F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > N55 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > JB4 Starting Issue?
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-30-2017, 06:17 PM   #1
WajahatM
Enlisted Member
United_States
5
Rep
48
Posts

Drives: 2013 White F30 335i xDrive
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (0)

JB4 Starting Issue?

Hi,

So I have an issue where after I installed my JB4 for PWG (kept flex fuel wires unplugged) my car randomly has this startup issue. It kind of struggles to start like the battery is drained or something. My friend said that it could've been either the battery being drained by the JB4 (such as water pump running in E92), not enough fuel to start the car (because of unplugged FF), or even a bad starter.

Just wondering if this problem happened to anyone else? If its a bad battery or starter I could potentially get that with CPO warranty. I attached a link for a video.



Please if anyone can help me that would be awesome

-Wajahat M
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2017, 12:29 AM   #2
JACJ460
New Member
6
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i Sportline
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Earth

iTrader: (0)

Mine does the same thing. No rhyme or reason to when it happens.
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2017, 08:07 AM   #3
Mike@N54Tuning.com
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Canada
3374
Rep
70,590
Posts


Drives: 2007 335i, 2015 M3
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N54tuning.com

iTrader: (90)

The unplugged FF wires won't cause that issue as the JB4 is off during startup. Are you getting a battery voltage warning or any warning lights?

Mike
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2017, 12:29 PM   #4
WajahatM
Enlisted Member
United_States
5
Rep
48
Posts

Drives: 2013 White F30 335i xDrive
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (0)

No, there is no battery voltage warning or any warning lights at all.
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2017, 12:56 PM   #5
Jeff@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Jeff@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
United_States
2670
Rep
54,298
Posts


Drives: C6 Z06, 09 335i, 10 335xi
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: www.TopGearSolutions.com

iTrader: (37)

Well back in the day of the E9x N54 world that would be an indication of a bad fuel pump HPFP. It doesn't sound like a weak battery, it sounds like a fuel issue.
__________________
|Like us on Facebook||Evolution Racewerks| |Active Autowerke| |ETS| |Burger Tuning| |PURE Turbos| |Mishimoto||VRSF| |AWE| |Wagner|

|Price Match Guarantee + 5% Bonus Back* | |CTS| |KW| |Spec| |ST Coilovers| |Koni| |Bilstein| |Borla| |Magnaflow| |AFE| |Fabspeed| |Injen| Create an Account for up to 10% OFF!
Appreciate 0
      10-02-2017, 12:21 AM   #6
JACJ460
New Member
6
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i Sportline
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Earth

iTrader: (0)

I removed the jb4 for two months and the issue went away. I took the car in and showed a video of the startup. They said it was a fuel issue and checked the car out and found no issues. I reinstalled the jb4 and the issue returned immediately. I would like it to go away but have learned to live with it. Let me know if you figure it out.
Appreciate 0
      10-02-2017, 11:39 AM   #7
zole2112
Modder of everything I own
zole2112's Avatar
41
Rep
159
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i Xdrive
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Appleton, WI

iTrader: (0)

Mine does the same thing usually after sitting overnight, sometimes it'll turn over for a lot longer than that and struggle to start. It started immediately after I had my LPFP changed under recall.

If I let off it immediately after it struggles to start and then start again it fires right away. It doesn't do this every time nor every morning though so it's kind of random.

The only reason I haven't taken it back is that I am upgrading my LPFP anyway and I don't want to leave it at the dealer overnight
__________________
2013 BMW 335xi F30 N55 PWG/VRSF DP/ER CP/Injen CAI/AA FMIC/JB4 map 5/Fuel=60:40 E85:93oct/Stage 2 LPFP/CATuned coilovers/Megan Racing Swaybars/Powerflex Rear Subframe Bushing Inserts/Dual aFe Power Mach Force Mufflers/Resonator Delete/Speedtech BW8374 shipping today
Coming - MHD BEF, Trebila Tune, stage 3 fueling if needed
Appreciate 1
      10-03-2017, 01:46 AM   #8
WajahatM
Enlisted Member
United_States
5
Rep
48
Posts

Drives: 2013 White F30 335i xDrive
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the responses guys, Ill talk to some more of my friends about this to see if their cars had this issue. Otherwise I was just scared that the car was not gonna start start on me one day and have me stranded. Guess Ill live with it for now.
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2017, 10:26 AM   #9
Mouse
Second Lieutenant
62
Rep
216
Posts

Drives: 2013F30 335i
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cypress, TX

iTrader: (0)

Mine would do that (even worse sometimes) about 2/3 times a week. After updating my DME modules, it hasn't done it once in about 2 months. I was having JB4 issues with logging even after slowing the CANbus. After the update, car has been flawless.

Just my personal experience.
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2017, 05:31 PM   #10
JACJ460
New Member
6
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i Sportline
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Earth

iTrader: (0)

Mine existed before lpfp recall and has continued. If anyone figures it out, please let us know. I also worry that one day it may not start.
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2017, 11:07 PM   #11
zole2112
Modder of everything I own
zole2112's Avatar
41
Rep
159
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i Xdrive
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Appleton, WI

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JACJ460 View Post
Mine existed before lpfp recall and has continued. If anyone figures it out, please let us know. I also worry that one day it may not start.
When mine does it if I stop turning it over then try to start it again it always starts immediately, does yours do that?
__________________
2013 BMW 335xi F30 N55 PWG/VRSF DP/ER CP/Injen CAI/AA FMIC/JB4 map 5/Fuel=60:40 E85:93oct/Stage 2 LPFP/CATuned coilovers/Megan Racing Swaybars/Powerflex Rear Subframe Bushing Inserts/Dual aFe Power Mach Force Mufflers/Resonator Delete/Speedtech BW8374 shipping today
Coming - MHD BEF, Trebila Tune, stage 3 fueling if needed
Appreciate 0
      10-04-2017, 07:44 PM   #12
WajahatM
Enlisted Member
United_States
5
Rep
48
Posts

Drives: 2013 White F30 335i xDrive
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by zole2112 View Post
When mine does it if I stop turning it over then try to start it again it always starts immediately, does yours do that?
That's the case for me too, it initially struggles to start but any time after that its fine.
Appreciate 0
      10-04-2017, 07:47 PM   #13
WajahatM
Enlisted Member
United_States
5
Rep
48
Posts

Drives: 2013 White F30 335i xDrive
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mouse View Post
Mine would do that (even worse sometimes) about 2/3 times a week. After updating my DME modules, it hasn't done it once in about 2 months. I was having JB4 issues with logging even after slowing the CANbus. After the update, car has been flawless.

Just my personal experience.
How did you update your DME modules? Might as well try anything I can and if it worked for you it might work for me
Appreciate 0
      10-04-2017, 09:43 PM   #14
JACJ460
New Member
6
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i Sportline
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Earth

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by zole2112 View Post
When mine does it if I stop turning it over then try to start it again it always starts immediately, does yours do that?
I've never tried that. I was going to today but it started right up. I emailed burger tuning and they said basically they cannot do anything without data logging. I don't have the ability to do that.
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2017, 08:24 AM   #15
Mouse
Second Lieutenant
62
Rep
216
Posts

Drives: 2013F30 335i
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cypress, TX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by WajahatM View Post
How did you update your DME modules? Might as well try anything I can and if it worked for you it might work for me
First I called my local BMW dealership who said they can tell with my VIN if everything was up to date. They said I was all caught up.(Bought a MY 2013 used about 6 months ago.) I have a local BMW Indy that I decided to have check out the car and found that I was on ORIGINAL software. It showed last update was in 2012.

I had him update and everything's been peachy since for me. This also fixed the logging issue I was having with JB4(the initial reason I wanted the update)

Terry had me slow CANbus but still wouldn't log correctly.

The one thing that I've been having trouble with(not sure if related or not) is my auto Start/Stop. Seems to work sporadically now. I'm coding it off on startup anyway. Also, if you coded your car for added features, the update will set everything back to stock. So you will have to re-code everything again.
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2017, 02:25 PM   #16
WajahatM
Enlisted Member
United_States
5
Rep
48
Posts

Drives: 2013 White F30 335i xDrive
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mouse View Post
First I called my local BMW dealership who said they can tell with my VIN if everything was up to date. They said I was all caught up.(Bought a MY 2013 used about 6 months ago.) I have a local BMW Indy that I decided to have check out the car and found that I was on ORIGINAL software. It showed last update was in 2012.

I had him update and everything's been peachy since for me. This also fixed the logging issue I was having with JB4(the initial reason I wanted the update)

Terry had me slow CANbus but still wouldn't log correctly.

The one thing that I've been having trouble with(not sure if related or not) is my auto Start/Stop. Seems to work sporadically now. I'm coding it off on startup anyway. Also, if you coded your car for added features, the update will set everything back to stock. So you will have to re-code everything again.
I'll try the dealership first because my service adviser is pretty cool and mod friendly. Hopefully there is an update that I can do that would fix the problem.

I actually coded the Auto start stop off on my car and its been great, did it mostly because it made the car not respond for less than a second to throttle input which felt kinda dangerous to me. The newer system is much better and smoother. There is a post about some reasons why A.S.S doesn't engage: http://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=663713 .
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2017, 03:52 PM   #17
JACJ460
New Member
6
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i Sportline
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Earth

iTrader: (0)

Please post if this works for you as well. If so I guess I will have to get mine checked out too.
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2017, 04:52 PM   #18
zole2112
Modder of everything I own
zole2112's Avatar
41
Rep
159
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i Xdrive
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Appleton, WI

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by WajahatM View Post
I'll try the dealership first because my service adviser is pretty cool and mod friendly. Hopefully there is an update that I can do that would fix the problem.

I actually coded the Auto start stop off on my car and its been great, did it mostly because it made the car not respond for less than a second to throttle input which felt kinda dangerous to me. The newer system is much better and smoother. There is a post about some reasons why A.S.S doesn't engage: http://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=663713 .
How did you code your auto start/stop off, I've been searching for what to code? Did you use E-sys to do it?
__________________
2013 BMW 335xi F30 N55 PWG/VRSF DP/ER CP/Injen CAI/AA FMIC/JB4 map 5/Fuel=60:40 E85:93oct/Stage 2 LPFP/CATuned coilovers/Megan Racing Swaybars/Powerflex Rear Subframe Bushing Inserts/Dual aFe Power Mach Force Mufflers/Resonator Delete/Speedtech BW8374 shipping today
Coming - MHD BEF, Trebila Tune, stage 3 fueling if needed
Appreciate 0
      10-09-2017, 10:53 AM   #19
JACJ460
New Member
6
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i Sportline
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Earth

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by zole2112 View Post
When mine does it if I stop turning it over then try to start it again it always starts immediately, does yours do that?
Just tried this and it worked. I am not knowledgeable enough to understand why but I guess I'll just keep on going until someone offers a better solution.
Appreciate 0
      10-10-2017, 04:36 AM   #20
harkes
Major
harkes's Avatar
China
468
Rep
1,114
Posts

Drives: M135i, NSX and AE86
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Xiamen, China

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mouse View Post
First I called my local BMW dealership who said they can tell with my VIN if everything was up to date. They said I was all caught up.(Bought a MY 2013 used about 6 months ago.) I have a local BMW Indy that I decided to have check out the car and found that I was on ORIGINAL software. It showed last update was in 2012.

I had him update and everything's been peachy since for me. This also fixed the logging issue I was having with JB4(the initial reason I wanted the update)

Terry had me slow CANbus but still wouldn't log correctly.

The one thing that I've been having trouble with(not sure if related or not) is my auto Start/Stop. Seems to work sporadically now. I'm coding it off on startup anyway. Also, if you coded your car for added features, the update will set everything back to stock. So you will have to re-code everything again.
I have the same issue with the start/stop function. The JB4 is influencing it in some way. Might even call it an extra bonus
__________________
bootmod3 and JB4'ed M135i PWG
(A Dane in China)
Appreciate 0
      10-10-2017, 07:58 AM   #21
M-terkait
Major
M-terkait's Avatar
Kuwait
172
Rep
1,225
Posts

Drives: F30 335i 3/13
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kuwait

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to M-terkait
careful for who is using bm3, if you update the DME you will need to unlock again.
__________________
Docrace 6266
Appreciate 0
      11-02-2017, 12:14 AM   #22
WajahatM
Enlisted Member
United_States
5
Rep
48
Posts

Drives: 2013 White F30 335i xDrive
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (0)

Well Im glad to report that updating your DME is the way to go, you just need a really cool service advisor whos willing to work with you. I just asked him if he could do a full update for me and he said hed work his magic. Only problem is that you lose all of your coding and seat adjustments. As soon as I got my car back I sat in the lot for 15 mins recoding everything.
Before the update the JB4 was causing a startup hesitation and the boost gauge wasnt properly functioning. After the update everything works fine now.



Update can be seen by the check control light (triangle with exclamation) which used to be orange and is now white.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
jb4, starting issue

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:15 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST