_RES = 1240_480
    DISPLAY_VARIANTE = breites_display

Simple as that. Now I would like to clarify if the touch screen Part No. 684412604 works in this retrofit? If you option Pro Nav on an F20 LCI2 it does come with a touch screen unit, I am assuming it would be this one. So based on that I assume it would work.

This retrofit seems incredibly easy and is a good saving from the 900 option price on the F20 for Pro Nav.

Thank you to everyone in this thread providing information and advice, without you guys we would be stuck with our business nav screens!
No, the touch screen won't work with your head unit. The only screen we have seen to work with HU_ENTRYNAV2 is the non-touch part. no. (6550)6822626.

If you order your car with pro nav, it comes with a completely different (more advanced) head unit, which supports with the touch screen.
Appreciate 0
      06-20-2019, 01:43 PM   #379
guigui92350
Private
2
Rep
81
Posts

Drives: 118i M Sport Ultimate
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Paris

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clear_Blue22 View Post
After you upgrade your screen you should reach out to Steve at codemybimmer and add CarPlay to your entrynav2 head unit. We successfully got it to work on my 2018 230i today. I have enhanced bt and WiFi hotspot but did not purchase nav. I upgraded to the 8.8" screen a few months back thanks to the help from this forum.
Is it the carplay MMI ? Looks nice but it seems more complicating to install.
WHat about the installation of the microphone ?
Appreciate 0
      06-20-2019, 05:54 PM   #380
Clear_Blue22
Second Lieutenant
Clear_Blue22's Avatar
108
Rep
278
Posts

Drives: 2018 230i MSport
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Alabama

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2018 BMW 230i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by guigui92350 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clear_Blue22 View Post
After you upgrade your screen you should reach out to Steve at codemybimmer and add CarPlay to your entrynav2 head unit. We successfully got it to work on my 2018 230i today. I have enhanced bt and WiFi hotspot but did not purchase nav. I upgraded to the 8.8" screen a few months back thanks to the help from this forum.
Is it the carplay MMI ? Looks nice but it seems more complicating to install.
WHat about the installation of the microphone ?
No it's factory CarPlay. It's vin specific FSC codes added to the cars software and then the coding process to unlock the software side to allow CarPlay. On the 18 and newer head units that have entrynav_2 headunits it's now possible to add it through coding. Apparently Minis are using the same HU and come with CarPlay from the factory which led to the belief it could be added to the same HU in a BMW. Works perfectly
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2019, 02:59 PM   #381
guigui92350
Private
2
Rep
81
Posts

Drives: 118i M Sport Ultimate
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Paris

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clear_Blue22 View Post
No it's factory CarPlay. It's vin specific FSC codes added to the cars software and then the coding process to unlock the software side to allow CarPlay. On the 18 and newer head units that have entrynav_2 headunits it's now possible to add it through coding. Apparently Minis are using the same HU and come with CarPlay from the factory which led to the belief it could be added to the same HU in a BMW. Works perfectly
Amazing! How to check if I'm able to enable this factory carplay for my car ?
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2019, 03:03 PM   #382
Clear_Blue22
Second Lieutenant
Clear_Blue22's Avatar
108
Rep
278
Posts

Drives: 2018 230i MSport
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Alabama

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2018 BMW 230i  [0.00]
It's my understanding you need entry_nav2 headunit. Found on the 2018+ models I think. You can check the last 6 of your vin on a vin decoder site and check what kind of unit you have. If you have entry_nav2 then you will need enhanced Bluetooth, which can be coded in, and a WiFi antenna. The WiFi antenna can be purchased online and is just plugged into the back of the headunit. Then get with Steve at codemybimmer online and he can set you up. If you have any issues reach out to him and he can help you figure out if it's possible.
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2019, 03:26 PM   #383
guigui92350
Private
2
Rep
81
Posts

Drives: 118i M Sport Ultimate
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Paris

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clear_Blue22 View Post
It's my understanding you need entry_nav2 headunit. Found on the 2018+ models I think. You can check the last 6 of your vin on a vin decoder site and check what kind of unit you have. If you have entry_nav2 then you will need enhanced Bluetooth, which can be coded in, and a WiFi antenna. The WiFi antenna can be purchased online and is just plugged into the back of the headunit. Then get with Steve at codemybimmer online and he can set you up. If you have any issues reach out to him and he can help you figure out if it's possible.
My F20 is from july 2018 so I guess it is entry_nav2.
Is their a specific option to check with the VIN ?

Last edited by guigui92350; 06-21-2019 at 03:31 PM..
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2019, 04:34 PM   #384
Clear_Blue22
Second Lieutenant
Clear_Blue22's Avatar
108
Rep
278
Posts

Drives: 2018 230i MSport
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Alabama

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2018 BMW 230i  [0.00]
I just looked at mine and I couldn't tell by the vin either. I know you can check with an esys cable and I think there is a way to check in bimmercode. I'll have to go back and look. I would just reach out to Steve. https://www.codemybimmer.ca/contact/?v=7516fd43adaa
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2019, 02:17 AM   #385
guigui92350
Private
2
Rep
81
Posts

Drives: 118i M Sport Ultimate
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Paris

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clear_Blue22 View Post
I just looked at mine and I couldn't tell by the vin either. I know you can check with an esys cable and I think there is a way to check in bimmercode. I'll have to go back and look. I would just reach out to Steve. https://www.codemybimmer.ca/contact/?v=7516fd43adaa
Thanks, I will contact Steve.
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2019, 09:34 AM   #386
guigui92350
Private
2
Rep
81
Posts

Drives: 118i M Sport Ultimate
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Paris

iTrader: (0)

Steve just confirm that it can be activated by FSC
I found this screen : https://www.ebay.fr/itm/BMW-F20-F21-...AAAOSwl39bVy9Z
I guess it is compatible.

Last edited by guigui92350; 06-22-2019 at 09:45 AM..
Appreciate 0
      06-23-2019, 02:10 AM   #387
guigui92350
Private
2
Rep
81
Posts

Drives: 118i M Sport Ultimate
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Paris

iTrader: (0)

Hi guys, what about the warranty of the car with such modifications (screen + carplay coding) ?
Appreciate 0
      06-23-2019, 09:14 AM   #388
deadserial
Private First Class
28
Rep
122
Posts

Drives: 2018 320ix
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Eugene, OR

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by guigui92350 View Post
Hi guys, what about the warranty of the car with such modifications (screen + carplay coding) ?
Coding is kind of a grey area, but all they can really do is deny a claim based on the modifications you have done. Like you swapping screens, not a lot they can do against that. Nothing to really harm besides dash pieces and the plug maybe.
Appreciate 0
      06-23-2019, 02:43 PM   #389
alpha_male
New Member
2
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: F31
Join Date: May 2019
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

One month into F3x ownership and this is my first mod. Didn't want to risk getting an LCI screen incase it wasn't compatible so go the pre-LCI one. Thanks to MarkoSK for the info and my man kitster for the coding.




Last edited by alpha_male; 06-23-2019 at 02:50 PM..
Appreciate 1
MarkoSK93.00

      06-23-2019, 05:38 PM   #390
MarkoSK
Lieutenant
93
Rep
533
Posts

Drives: BMW G20 330eX
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: EU

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by alpha_male View Post
One month into F3x ownership and this is my first mod. Didn't want to risk getting an LCI screen incase it wasn't compatible so go the pre-LCI one. Thanks to MarkoSK for the info and my man kitster for the coding.
Glad to help. Enjoy your new screen
Appreciate 0
      06-23-2019, 05:43 PM   #391
MarkoSK
Lieutenant
93
Rep
533
Posts

Drives: BMW G20 330eX
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: EU

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by guigui92350 View Post
Hi guys, what about the warranty of the car with such modifications (screen + carplay coding) ?
An OEM screen shouldn't void your warranty, unless you have a really really annoying dealer. If so, you can always put the original smaller screen back and revert the coding.
Appreciate 0
      06-28-2019, 02:45 PM   #392
Clear_Blue22
Second Lieutenant
Clear_Blue22's Avatar
108
Rep
278
Posts

Drives: 2018 230i MSport
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Alabama

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2018 BMW 230i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by guigui92350 View Post
Hi guys, what about the warranty of the car with such modifications (screen + carplay coding) ?
So I asked my dealer about it as well as many others on the forums. The simple answer is you will want to hold onto the original screen and reinstall it if your car goes in for service requiring an idrive update. Because it's not original hardware and the increased screen requires coding to work, the screen will go back to not working when they update your idrive. Also if your idrive ever fails somehow, it would be in your best interest to reinstall the factory screen so they can't try and say it was your new screen that caused the problem. As for the CarPlay, they can't say that factory software designed by them to function on the exact headunit in a mini broke your headunit so I wouldn't worry about that.

Glad you're able to do the upgrade though! That's awesome
Appreciate 0
      06-30-2019, 04:34 AM   #393
guigui92350
Private
2
Rep
81
Posts

Drives: 118i M Sport Ultimate
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Paris

iTrader: (0)

I ordered the screen. Once I receive it, will proceed with the installation and Steve will code both screen and carplay at the same time.
Can't wait to see the result

Can the screen be split with one part with waze and the other from another app like spotify ?
Appreciate 0
      06-30-2019, 11:16 AM   #394
Clear_Blue22
Second Lieutenant
Clear_Blue22's Avatar
108
Rep
278
Posts

Drives: 2018 230i MSport
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Alabama

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2018 BMW 230i  [0.00]
I can split screen waze and my xm radio. Anything that's normally available to split screen on the idrive can be split screen with waze open. But to split screen two separate Apple CarPlay screens with each other that's only possible with iOS13 I think
Appreciate 0
      06-30-2019, 12:57 PM   #395
guigui92350
Private
2
Rep
81
Posts

Drives: 118i M Sport Ultimate
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Paris

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clear_Blue22 View Post
I can split screen waze and my xm radio. Anything that's normally available to split screen on the idrive can be split screen with waze open. But to split screen two separate Apple CarPlay screens with each other that's only possible with iOS13 I think
Ok, as I have still my little 6.5' screen I cannot split anything for now
Appreciate 0
      07-07-2019, 01:33 AM   #396
guigui92350
Private
2
Rep
81
Posts

Drives: 118i M Sport Ultimate
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Paris

iTrader: (0)

Is anyone already tested the 8.8 TOUCH screen on entry_nav2 headunit ?
I just receive mine (non TOUCH) but I do not remember I read that the TOUCH one will not work.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST